We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a return visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleobury Mortimer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown At Hopton
Froxfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a return visit”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a return down memory lane stay ! We ate in the restaurant each night and the food was excellent for breakfast there was plenty of choice including kippers beautifully cooked poached eggs and a fantastic Shropshire Grill ( not for the faint hearted )
The bar is popular with locals and has a great vibe with local ales and ciders - the owner terry is on hand and loves to speak about the history of the place - a real character -
the room was spotless and well maintained and more than adequate - a great place to enjoy Shropshire - I will return again one day !
Many thanks Terry & Winnipeg

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    340
    209
    92
    76
See reviews for
50
705
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
319 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Located some two miles from Cleobury Mortimer in a small village The Crown is easily found at the side of the main road to Ludlow. The accommodation varies from room to room, according to fellow travellers. It would appear that if you can get a room in the extension you are better off. The reception is somewhat cluttered. Breakfast does not start until 08:30 am , although I was not told this on check in and there was no information in the room. The food is fine , a bit overpriced but good quality and the breakfast varied from one day to the next in quantity. There is a cheaper evening menu up to 19:30 but unless you ask you do not get charged this discounted rate (I didn't). Overall I would visit again, especially on a reduced rate voucher.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 appear to be those most recommended by guests I spoke to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

OK...after reading some of the negative reviews on here- I have to be honest I was very worried. I had got this 2 night break on one of the deals (can remember which one as am a member of so many- possibly wowcher) anyhow I encouraged my mate and his missus to come a long too - before I read the feedback. Well...what was I worried for - Staff all very polite and friendly - Manager very pleasant guy - food and service excellent! .Value for money - Brilliant! Believe me I am not a person who would write a review like this if it did not deserve it- quite the opposite- if I had a bad experience I would shout about it. So would I go again?- most definitely yes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good base for surrounding area. Wowcher deal, not worth full tariff, friendly staff member checked us in, later to find out friendliness is overrated when one meal was completely undelivered. Room cleanish, stains on carpet, towels excellent white, fluffy and large but 2nd night tea tray was left with stains. With better management could be much better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonCaroline62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just returned from a three night break at the crown and on the whole think we definitely got what we paid for. We took our dog and were given a room in one of the cottages so the dog could go into the garden. The room was quite small but served its purpose well. The only downside was that there wasn't anywhere else in the room to sit apart from the bed which was not good for my husband who suffers with a bad back The inn is very large and old and could do with a little updating but this is a big undertaking and will not happen overnight.. contrary to the negative reviews I have read the staff were all very friendly and helpful, perhaps laid back but that suited us down to the ground. The food, including the breakfast was good and served efficiently and quickly. On the whole the break was excellent value for money and we will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor of the cottage which was lovely and peaceful for the first two nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tally001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Please do yourself a favour save your money as this inn is a big let down from the lack of customer service to the poor quality out dated accommodation. Our room had a used condom in the bedside table & a cracked sink. I was very disappointed that their gluten free options consisted of not eating 90% of the limited menu as they are no gluten free alternatives as they had stated on there website. Staff seem very unprofessional and rude at times and very badly organised hence renaming this place as fawlty towers. Breakfast is served from 8.30 - 9.30 but after waiting 45 mins while watching guests that had me waiting 10 mins eat we enquired about the delay and was made to feel like it was our fault and the waitress said its not our fault everyone has decided to eat at once so as we cancelled our breakfast as it seemed a waste of time. Very, very bad service the whole place is a big joke on paying customers expense avoid!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loopylisa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleobury Mortimer hotels

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

when we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and the inn was better than we expected from an old country building. We had 2 rooms(for 4 of us). One room was a refurbished room, which was roomy and very nicely done. The other room was clean, comfortable and was more typical of the age of inn, but liked it very much. We weren't planning on eating all our evening meals there, but after the first night, it was so nice, we ate there every night. The area was lovely, ideal for walking, although we didn't, but visited Ludlow, which is very pleasant. Definitely would do the whole trip again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53pam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
9.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
7.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
20.8 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Property: The Crown At Hopton
Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing