We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mortar and pestle rather than crown and mitre”
Review of The Hopton Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hopton Crown
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My friend and I booked for three nights as we had enjoyed our last two night stay so much. Unfortunately we were allocated a room in the cottages not the main hotel. I say unfortunately as the room was a tad grubby (cobwebs on the light shades). The broken shower head holder was reported the first morning, but the receptionist logged the wrong room number; then the next day the work person did not arrive. The only way to get under the water flow was by performing extreme yoga but finally the holder was quickly fixed by someone whose job it was, was not to do it, but he kindly did it. 'Twas nothing but a couple of loose screws. No matter, it was very shoddy that it took so long to get someone to do it. The room was on the small side, it was lucky we did not bring the cat, because we could not have swung it. Bed comfy, adequate storage and only up one flight of stairs. The window faced the road and as the weather was so warm we kept the window open and so, were party to the tractor derbys and the lorry marathons that took place far before the sheep woke up, the corn got up and cows wanted milking. The dinner was very tasty, breakfasts not bad, but the menu states continental 'or' cooked. The car park is large and on site,the hotel is located in attractive countryside and is convenient for the village of Cleobury Mortimer (excellent chip shop!) and larger towns such as Ludlow and Bridgnorth. It is likely we will go back again, but with so many lovely hotels to stay in, the Crown needs to check up on it's laurels, give them a polish and make sure they are firmly attached to the crown!

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room facing the road, in the summer anyway! The last time we stayed we had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maisie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We decided to stay here on our way home from the South West, and managed to get a very good deal via Living Social, £39 B&B. The building is beautiful and very quaint, just outside Cleobury Mortimer which is a pretty little village. Check in was okay, although the guy did appear to be very surprised when we said that we weren't sure if we would be eating in the pub restaurant that night. We asked for a menu to enable us to make an informed choice and he obliged, although he was confused as to what 'special offer' menu they were offering. Apparently they don't do early birds on Sunday etc. Asked if we wanted a hand with our luggage, and then took us to Room 14. This is on the first floor in the eaves, and there are a few dodgy steps, which could be difficult to negotiate after a few sherberts. I found it strange there was a hoover, left on the corridor. The room was okay, small but functional. The bed was very nice, iron frame but be careful of the fleur de lys finial, as very pointed and quite painful. Although pretty, not the most comfortable headboard to sit against. More pillows needed. The room needs a paint, there are scuff marks on roof and walls. Very small TV with poor reception - we had taken HDMI lead with us, so watched a film via our tablet. Free strong wifi. Small windows not soundproofed and room was very hot, so had to have window open. Light curtains, and road noise was terrible - really noisy and woke us up very early. Nice big shower in bathroom with good towels, but no bin, which was very weird. Also, you can't miss the extractor fan in the bathroom, which was filthy. Breakfast - wait to be seated, 3 servers who were not the most organised. Strange that you can only have cereals if you have continental. I asked for a hot water, and eventually a girl walked through the restaurant carrying the cup, not very H&S. Breakfast was okay, not the best, slimy egg and mushrooms but the best sausage I ate all week. Toast was brought with breakfast but no preserves offered, perhaps that was on the continental menu!! Really glad we chose not to eat at the restaurant. Not the friendliest check out and we were kept waiting as another guest challenged their bill. £39 is excellent VFM but we got the impression that we should be grateful for being allowed to stay there for that price. Also, we should have eaten at the restaurant, which we didn't because the menu wasn't appealing to us at all, too pretentious and overpriced. Would we return, no - not even at £39. Nor would we recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just returned from a very pleasant mid week break at the Crown x food excellent as were the waitresses, April and Bryony who perfectly combined friendliness with professionalism, especially when dealing with a customer the worse for wear through drink, who thought she'd asked for something she didn't x well done girls! x room small but comfortable and location ideal for exploring beautiful Shropshire x highly recommended x one tiny gripe - TV reception in the rooms was a bit hit and miss x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 418MikeS418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went to The Crown on a voucher deal and it appeared that most other people were staying on the same basis. The hotel is set in the most beautiful location and easy distance from Ludlow and Ironbridge, both of which are places well worth visiting.

We had our spaniel with us and the hotel is very dog friendly. We were given a room in one of the new cottage buildings ( room 23) It had a door out onto the garden so it was really easy to let the dog out there. ( on a lead as it is not enclosed and it is a very busy road that the hotel fronts). The room had everything you need and was practical ( if a bit basic but clean and tidy). The food is top class and quite reasonable. Breakfasts are excellent.
Bar area is cosy with lots of locals drinking there in the evenings to give it a good atmosphere.
The staff are all fairly new but coped with the packed full restaurant very competently and were all really friendly and helpful.
All in all, we had a fantastic weekend and would thoroughly recommend this hidden gem.

Room Tip: rooms in the cottages do not have very good soundproofing between ground and first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We here for the 1 night, room basic but ticked all the boxes. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and selected from the "early bird" menu which was really good with plenty of choices and it was very busy so created a nice atmosphere. The two young waitress worked hard but still found time to have a chat with everyone, a nice touch. Food was good and nicely presented.
Breakfast starting at 8.30 to 9.30 is to late. Everyone staying at the hotel were already queuing to get in by 8.20 so it is obvious that 8.00 would be better. Breakfast was good.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendysam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pretty little hotel in nice country area
beware outside steps to car park quite high
olde world bedrooms with creaking floorboard and poor lighting, decoration a bit jaded & tired & in need of some new paint.
very steep stairs (no lift) I had requested easy access but nothing heard
very nice restaurant and good food
we were on a living world voucher which according to my reading included wine & 2 course dinner on first night. No mention on voucher that meal had to be of "early bird" menu & you had to sit down before 7.30pm
Second night as per voucher ordered meal off early bird menu but were still refused the wine
The young ladies serving were very pleasant and courteous but the (I assume management) men in black gave the impression that they were doing you a favour giving you the deal
They could do with a customer service course or charisma transplant
Pleasant homely but quite expensive bar with no obvious ban on dogs laying around.
Breakfast (only from 8.30 to 9.30am) did not have a great choice of items, plated cooked meal which reduced in size each day from 2 sausage 2 bacon etc. on first day to one of each & no mushrooms on 3rd morning.
Hotel has potential to be a winner but needs some work on the property and the management.

Room Tip: Try for cottage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank coaltownjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay at The Crown Inn. We booked through a voucher from Living Social and couldn't have been happier. The accommodation was good, we had a room in the cottage it was clean and nicely decorated. We went for a walk on the Saturday morning before breakfast, breakfast was nice and so was the evening meal provided as part of the offer on the first night. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we had a good laugh with them. We went into Ludlow on the Saturday and Sunday for the jazz festival and that was a great little town with a castle. Thank you to all the staff we will definitely look at returning. Clare & John

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hopton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hopton Crown

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Price Range: £55 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hopton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Hopton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hopton Crown Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing