We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wonderful cottage in great location"”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Craven Arms, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spurs88
Scarborough, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful cottage in great location"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My girlfriend and I recently came back from a 3 night stay in the Byre, the intention being to escape London for a short period. Previous reviews drew me to this property and we really weren't disappointed.
The cottage itself is cosy but comes with a very well-equipped kitchen, ample living space and a comfortable en-suite bedroom; underfloor heating, especially at the time of the year we went at, was a huge benefit!
Location-wise there is a good balance between the cottage feeling isolated in the Shropshire countryside and also having amenities within a 5-10 minute drive. Initially it was slightly tricky to find the cottage (could perhaps do with a larger sign, although we were driving at night), it's a sharp left off from Long Lane soon after passsing the rail crossing and taking a car is definitely recommended. The cottage is close to the pubs/restuarants in Church Stretton/Little Stretton and also the historic town of Ludlow, where there are more expensive restaurants should you wish to dine there. There are also numerous walks in the Hills nearby, which are definitely worth spending a day exploring. A supermarket is also a 5 minute drive away.
The cottage does offer wifi, but we both failed to connect to it, however phone signal for a fairly remote area was excellent.
The owners made us feel very welcome and were always on hand if we needed any assistance, all the above combined to form an awesome break and I would recommend this to couples of all ages!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome (area, cottage and owners)
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Glad to hear you were blessed by your visit to Highgrove Barns. Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky888
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy & Comfortable Holiday Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Byre for a short break - Friday to Tuesday not having really been to Shropshire before. An excellent location, easy to find, with real home from home comforts (the cake was lovely by the way). The Byre is very well equipped with a large bedroom with ensuite shower room (plenty of hot water!) and a main living area with kitchen, dining table and lounge area which stayed lovely and warm throughout our visit. We really found that there was so much to see and do, with too little time to do it on this visit. Ludlow is a lovely town, well worth visiting and the Ludlow Food Centre on the way back to the cottage is fantastic - we went home with a car full of local produce - partridge, wild boar, rabbit - oh and local cider! The Ironbridge Museum passes available for use drew our attention to this property - and we spent a very enjoyable day visiting Blists Victorian Town and the Museum of Iron - several of the attractions still to do ... thank you Rob and Chris for a great short break, we certainly hope to return to your lovely part of Shropshire.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Lovely accommodation, cozy and warm.
Liked least: Can't really see any downside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Sorry for late response. We were pre-occupied at that time with a very poorly Mom in hospital and pleased to see we did not let our standards slip during that trying time and that you really enjoyed your visit to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnpaul0...
Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The living accommodation in the Dairy is not suitable for the less able”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the Dairy for a 4 day stay and the owners made us welcome. The kitchen area was lovely and well equipped as were the bedroom and bathroom and the welcome tray was a lovely touch.. However, there was no mention in the brochure that the only dining area was a breakfast bar with very uncomfortable high stools, which as I have a slight disability problem could not use, we had to rely on the lap trays which were provided, to eat our meals off.. The lounge chairs are Ikea rocker chairs and although fairly comfortable were impossible for me to get in and out of, we ended up taking in a Lafuma chair which fortunately we had taken with us for me to sit on. Unfortunately the underfloor heating in the living room had broken annd although the owners had provided an extra electric fire.the slate floor was very cold. I would recommend this cottage for the young and for the older agile, but not for anyone with any slight disabiility..

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the situation
Liked least: the lounge accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Sorry for the late response to your kind review. Always seeking to provide the best experience to our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in December 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Sorry we hardly saw you as my Mom was seriously ill in hospital at that time. Apologies for not responding earlier to your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bongo60
Leeds
Level Contributor
177 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for Shropshire walks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! We stayed in the Dairy for 3 nights and we had a great time. The cottage was tiny but had everything you could possibly want. The kitchen was very well equipped and the bed comfortable. The underfloor heating was great once we got the hang of it. The owners were very efficient with the booking and left us homemade cake on our arrival. The cottage came with a free pass to the Ironbridge Gorge museums which we took advantage of. If we'd been there longer we would have spent a full day and visited more of the museums. Did some great walks from Church Stretton and also round Stiperstones. The Ragleth Arms in Little Stretton was excellent for an evening meal. Our first visit to Shropshire and we will definitely return.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It makes all the hard work well worth it. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldharryD...
dorset
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“cosy cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

lovely cosy cottage adjacent another and joined to the owners house

Lots of extras inluded games cushions for outside chairs etvc

welcome pack of cake and wine tea bags coffee and milk

very warm good central heating

comfortable bedroom with attractive duvet /bedding

Living room chair and settee rather hard tho and t.v needs updating

Complimentary tickets offerd to Ironbridge altho a little distance farther than would have liked
Hope Rob trims the hedge tho as it is hiding the lovely wenlock hills he is advertising

Owners left us alone which was lovely and it is really peaceful and quiet there

Good fish and chip shops pub etc very close with supermarket in Craven Arms

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the quietness and peace and the lovely decorated bedroom with duvet and extras
Liked least: the uncomfortable conservatory type armchairs and old tv
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Sorry about the hedge, it has bolted this year with the weather. That permitting, it will be done next week, all the garden contractors are running way behind. TV only 8 years old flat screen but outdated by latest digitals. We hate scrapping things that work fine but technology marches on! The Dairy has softer chairs.
We just got awarded our 4 stars again this week by Visit Britain inspector.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenOkeham...
Okehampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“cosy and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011

An ideal place to stay whilst exploring Shropshire. The welcome tray was a lovely touch and the books of walks and information about places to see very helpful. We really loved the big bath towels, so often they're too small.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2011
Thank you Jenny for your TripAdvisor review. We had forgotten you found us through the site. We particularly appreciated your observation on the bath towels as Chris deliberately chose decent size ones as so many places we have stayed at have disappointed in the past.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$103
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing