We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown At Hopton
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal on wowcher but were confused as to where the hotel was. It turned out it was in the middle of nowhere. From the website and the outside the hotel looked nice. When we were checking in we were made to feel very unwelcome by the very abrupt arrogant man on reception. We were told what time to book our table in the restaurant after being asked when we wanted to eat. We were then taken to our room, room 12. Our first problem was the damp musty smell. There were so many frilly old fashioned completely pointless things in the room that it felt like a charity shop. The bed was quite small but very comfortable. The bathroom had a stained carpet, very low sloping ceiling and no shower. We also struggled to get hot water. There was no wifi except occasionally in the bar. And absolutely no signal, which bothered us as we had left our two small children with family to celebrate our anniversary.
We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant on the first night, again we were made to feel uncomfortable by the staff. We were seated right by a window on a very busy main road where the traffic noise was annoying. We were the only people in the restaurant but they seated two other couples on either side of us despite having the whole restaurant empty. I didn't understand the reason for this as we all had to talk hushed so as not to be overheard by each other. The food came out quickly and was really nice, definitely good value.
We had some drinks in the bar later that night and again were made to feel unwelcome by the man from reception.
We had a good night sleep and breakfast the next day was good. We tried to spend as little time as possible in the hotel due to the staffs manner and the room was pretty depressing. So we came back late that day, it was pretty annoying having to bath instead of shower as we never use our bath at home.
We were pleasantly surprised that our room had been made up and our tea and coffee replenished.
At breakfast on the second morning my husband ordered the continental breakfast, you can only have one or the other and he isn't overly keen on English breakfast. On the menu it stated that the continental breakfast includes croissant and pastries. He was given a bowl for cereal and when he asked if he could have a croissant he was treated like he was an idiot. The waitresses were both very unprofessional and I thought pretty scruffy in their appearance.
We literally couldn't wait to get out. When we checked out we were given our bar bill, which was quite expensive but they always are. We weren't asked about our stay and there was no thank you or pleasantries by the extremely unpleasant man on reception/bar. Overall it was a very good offer and good value but I would much rather pay more next time and stay somewhere more up to date with better service.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have just returned from an overnight stay here. The room was clean and pleasant, a comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities a small but adequate TV. There was no hair dryer in the room but on request I was given one immediately.
We decided to dine in the restaurant for our evening meal, which was totally delicious, drinks were a little expensive, but not a deal breaker.
Breakfast was lovely and more than adequate.
The staff were all friendly, helpful and polite.
I would stay here again, it is the perfect base for a visit to Ludlow and I would recommend this place as good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were late on arrival, but made to feel very welcome and ordered our meal before going to the room, so it was ready as soon as we came down. Room 10 was lovely - spacious and very characterful with an excellent shower and large fluffy white towels. The bathroom obviously had some past issues with damp and needed a new floor covering, replacement of towel rail and bath panelling, so it was a bit unsightly but didn't affect our stay. The room was cleaned and tidied daily. Staff were always on hand, mostly young people but friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - a range of hot and cold foods, although no croissants were available despite being on the menu. We got a 3 night deal online, which now seems like a bargain.

Room Tip: We loved room 10, though a small window with no view, it was spacious and beamed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank carleton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just had a 2 night stay. Charming place. Plenty of moaning minis in attendance, but we had no problems. Yes you can hear the road, but in the middle of the night there are very few cars. Breakfast is more than adequate and makes perfectly clear what the options are. Food at the Restaurant is good and plentiful. Lovely break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank finccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having just returned from a 2 day stay at The Crown, I can only state how disappointed I was. The room was not only dingy, but the walls were in need of painting and were grubby. I felt the whole establishment is in dire need of a Manager. One particular member of staff was totally unprofessional, when I was in mid conversation he just cut me off mid sentence, he was most unhelpful when I asked how far Ironbridge was he replied "I have no idea" no attempt to check on the internet...... just a dismissive arrogance. It was hard to recognise staff as there was a complete absence of a uniform, only faded black T Shirts that would look more at home at a rock festival! The food was of an acceptable standard, even though on both mornings during breakfast the fire alarm was constantly ringing!! There was also no attention to detail such as bowls near the breakfast cereal or extra plates. This establishment needs a Manager. The staff need training in servicing the needs of the customer, inter-personal skills and presentation if this Hotel is to survive. I for one wouldn't recommend it!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived later than anticipated about 8 pm. We parked the car and as we got out a guy came over to confirm who he thought we were and said our room was right there. It was one of the cottages. We weren't offered food nor did we want any but he mentioned the bar a couple of times. We were very tired so didn't bother with a drink and sorted ourselves out then went to bed. The next morning we had breakfast which was a choice of continental or full english. We prefer to have both when on holiday and don't bother eating again until the evening. We found that sort of arrangement a bit cheapskate. We went out for the day and arrived back quite late. The next morning same again with the breakfast and then we checked out. The room was ok but when we arrived back on the Monday evening the window was wide open. The best bit about the bathroom was the shower which was large and easy to use. Would we stay there again probably not. We moved on to another hotel near to the Wrekin for 2 nights
that offered B&B and 1 evening 3 course meal plus tickets to Weston Park. for not much more money. The room was a lot better with a balcony and you could have anything you wanted for breakfast nor either or. HJ Lancashire.

Room Tip: We were in the cottages so don't know about the main building. As we had our own key to the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travellers2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a 3 night deal - Bed and breakfast and 3 course meal first night.
When arriving we were shown to our room which was clean and with plenty of room. The shower was very good. The room was directly above the bar and outside seating. Due to the hot weather we had the windows open and there was very little noise so a good night sleep was had.
The only problem was WI Fi which was not possible in the room but free downstairs.
The 3 course meal was excellent - good choice plenty on the plate and cooked perfectly.
The breakfast was also very good and set you up for the day.
A very enjoyable stay with good food and drink clean and friendly staff - will certainly re visit

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
2.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cleobury Mortimer
20 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Kings Arms Cleobury Mortimer
#15 of 27 in Worcester
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown At Hopton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown At Hopton

Address: Hopton Wafers, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Price Range: £47 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Crown At Hopton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Hopton Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing