We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average food, decent pint but limited selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hundred House Inn

Hundred House Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Craven Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, average food, decent pint but limited selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Hundred House is situated in the hamlet of Purslow on the Craven Arms to Clun road. It's a nice pub with both a sunny terrace and a tidy garden with a few tables. Nice to sit out in the sun but lacking the best views over the Clun valley to the south.

They keep a good pint here but although the place has Hobsons plastered all over it they no longer sell their excellent ales - a limited choice of the ever-treacley Sharp's Doombar (just not to my taste) and the tasty but wintery Slumbering Monk.

We stopped by on a walk for Sunday lunch which was a mixed experience: the roast pork and the quiche were not bad, tasty cauliflower cheese but the spuds over-cooked and the carrots lacking any flavour whatsoever. Charge a little more and take a little more care with better ingredients I'd suggest.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanMcBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Epic Steak, Onion Rings and Chips and good music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited the Hundred House Inn with over 20 people for a birthday meal on Saturday night. The photos already here don't do it justice as it was a lovely country pub.

I ate steak with onion rings and tomatoes, and what turned out to be an unfinishable portion of chips that arrived in a casserole dish!

The food all arrived at the same time, and was extremely tasty, nice wine and the live music playing meant the atmosphere was good, and busy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HJaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Plentyful fresh tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our first visit to this pub. The staff are very polite and friendly. The menu prices are reasonable and fantastic value for money. We had two steak pies and a sea bass with creamed leeks . The pies came with chips and an extra generous shared portion of fresh vegetables for the three of us. My son enjoyed the fish dish. It was all delicious and very filling. Our man meals were around the ten pound price.We ordered two desserts, one banana split with nice ice cream and cream with fresh blueberries and rasberries and one chocolate brownie with cream and rasberries We were on holiday but I wish this pub was our local at home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonanassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were staying in Hopesay and was recommended to come here. Turned up at 5pm to find food wasn't served until 6pm. Waited in the bar on a lovely leather sofa in front of a roaring fire. Bliss! Quite an attractive pub with farm appropriate pictures on the walls. Food was superb. Service was brilliant. The only negative we could comment on was that our steak wasn't cooked as we ordered (ordered medium and it came out rare). Really nice place to eat, would definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh plentiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here many times as a local, but felt compelled to write a review. Had a really nice dinner here tonight, a steak pie and vegetable lasagne. The food was really good, fresh hot vegetables on the side also. Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cornishfairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hundred House Inn also viewed

Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 
Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 
Craven Arms, Shropshire
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 

Been to Hundred House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing