We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now THAT was welcoming!”
Review of Stokesay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stokesay Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were welcomed with a smile (thanks Harriet!) and after eleven hours in the car due to M6 traffic chaos that was a terrific start! The room isn't modern, but this isn't a modern Travelodge type inn. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Down to the bar, where the range of drinks was good and well-priced (try the rioja and the pinot grigio), the atmosphere friendly and welcoming, and the French-styled food superb. If it's not the best French onion soup we've had, in the UK OR in France, it's so close the difference doesn't count. The pub is fairly small and a little out-of-the-way, but it's very well worth discovering.

Room Tip: Ask nicely at the bar!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renoir19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Stokesay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed in this Hotel (Should rename it hostel!) for a couple of nights
The room was small and in desperate need of decorating, it had wood chip wall paper that was peeling, the door felt very insecure and if someone pushed hard enough i reckon that it would have opened!
The TV was mounted on the wall, but too high up to watch from the bed. and to boil the kettle you had to pace it on the floor! Not a very safe thing to do!
On the plus side at least the water in the bathroom was hot, the cleanliness was to be desired and the light cover in the bathroom had a big hole burnt into it.
Decided on the first night to sample the food, asked for a pork chop, tht is what i got, no vegetables! just a few very soggy chips,
This is unfortunate as the Landlord is actually a very nice chap.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We used this hotel as a base to explore Stokesay castle and area over Easter. It is more of a pub with rooms and a restaurant but is very welcoming. The room had a flat screen tv, fridge and good mattress. The food from the restaurant was well cooked and fast and there was a good selection of bitters!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I found this hotel extremely welcoming. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room was clean and adequately provisioned. The breakfast was very good. It was, overall, excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyD04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed for one night at the hotel during a 5 day walking holiday in the Shropshire hills.
We arrived at the hotel absolutely wet through and were immediately offered the use of a washing machine to wash and dry our clothes. Our clothes were more wet than dirty and we were given access to the boiler room to dry them out.
The rooms were of a good size and simple and clean. We did eat in the hotel and dinner was very good. The full English breakfast was also very good.
Nothing was too much of a problem for the very helpful staff.
I would recommend the hotel to travellers passing through wanting good simple food and accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotusOxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I was very shocked to read nturner123 reviews for The Stokesay Castle Hotel or Inn as he called it! My Husband and I have been to Shropshire and have stayed in The Stokesay, twice. I have never had any reason to complain and find it very hard to believe that he found so many thing wrong in his stay there unless he was there for 6months or more. I will also be staying there again soon for the royal welsh show that is Builth Wells which is a good 45min from Craven Arms but to find some where as good a value and welcoming as The Stokesay is very few and far between. The food is always spot on when I have stayed there and have never not eaten the fresh breakfast I was given. There was also other people staying in the hotel at the same time as us and I never heard them complaining! I do also happen to know that they no longer test the kettle for safety, it is the power lead that they test. The Stokesay is a very old building and I should of thought that some day the dust will get the better of them and I rather the fly are dead then flying round my head at least they have taken measure to kill them and sure everybody knows that there are billions! I hope that anyone else who has read his review will now think twice! I stand by this comment that I have made so strongly that I am willing to give my number out to confirm that I am a genuine person. Many regards Rosie. 0786 392 6995 x can i also ad as there no where else to put it. The staff are ever so helpful and the take to time to talk to you about the local history as we found after coming there for the 1st time for wedding and not haveing much time, after speaking to them and from seeing bits and bobs we deciding that we would come back for a long weekend and are very glad we did as Craven arms has so much to offer x

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roise90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Staff very friendly, food is excellent, nice atmoshpere, Made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Accomodation was clean and tidy. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
903 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stokesay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stokesay Inn

Address: School Road, Craven Arms SY7 9PE, England (Formerly Stokesay Castle Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stokesay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stokesay Castle Hotel Craven Arms
Stokesay Inn Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing