We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better than this!”
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Craven Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
craven arms
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Really feel that it was the best food and service that I've had for such a while!Sunday lunch was delicious.Three courses for less than £13.Amazing!The starter of deep fried Brie beautifully served with garnish,followed by a main course of roast beef,yorkshire pudding,new and roast potatoes,and my favourite red cabbage,perfect!With fresh broccoli and carrots,and ohh that gravy!!I opted for a cheese board,one of the best that I can say that I've had-but then the whole meal was exceptional.




!


,

Ed

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginnyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely worth searching out”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Having driven through beautiful Shropshire countryside we found the Tally Ho Inn and what a find it was. Good "pub grub" with a specials board and lovely friendly staff. It's cozy and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. We will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gnipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

It was my daughters 18th and although they dont normally serve food on a Sunday evening, Ben and Laura kindly agreed to do it for our party of 12.
We had a lovely meal and most of us managed 3 courses. We had a variety of choice from the menu and Specials board with many of us plumping for Roast Beef or Roast Turkey. These were accompanied by carrots, peas and braised red cabbage all beautifully cooked. The birthday girl was given a bottle of wine (which was totally unexpected) and they kindly put candles on her dessert which really made a special evening.
Very many thanks to you all for taking such good care of us

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pub could do with attention to the food”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This is an absolutely divine little pub, gorgeous setting and beautiful exterior and interior decor. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and the Beer is good local tap, I had the Three Tuns Stout which was great. I do feel a little guilty, in light of the great service in saying the food could do better. There were 4 of us and what was good, the battered fish, onion rings, lamb curry, sausage and mash. What was not so good was the brie starter (uncooked in the centre), chicken and ham pie (congealed and dry) and chips (could do with a little more time in the oil).

That said the price was fair at around £60 for two starters, 4 mains, 2 pints of beer, 3 pints of coke and a small lemonade (does no-one sell Sprite?) and I have to say that the friendly staff and lovely ambiance more than make up for any shortcomings in the food. I will definitely go back but I hope the criticisms we have were only one off issues.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craven arms
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Superb value for money.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Tally Ho is a small friendly Inn hidden in the heart of Shropshire-with a big atmosphere,and wonderful food and combined with excellent service,is perfect!!Ordered a mixed grill-and was presented with a feast of 2 lamb chops,steak,gammon,pork chop,garnished with a grilled tomato,peas and home made chips and salad.Wow!!Tasted absolutely delicious!!However,would recommend reserving a table to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginnyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tally Ho Inn also viewed

Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 
Craven Arms, Shropshire
Craven Arms, Shropshire
 
Craven Arms, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing