We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at The Crown for two nights in late May 2014. Our room (No. 16) was pleasant and quiet, with no noise from the bar. The bed was very comfortable. There was a bath and a shower and plenty of hot water at all times. The only slight criticism was the absence of a hairdryer: although we would probably have been given one had we asked.

The restaurant had a nice ambiance and the food was excellent. Prices were reasonable and staff were efficient and helpful.

All-in-all a very pleasant stay. We can certainly recommend The Crown as a place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DtheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived on a 2 night kgb deal and were checked in and then shown to our room, no.10 which upon first impression was lovely. Upon further inspection we found a number of things which let it down such as a trouser press which failed to work, a dirty mirror which was still the same when we left. The bathroom had a new toilet that sill had a large barcode labell stuck to it, the bath panel was falling off, and the shower screen had been siliconed to the ceiling to stop you from opening it so you had a job to reach round to turn on the bath taps. On the second morning the cleaners did the room but only made the bed, the towels were in the exact same place we left them, there was no replacement toilet rolls left and absolutely no dusting was done. On the first night we dined at the hotel and I have to say that the early bird 3 courses for £15-95 was very good and both food and service was very good. Our first breakfast was ok and service was fine, the same cannot be said for the second day as it was chaos in the dining rooms with what were obviously inexperienced young staff not having much of a clue as to who was next to be served or who had ordered what. I noticed a number of guests getting quite irate. We were checked out by whom I think was the manager and all he did was to check our account to see if we owed anything and say no, no mention of thank you for your custom or please come again. This hotel seems to be locked in a time warp and could do with a general tidyup and some customer service if it wants to survive in this very competitive market. On a plus side the location is great and on the short drive to Ludlow the view is stunning at the summit of Clee Hill with one of the most impressive panoramas in the UK

Room Tip: Room 10 is the one we stayed in and as long as it has been cleaned properly I would recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Not a good start to our stay....when the member of staff had shown us to our room we discovered a huge dead beetle lying on the inside window sill, which my husband immediately discarded of.

The carpet was filthy, especially the bathroom carpet which was heavily stained, as were the cloths on top of the bedside cabinets.

On checking out the member of staff barely acknowledged us and didn't even ask us if everything had been ok.

On the plus side, the bed and pillows were very comfy and the bedding was clean. Also the food was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cazzamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed in room 17, spacious bathroom and lovely dinner from main menu. Breakfast not so good. Croissant microwaved and tough. Staff friendly and helpful. Sutton out but pond was good..ducklings very entertaining! All in all a good stay. Can recommend the cajun salmon. The celestial Stilton and walnut soup was excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank sabisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

You feel this place is missing a trick - actually its missing them by the bucketful. It’s frustrating because you see so many things that could be put right with little or no cost implication or where you think 'with a simple toolkit I could fix that'. A bit of effort could transform the place into a real tourist magnet. This would be an ideal venue for seminars or meetings, they have the room if it was utilised properly.
The Pro's: This place has a very good restaurant, certainly we couldn't find fault with the food or the beers and wines available. The presence of quite a few locals simply coming in to eat there is a positive. The previous reviewer claiming food poisoning gives no proof it wasn't due to something eaten before arriving there, certainly I had the venison that weekend and I was fine - venison isn't noted as a major concern in the food poisoning stakes. Had she said it was her after the monkfish I could see her point, but venison??
We were impressed with all the evening restaurant meals we had although it has to be said the service didn’t flow – more a case of staggering from one stage to the next. It was obvious the staff managing the place were learning the ropes, what wasn’t obvious was who was actually supposed to be teaching them.
Thereafter it all starts to go belly-up. The Crown is a complete no go area for business travellers, the Wi-Fi is totally useless (apparently there are two systems so they must both be as bad as each other). Sit in reception or near to the bar when there are not too many people trying to get online and you might just get a connection, even so it won’t be strong enough to support any form of video like Skype. This problem is made worse because Hopton Wafers suffers an almost total lack of mobile phone signals; certainly there is no Vodafone service in the hotel or anywhere within a mile of it. Business travellers hoping to arrive and catch up on their emails and return calls etc. should be prepared for a big disappointment unless they revert to using the landline phone in their room. Last but not least breakfast is served 8.30 - 9.30 far too late a start for those with business in the area.
Breakfast is total shambles - they offer 'Continental' or ‘Full English’ but you can have scrambled eggs with smoked salmon if you pay a surcharge. Continental comprises basically of cereals, canned grapefruit, fruit salad or prunes. That's it - no yogurts, no cheeses, no meats, no boiled eggs. What there is also freely available to anyone having the Full English – as much of it as you feel like helping yourself to. Continental basically means they don't give you any breakfast at all except two bits of supermarket sliced bread toasted (or burnt as ours was one morning) which you get with the Full English anyway. They then charge a £3.00 surcharge for the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, by that logic a strip of smoked salmon costs £3.00 more than the entire contents of the full English (eggs excepted). Unless someone drives to Scotland to catch the salmon fresh, it’s very hard to see how they justify this. On two mornings we found the coffee pot had run out and nobody had done anything about putting more on.

The general quality of the accommodation was fair, our room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the whole room needed a total refurbishment, it wasn’t so much tired as utterly exhausted. It was obvious that the other end of the building had been done up but the older end most certainly hasn’t seen a plumber or a decorator for years.
First impressions count: your first sight on arriving is a very green algae covered pub sign, why doesn’t someone get a ladder and give it a quick wash off, then reception, this looks a total mess with stuff everywhere, a tidy desk is a tidy mind we are told. In the dining room we spotted a pile of leaves and litter by a door, obviously blown in by the wind which nobody cleared up in three days, it looked a mess and would have taken 30 seconds to put right, the flowers in a small vase on the table were as dead as Monty Python’s parrot. It just seems that nobody could be bothered. All these could have been sorted out in 20 minutes but no - just leave it as it is.
One thing to consider is that if you don’t eat in the Crown there isn’t anything else unless you are prepared for quite a long drive. If this place starts to lag behind food wise; it will be the death of it. They offer loads of special offer weekend stays which I, like a previous reviewer thought was to get you coming back and paying full price. While The Crown was OK on a special rate there is no way its full price could ever be justified.

Room Tip: Get a room in the refurbished block - not one over the restaurant or bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackthelad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Crown at Hopton was fabulous. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the chef is magnificent - the food was outstanding and so much of it. The staff were really lovely. My friend Judy and I loved staying there and such a convenient place to stay - close to all the beautiful villages andLudlow. We will be back next year and a bonus is they take dogs. Perfect.

Judy and Margaret

Room Tip: Room 16 - wonderful bed and lovely bathroom - sun light in the bedroom roof with early morning sunsh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just returned home from a 3 night short break at The Crown which we enjoyed very much. It is a lovely old coaching inn with loads of authentic character in a peaceful location We were made to feel welcome and the staff were friendly. We took our small dog with us and she had a great time. We stayed in Room 17 which on the ground floor of one of the Cottages and was very accessible with a large wet room/walk-in-shower as well as a large bath. We had read several reviews before we stayed ourselves and were pleasantly surprised by our spacious and comfortable room. The bed was huge and very comfy although the pillows were somewhat on the hard side. We used a voucher and had a very nice Dinner included on our first night but we ate in the Restaurant on the following two nights as the food was very good. We also enjoyed our freshly cooked breakfasts. We would definitely like to stay here again as it was a good base for exploring the beautiful Shropshire countryside.

Room Tip: Room 17 would be great for anyone with mobility difficulties as there are no steps and it is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanHWorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
2.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cleobury Mortimer
20 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Kings Arms Cleobury Mortimer
#14 of 27 in Worcester
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Price Range: £47 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing