We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice !”
Review of Stokesay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stokesay Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice !”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the earlier reviews I was a little apprehensive about what I might find. As we entered room 4 I was blown away, beautifully clean and light.
The white and purple of the leaded windows brilliantly complemented by the white and purple Orchids on the window sill.
Food was outstanding.
This place is saved in my Favourites for a future visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RonM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    44
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
22
52
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were made very welcome by the temporary manager. He had some problems with the rooms since other people had mistakenly been given our rooms. Nevertheless he sorted it all out with good grace and was an engaging presence throughout. Room had been refurbished but lacked finishing touches like tissues, sufficient tea/coffee etc. Some lights didn't work. The evening meal was of good quality and great value: there's nothing else in Craven Arms so be warned !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One night 26th May, had we been on our own we would not have accepted and found elsewhere. Room 8 - tatty stained wallpaper, stained carpet, large rust stains on radiator and absolutely stunk of sewage -cardboard city or under the arches would be a fair comparison of this room. Was moved but room 8 should never have offered to us because of the smell alone. Room 2 was a little better, at least it didn't stink. Still tatty stained decor, rubbish from previous guests still in waste bin in bathroom and cobweb hanging from light. Our party had 2 other rooms that were not to bad but overall the whole place is tired and in need of some serious TLC. Our hosts were nice and breakfast good. Watch out when booking as breakfast is extra (£7.50 each) and while this is shown on booking (as we found out) it was assumed price was inclusive. All in all I would not recommend until some serious money is spent on the whole place.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hosts and staff were delightful, and very thoughtful. The breakfast and evening meal were very good. Un fortunately the room really needed some TLC. Although clean and warm it looked very tired. In spite of that a perfect stop on the Shropshire Way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I booked this inn through Booking.com as we wanted to stay overnight on 19/4/14 as we were going to a wedding function nearby. We booked an evening meal which was good but the room number8 we stayed in was terrible; it needed decorating and updating-there were stains on the bedroom carpet, cheap lino in the ensuite? and it wasn't very clean,the furniture was cheap and shoddy. The quilt on the bed was thin, the room was cold; we couldn't sleep because we were so cold. We stayed till 6am and went home so we could get some sleep. We did not have a shower as it did not look very clean. The bathroom door squeaked loudly every time it was opened. The room cost £60 and was poor value. We would definitely not recommend anyone to stay at this inn. We were very disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8-not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allan b, Manager at Stokesay Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I am sorry the room did not meet your requirements. However the rooms are clean to a good standard. All linen is brand new and used by most hotels never mind pubs. As we had a fairly long chat on your return from the wedding party, I am disappointed you failed to mention anything to me but are quite happy to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almost there
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stopped here as they are part of the BritStop Motorhome stopover scheme. Glad we did as our hosts were very welcoming the beer was good and the evening meal was excellent. The location is very handy if you are traveling the Welsh Border area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oddsnends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but chose it to meet "halfway"(80miles) with family to exchange Christmas presents. What a lovely surprise the meal was. Beautifully cooked and piping hot. The apple crumble with brandy snap crumble was out of this world. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and very family friendly. Great lunch and great value.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollerwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
442 reviews
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
6.3 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
886 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stokesay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stokesay Inn

Property: Stokesay Inn
Address: School Road, Craven Arms SY7 9PE, England (Formerly Stokesay Castle Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Stokesay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stokesay Castle Hotel Craven Arms
Stokesay Inn Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing