We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16th Century Inn on its last legs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Such potential, but sadly lacking any charisma. The "refurbishment" has robbed the dining areas of all character and is half-hearted. The sofas and carpets in the reception area are revoltingly grubby. The staff are well meaning and friendly, but lack any sort of professionalism and obviously lack training and have little pride in their work. The receptionist had to open an understairs cupboard to get to the printer, and as she went into the cupboard loudly declared that "it stinks in there", with no hint of embarrassment.

We were on a Mighty Deals voucher, with 2 nights B and B for £79. This was a fair price for what we got, and in no way "a deal". We were in room 23 in a separate building which appeared to be a converted new build semi - again, soulless and without charm. The paintwork was new but patchy and slapdash. The TV was a tiny old style portable that buzzed when it was on. Clean and functional. Usually we like to relax and "cosy up" in a hotel, enjoying the opportunity to read the papers etc. Here however, we spent as little time as possible in the hotel, although we did eat there on our first night as we arrived quite late. Ok food but over-priced, and charmless surroundings. Nearby Ludlow, Tenbury Wells and Bewdley have pubs and restaurants oozing with atmosphere and with much better food for lower prices. We particularly recommend the Mug House Inn, Bewdley for great food and real ales.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j9p9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

A good all round experience one night B&B for £39 voucher deal. staff are very helpful and friendly especially lianne and Emily the new girls. the two course meal for £12.50 was excellent One thing I must address, be very careful when having a shower because it can turn to scalding hot so watch it with children I recon it should have a thermostatic valve fitted really. No hairdryer in the room so take your own.

Room Tip: Room 11 didn't have a good outlook (back yard where wood was cut) and was over the kitchen so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay here because of a voucher deal and because I have a fries that lives near bye. I was not in anyway disappointed. I had a beautiful room (no 10) well appointed with exposed beams. The bathroom was pleasant although a thermostatic shower would have been better.

The restaurant serves good gastropub food and the breakfast was very good.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I was in the area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

just back from a lovely 2 night stay on a wowcher deal great value for money at £79 for 2 nights for 2 B+B at this quaint pub/B+B lovely roaring open fire to greet us in the bar and an inviting log burner in the dining room which we sat by after our evening meal excellent food, lovely breakfast, lovely staff we stayed in room 7 which was nice and cosy and clean TV could do with updating though.we visited ludlow for the day on the saturday nice town full of character buildings its about 10 miles away from the pub would definately stay again.Dont understand people leaving bad reviews at the end of the day your not paying 5 star prices so dont expect 5 star facilities you get what you pay for

Room Tip: room 7 nice and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_hughes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Having spent 2 nights here with my wife I can honestly say the bad reviews are not justified. We have been served by excellent staff with excellent food and very comfortable accommodation please come and try it for youself it is also in a very beautiful location handy for Ludlow and Shrewsbury and not so far for Wales.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank krakatoa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just spent 2 nights here on a deal. The staff are very pleasant and efficient. The room was comfortable and clean. There was a wide menu choice and the food was excellent. Breakfasts and evening meals were very good. It is a busy country inn, beautifully situated hotel with lots of interesting towns and places to visit nearby as well as lots of walks in stunning countryside. Very much recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I booked a 1 night stay through wowcher as a stopping point to visit West Midlands safari park. It's surrounded by a beautiful countryside and it's so peaceful, it's 16th century so I expected it to be old. It's really cosy and yes it is worn but it's a pub and it's old. Glad I only booked 1 night , just enough , it was really cosy and the staff were all lovely and helpful and anything we wanted they sorted it. The meal we had was stunning , so relaxed with a roaring fire and locals were friendly. The inn is sloping so it's quirky and has character. They do need to replace some of the furniture and spruce up the halls and a lick of paint to make it more appealing for longer stays. Taps were leaky , lacked some maintenance and upkeep. The tv in out room 7 was faulty it buzzed so had to turn it off and go to bed as there's not much to do outside the inn. I could hear the tv next door so that went on until they went to bed and it is creaky . I felt relaxed and cosy . Enjoyed my stay and would recommend for a stop off.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Price Range: £47 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing