We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value food menu”

Poacher's Restaurant at The Crown Inn
Price range: US$80 - US$80
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great value food menu”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we recently had an enjoyable two night weekend stay @ the crown, so we made full advantage of the inns restaurant, great value early bird 2 / 3 course menu, lovely food, super choice, pipping hot, efficient service & lovely staff, we will stay & eat here again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank del1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced food”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We went as a family on Friday evening it was busy and the service was stretched. However, we were made very welcome, the food was good and reasonably priced. The duck was very good and everyone enjoyed their choices. We had not been for a long time because the previous visit was not a good one. How things have changed and we will be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 15Bae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overpriced for quality food”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stopped to eat after a long journey from midlands to Swansea on return home. The decor was tired, certainly there were more than a few beer glass stains on the wooden tables and stains on the seats!
Staff appeared friendly and took our order for main course only. We ordered one crispy pork belly which came with veg and dauphinoise potato, and a medium rare rib- eye steak with chips, onion rings, salad and tomato. The wait seemed inordinately long ( we were hungry) considering the pork would have been cooked prior- at least in part and the steak etc should be little more than 5 mins to cook, giving them the benefit of other meals to prepare should not have taken 40 minutes. This we would have overlooked had the food lived up to expectations.
When the food arrived both plates looked well presented. The crispy pork belly was not very crispy and meat that should have been soft and melted in the mouth was like shoe leather and dry. The other half ate what he could and ploughed through it leaving the "shoe leather" and over cooked veg. My rib-eye (if that is what it was- still not convinced!) even with a steak knife was tough to cut and even tougher to chew- what disappointment! Yes we could have complained and I wish we had but we have seen enough of the TV programmes with kitchen horrors to know what goes on in the kitchen when you do- and a family member has witnessed this behavior first hand in a previous job where she left due to staff spitting in food or kicking it around the floor before returning it to the table). We did not want to face that. None of the staff came to check if we were happy with the food until we were obviously finished. When we explained why we were dissatisfied with our meals, we got a "sorry but we've been busier than usual" excuse- but also added " that should not be the reason for poor food". We were offered a complimentary drink which we declined- we were driving and needed to leave so we asked for the bill. The bill came eventually after having got lost and had to be re-billed, with no offer of any deductions for the poor food. Unfortunately we were by this time too fed up to argue so paid the bill hence the bad review. The only reason I gave it a "poor" rating instead of terrible was the only good thing on my plate- the chips were great- we shared them! For the cost of £30 a very poor experience. My advice drive past!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank p f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfectly good pub grub”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is a fine pub with attentive if not polished service and decent food. The starter I had, with black pudding, flat mushrooms and smoked cheddar, hinted at some imagination and skill in the kitchen, although my steak was only adequate, with a touch more fat and considerably less flavour than I'd expect. Chips were well-fried but also slightly bland. The room itself is somewhat dated. If I had the option I'd give it three and a half stars, as everyone is trying very hard, and not making fatal errors, but the whole doesn't quite come together as much better than average. Still, I've had far worse meals, and would definitely go back again, just with slightly lowered expectations.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBWilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dont be fooled by their website claims”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We booked this having visited the web site with claims for experienced chef with rosette awards. When we arrived and saw the menu it was obvious the only similarity were the prices! When we asked the waiter he replied the web site was three years out of date and the chef with the awards was long gone. The food was average and over priced - will not be going back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poacher's Restaurant at The Crown Inn also viewed

Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire
Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire
 
Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire
Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire
 
Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire
Cleobury Mortimer, Shropshire
 

Been to Poacher's Restaurant at The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing