We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food”
Review of Hundred House Inn

Hundred House Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Craven Arms
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A group of 20 of us were staying close by and decided to visit on a Sunday lunchtime. The restaurant was fairly quiet at this time but our reserved table was fully ready upon our arrival. We all opted for the carvery and none of us were disappointed - the generous portions of meat and veg were of excellent quality and no one left feeling hungry. We didn't have any room for dessert although they did sound very tasty. The drinks were very reasonably priced and the facilities were clean. They also had the f1 showing in the bar area that was separated from the dining room. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for good food in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwilliams1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food! Great value for money on a Sunday carvery”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed at The Old Sawmill nearby this week and was recommended to Hundred House by both cottage owner and The Old Wheelwrights Tea Room (both also worth a look!) Booked in advance for carvery and all 3 courses were delicious! The meat was perfect and A very generous serving of everything. Kids were half price but portions were still plentiful. Food was served at our speed, not to suit them and we were not rushed at all. Strawberry shortbread ice cream was to die for! Wish I had asked for the recipe. Probably our best Sunday roast in a long time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Generous children's meal that they really enjoyed. Good quality pub fare, served pleasantly, without rush, but we weren't in a hurry, as it was pleasant sitting in the garden. Not a criticism, and it's probably intentional, but a little play area for children would make it even better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MummyOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“long, long wait”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The staff, over worked and under-staffed were very good and really tried their best. There was one waitress and one lady serving at the busy bar. It took an age to get a drink and then to order of a very limited menu. It took fifty minutes to come. The food itself was ok with no complaints but nothing special. I really can't recommend this establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnEboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Took a group of 13 friends here. As expected the restaurant wanted menu orders before arrival, of which they were very accommodating. Upon arrival however, there was no greeting or interaction whatsoever from the staff.

Food was served promptly after sitting down and food was good.

We were told we could pay separately which seemed to go ok until the end when I was told 2 starters and 3 deserts had not been paid for, yet the resurant knew exactly what everyone had ordered. I ended up paying the extra £22 on my credit card! The staff were not willing to check again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hundred House Inn also viewed

Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 
Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 

Been to Hundred House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing