We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”
Review of Stokesay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stokesay Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A tired pub hotel which needs some serious redecoration and refurbishment. Plus points excellent breakfast and friendly hardworking staff. Would I stay there again no I would pay a bit more next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 286Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    44
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
23
52
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I start this by saying the room was clean, and just about acceptable. I knew it was a room in a pub and didn't have huge expectations. We were attending a wedding nearby and it was cheapish.
This hotel is the reason I stay at premier inns! Dirty carpets going up the stairs, tired walls and bleak decor in the room, no bedside lamps just one big one above our heads, so no bead time reading, although I now come to my biggest gripe, we had a room above the pool room, I tell you this as I know all the people by name who were playing, it was so noisy we couldn't sleep.
I know it's not expensive but for 20.00extra I cold have stayed somewhere really nice.
The breakfast is very good, great bacon lovely fresh eggs, they really do need to spend some money on the rooms, or charge slightly less. Only my second bad review so I feel bad, but it really spoilt what was a lovely weekend, everyone else stayed in Ludlow and loved it.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in room 8 or go down and play pool or stay up until after everyone has left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stannersue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very welcoming. Room clean and beds comfortable. We had an evening meal there which was home cooked, very tasty. Good hearty breakfast, which we would recommend as extra to the room tariff. Staff very friendly. Nice outdoor area to sit and have a drink after dinner.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank riddian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is lovely. Our room is spacious and clean. White bed coverings and new furniture. rooms even have new block out curtains, new television, kettle and nice soaps. Not at all like the photos. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leasm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Do not be deceived by earlier reviews as the inn was bought over recently and the new owners have refurbished the interior and is a stark contrast to previous reviews. Presently, the staff were friendly and provided good service. Rooms were spick and span and the furniture was new. Food was sumptuous and priced reasonably. Good location (near Stokesay Castle).

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rochelleeeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Friendly staff, prompt service, good selection of pub fare. HPA beer fine. We went a walk to see the bluebells at Wart Hill Wood after getting directions from obliging owner. This was a fine walk across fields to the woods, and a circular walk arounfd the woods.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stopped here on way to relatives. Very friendly helpful staff and delicious cod and chips washed down with a good local ale. Unpretentious food but very well cooked and service good. Would visit again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oakdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
768 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
890 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stokesay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stokesay Inn

Property: Stokesay Inn
Address: School Road, Craven Arms SY7 9PE, England (Formerly Stokesay Castle Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stokesay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stokesay Castle Hotel Craven Arms
Stokesay Inn Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing