We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broome Park Farm B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A favourite B&B!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have stayed with Catherine over two years ago and returned recently. Our 4 year old loved feeding the lambs and spending time on a working farm. With a 4 yr old and a 5 mth old in tow we are a bit of a rabble however Catherine made us feel at home and made life very easy during our stay. Breakfasts are lovely and relaxing, I particularly loved the fresh fruit on offer and i'm sure the eggs from the farm tasted better than normal. The family room was more than ample and the cookies left in the room were lovely. Can't forget the cakes on arrival too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnepdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbroomepark, Owner at Broome Park Farm B&B, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your fab review, I always love to hear how much guests have enjoyed their stay! The lambs are cute aren't they and bottle feeding is always popular! Hopefully you will return again soon! Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
65
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here 15th to 17th November and I can highly recommend this B&B. We arrived a little earlier than planned but Catherine greeted us with lovely homemade cookies and the offer of a hot drink after our journey. The accommodation is superb - almost like having your own cottage especially if you are going with another couple or family as there is a separate guest lounge and dining room. The breakfasts were fantastic with all the produce coming fresh from the farm or local area - we were treated to the full English on Saturday and on the Sunday Catherine offered us an option of full English or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled egg - my favourite. Catherine cooked us a lovely meal on the Friday night I have to say it was superb - real home cooking and great value at £15 per head and we could bring our own wine. We took the opportunity to go cycling in the local area although we have to admit there were a few hills so we definitely earned our food! All in all a great weekend in an idyllic setting - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arleywood_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbroomepark, Owner at Broome Park Farm B&B, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed the food, I always feel I'm on 'Come Dine with Me' when cooking for guests so it's nice to get positive feedback! Just to say although you enjoyed the cookies you missed out on homemade cakes by not having tea on arrival, perhaps next time! Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I wanted a short relaxing break, and decided on Broome Farm in Cleobury Mortimer as we wanted to explore the surrounding area. Booking was easy through Catherine, who was a perfect hostess who gave us a very warm welcome. This is a working farm, that essentially has been divided into two sections - the back for the owners, and the front for guests (with fabulous views over the surrounding countryside). There are two large, clean guest rooms upstairs with en suite facilities, downstairs is a sitting room with books and a tv, plus a dining room where breakfast is served for guests. The food is all locally sourced and the quality (and quantity) was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for Catherine, with good advice on where to eat and what to do, plus helping us sort which of our potential destinations would be best for us.

We plumped for Ludlow on the first day, which is a quaint town with shops that reminded me of my (too distant) youth - No high street chains, just quality butchers, greengrocers and bakers with fresh locally produced products, plus a sprinkling of toyshops, bookshops, an independant wine merchant and a lot of interesting assorted shops. The second day we went to Blist Hill victorian town - what a place! Part of a series of museums in the Ironbridge area, this was originally an area with its own iron mine, coal mine and clay works. All of the buildings were left as they were when they closed, and form the basis of a created typical victorian town from the late 1800s. Typical streets of that period have been recreated and stocked with items from that era, and essentially 'actors' are working in them. These include working blacksmiths, tin cutters, candle makers, carpenters, estate management office, printers, photographers, doctors surgery, dentist, bank, pharmacy, butchers, sweet shop, chip shop (chips were excellent), grocers, pub, post office, a period cottage, a squatters cottage (unbelievable), church, school and probably others that I have missed out.

My wife and I definitely will be back with Catherine in the very near future with our eldest grandson who loves tractors and farm animals. A very relaxing place where we were very well looked after, by the perfect hostess. Many thanks for everything (Catherine, I have now finished the book and will bring it back soon)! Look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Geoff & Julie

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moyleswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbroomepark, Owner at Broome Park Farm B&B, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Hi Geoff and Julie, thank you for such a glowing review! I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay after choosing us instead of going for an offer elsewhere! We look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring with your grandson, Hopefully we will have lambs for him to feed! Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Catherine and John, Broome Park’s owners, are very hardworking livestock and arable farmers who also offer first-rate accommodation with an optional evening meal. The farm is about 1.5 miles from the attractive and buzzing village of Cleobury Mortimer in Shropshire, which is of ample interest in itself. The accommodation is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We hadn’t expected that there’d be as much room as there was; but the accommodation for visitors is actually self-contained at the front of the Georgian house. As well as a large, well-proportioned en-suite bedroom with super-king bed, there is a well-furnished sitting room, complete with glossy magazines. The view, even in October, was of orchards, cattle and gently rolling fields onwards to the Shropshire hills.

Catherine didn’t bat an eyelid at our request for low-fat, ‘heart-friendly’ diet. She welcomed it as a challenge. One evening, she also had to deal with our late arrival back at the farm one evening because of a puncture, for which (we learned later) she had to cancel her band practice. All this she responded to with great good humour, although we’d clearly lengthened her evening for a few hours by our delay. We felt guilty, but all this was no trouble to John and Catherine. John even offered to come and tow us back!

Breakfasts here are the real thing: not many ‘food miles’ here, as the provenance of bacon and sausages is from just over the wall, on the farm itself! The excellent granola is local to the village too, as is the excellent Hobsons beer in the bread! We requested small portions of bacon and eggs; but if those were ‘small’, I can’t imagine a full Shropshire breakfast! Eggs are laid by ‘the girls’, who you will see occasionally foraging in the garden. From the ground-floor dining room, you can watch cattle graze in the next field as you eat your ample breakfast.

Creating comfort like this might appear effortless, but it’s terribly hard work. In this case, it’s done conscientiously and thoroughly, and nothing seems too much trouble.

The dinner is superb, and included a memorable tagine of chicken and, on a later night, pork from Catherine’s (ex-)pig, a mixed breed of Duroc and Gloucester Old Spot in a casserole. Delicious! Desserts were often, but not exclusively, from the farm’s orchard, included poached pears in a chocolate sauce, and - the like of which we’d never encountered before – a damson cheese (yes, a dessert!), an old country house dish in the grand style, subtly flavoured with what we thought were almonds, but actually are the ground kernels of damson stones, apparently.
In writing about the quality of the food and accommodation that Broome Park Farm offers, we should not overlook the warmth of the welcome, which is very genuine. Catherine evidently works hard at what she does because she cares about her guests and wants them to have the best possible stay that she can offer.

In writing this review, I forgot to mention the weather during our particular stay in October, which was appalling! The welcome we were given, however, eclipsed the grey skies and morning mists. It would be lovely to to squeeze in a visit in deepest winter, and hunker down in the guests’ sitting room before the crackling log fire - and make a further visit in a later, perhaps more clement season too.

This place is an excellent ‘find’ and deserves to be shared.

Karen O’Rourke & Paul Dolan

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbroomepark, Owner at Broome Park Farm B&B, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
What can I say, Karen! It was a pleasure to have you stay and I really enjoyed cooking for you! It is good for me to try different menus and I ate and enjoyed things I wouldn't normally cook! Thank you for the fabulous review and hope to see you both again soon. Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Thank you Catherine for a lovely, albeit short, stay. From the warm welcome, to the lovely big room with everything you need (including rather lovely biscuits), huge comfy bed, and views to die for. Oooh yes, and lovely powerful shower. We had a very substantial breakfast, all or at least mostly home reared and produced. We wished we had had longer to explore, but maybe another time. Hope I haven't missed anything Catherine. Kind regards from us both xx

Room Tip: All I would say is that a torch is useful if you are likely to walk through the farm yard at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peejaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbroomepark, Owner at Broome Park Farm B&B, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review after your brief stay, so glad you enjoyed your stay. We can usually lend guests a torch if they are brave enough to walk to the pub in the winter months! Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Thanks to Catherine - the hostess with the mostest! Warm welcome, wonderful breakfast and quite willing to make it at 7.00a.m. on request. Immaculate room and hot shower. Exceptional value (don't know why I'm letting everyone else know, I'll need some vacancy when I return in 2014!).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbroomepark, Owner at Broome Park Farm B&B, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thanks, Steve, for your glowing review, it is always a pleasure to have you to stay! Hope to see you in 2014! Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My sister, dad and I stayed here while we took dad to the Severne Valley Railway for his 81st birthday. Not only did we have great fun on the steam trains, but the farmhouse was an absolute tonic to come home to after a bustling and busy day. We were given a wonderful welcome by Catherine our host with tea and the most delicious home made cakes (flapjacks and brownies etc). There is a warm and homely wood fire to relax in front of in the evenings and the most comfortable bedrooms to sleep in later. Every small detail is attended to, including a goodies on the tea tray in the room, fresh milk, towelling robes and more. The full English breakfast was superb; all farm produce plus a daily variety of fresh fruit and yogurt, toast and cereal too. The only sound is from the nature outside ( there were cows in the field ) and an owl hooting through the night. It was like stepping back in time and we left after three happy days thoroughly rested and restored. Thank you Broome Park Farm, we will be back.

Room Tip: Only two rooms to choose from, one twin and one double. Both are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbroomepark, Owner at Broome Park Farm B&B, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for a great review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us! The accommodation works well when both rooms are booked by the same group and you can make full use of the dining and sitting rooms. The twin room you stayed in can also be presented as a super king so is ideal for a couple! Hope to see you again soon, Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleobury Mortimer
9.3 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
867 reviews
14.0 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
635 reviews
20.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#5 of 5 in Cleobury Mortimer
74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome Park Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Park Farm B&B

Property: Broome Park Farm B&B
Address: Broome Park Farm Catherton Road, Cleobury Mortimer DY14 0LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Cleobury Mortimer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cleobury Mortimer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful farmhouse accommodation in a tranquil rural setting, close to the small town of Cleobury Mortimer. Guests can relax in our comfortable en-suite rooms and enjoy wonderful home cooked local food. We produce our own sausages, bacon and free range eggs along side home made preserves and honey and our own apple juice from the orchard. Ideal for walkers, cyclists and families. Easy access to Ludlow, Ironbridge and Much Wenlock as well as The Severn Valley Railway and Wyre Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broome Park Farm B&B Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing