We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No second chances at first impressions”
Review of Birches Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Craven Arms
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birches Mill
Ranked #5 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Dalbeattie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“No second chances at first impressions”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The male who "greeted" me asked if I had a delivery.
Yes I said.
Well what is it
"Me" I said, I'm staying here.
"You never told us you had a ruddy great big van [a Citroen panel] We do have other guests you know. Where am I going to park you????"
What a pompous oaf. He had made an impression about me because I turned up in a van. I found next morning when I left early that there was only 1 other car in their parking area.
I wouldn't go back there ever. The room was small, the bathroom was over the landing, and it was £75.
Overpriced, over self-important and over assumptive. If they'd known who I was travelling with I suspect they might have greeted me a little warmer. That's just the type of person he appeared to me to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G4llovidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our third visit to this lovely and peaceful place - we've stayed each time in the Miller's House which is an attractive (and well-equipped) cottage, at Birches Mill, in a beautiful setting near Clun. (Gill and Andrew have two cottages and also run a B&B here, and it's beautifully secluded and private for all guests) The area is wonderful for walking, with gentle and more challenging routes easily to hand, some can be accessed right out of the door. (We find the peace of Shropshire hugely preferable to the crowds in the Lake District and other spots where you can so often feel as though you are following the person in front all the time!) Ludlow is really interesting to explore and Bishop's Castle has to be one of the nicest small towns in the UK, with quirky small shops including a great bookshop. At Birches Mill, Gill and Andrew are brilliant hosts and can suggest lots of things in the area, and you can enjoy wonderful home cooked meals delivered to your door (specially recommend the fish pie and vegetarian thali) if you don't want to cook or go to one of the lovely local pubs. There's a beautiful garden just for the cottage and the whole place is great for relaxing and unwinding. Perfect for anyone wanting to relax and get away from things, but with lots to do in the area when you feel like it. This is certainly one of the best places we've ever stayed and we hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffandRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our third visit to Birches Mill because it offers everything we want from a weekend break - beautiful countryside for long walks, a friendly welcome from Gill and Andrew, a touch of luxury (most comfortable bed award), and a spot of "get away from it all". With plenty of fine dining options in Ludlow you can get the indulgence of a top hotel without all the fuss. Must be the best accommodation in Shropshire.
See you next year

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianstarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

... that's where we fell in love with Birches Mill. How else to say it? Countless reviews spell it out... the peaceful valley, the timeless mill, the walks, decor that combines country comfort with style, splendid breakfasts(not forgetting the kippers) and that gurgling river that is the backdrop to everything.
But here's how it was special for us. We were three couples, one from Canada, two from the UK, two sisters and a brother plus their spouses. And with just three guest rooms in the main house, we took over the whole darned place for four days. Just us and Gill and Andrew treating us like the most pampered house guests in their home.
Ours the lounge for Scrabble and nightcaps, ours the dining room for family breakfast, and, especially, ours the gardens that go on and on, Andrew's veggies and rhubarb and currants, the chickens, the orchard, the plantation beside the river with its larches and flowering service berries. Even, when we were there, flame yellow skunk cabbage, their beauty belying their, let's say, odd smell. How do Gill and Andrew, we wondered, find time and energy to do it all, and make us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: The twin room, which was our choice, is the largest and very private. Like a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayesha37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just a great place with great hosts. Everything was just so. It is a really peaceful surround with great views and a reall feel good factor. The owners Giil and Andrew were so accomodating and was always available to give sound advice on where to eat locally and places to visit. If youget the chance, you have to stay here.

Room Tip: The Twin is large and roomy, the double has the large rool top bath and the smaller double is just s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Cannot fault this place, if you are looking for a B&B near Ludlow then this is ideal. Set in glorious countryside with rolling hills and walks in every direction with hosts that make your stay comfortable and memorable in every way. Andrew the artist and Gill the interior designer have created the perfect country home to enjoy with attention to detail in every room and a breakfast to match the setting. Look no further if you want a country retreat for a few days with luxurious furnishings, a hearty breakfast and good company.

Room Tip: double bedroom with roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gorsehillbrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is a picture-perfect country cottage tucked deep in a beautiful little valley. We loved the home cooked meals delivered to our door by Andrew each evening, long walks in stunningly beautiful countryside, and the wide selection of real ales on offer in every village. The hospitality is warm but unobtrusive, and the accommodation up to a very high standard indeed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
8.5 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 9 in Craven Arms
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
236 reviews
2.9 mi away
The School House B&B
The School House B&B
#1 of 3 in Bucknell
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birches Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Mill

Property: Birches Mill
Address: Clun, Craven Arms SY7 8NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Birches Mill Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing