We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our final stop on a Uk road trip and we absolutely loved it. We had the Barn room, with our dog and it was spacious, clean and well equipped. Numerous extras made such a difference; the cake, the shortbread, the fridge and lots of information.

Karen was very helpful and welcoming and the chickens in the garden were great fun. We ate at two vastly contrasting places; the Lion at Leintwardine, good quality and a lovely spot and the White Horse at Clun, a good, busy, traditional pub with wholesome food. None was as good as the breakfast though; the smoothies and eggs benedict were superb and I loved the porridge too!

We will have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Peter and Brenda
Thank you for writing us such a great review.
It was a pleasure to welcome the 3 of you.
I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and the porridge ( I really think our local organic porridge oats make all the difference ! ) and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at Hopton House. There were four of us, plus dog, so we booked the Barn Room and the Granary Room above. It was absolutely perfect. We had stayed before in the Paddock Room, and feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to view (if not stay in) all three rooms. It is difficult to add anything to the already wonderful reviews that feature on TripAdvisor, because they say it all. Karen’s attention to detail is second to none, and her breakfast menu is so wonderful that we started to plan what we were having on day two before we’d even eaten on day one! The bedrooms and bathrooms are stylish, and immaculate. Nothing is overlooked. Even the views from the windows are a sight to behold. Rolling hills, flower filled meadow, and entertaining chickens running through the spacious garden (with endless places to sit and enjoy even more stunning views!). Don’t worry if you think it might be raining – just pack a large umbrella (or don’t - because even that is provided if needed), and a waterproof coat. Rain was forecast before our weekend (3-5 August), but we saw only a few light(ish) showers, and enjoyed eating outside on the umbrella covered terrace at The Lion at Leintwardine (great food) on Friday evening, and basked in hot sun on the decked area of The Jolly Frog for a late Saturday lunch, where we ate some of the best fish and seafood we’ve ever eaten (we do love our food, and plan our holidays/breaks around it – hence coming back to Hopton House!). We sat on the deck of the Barn Room on Saturday night with a bottle of wine and watched the hills around us turn pink from the sunset and started making arrangements for when we could come back. On Sunday morning we called into the Ludlow Food Centre on our way home and bought picnic food and enjoyed another day in Shropshire before returning home. A perfect weekend, and thank you again Karen for providing such a peaceful and friendly retreat (with the added bonus of wonderful food, best cake you'll ever eat, and homemade shortbread).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisNeilW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you both very much for kind review and for choosing to come back to Hopton House and bringing your friends with you!
I'm glad you were able to dodge the showers.
We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This B&B really sets the standard - and I like to think I have high standards! I don't think there is anything Karen hasn't carefully thought about to create a fantastic guest experience. We stayed 2 nights in the granary room which was wonderful and very relaxing. It seemed to combine the comfort of a small hotel with the intimacy of a B&B, was decorated to a high spec and spotlessly clean. It was all great - the lemon drizzle cake and shortbread on arrival, beautiful towels and linen, a great bath for two (with bubble bath and candles provided), real decaf fairtrade coffee (and a selction of other beverages), lovely relaxing setting (obviously the sunshine was a huge bonus) and just when you think it can't get any better there is Karen's cooking! We are both vegetarian and were treated to a vege menu with more unusual options such as haloumi and tomatoes on brioche or herby mushrooms with poached egg (from the chickens that roam the gardens) alongside full breakfast choices for veges (meat eaters also looked well catered for!). The reviews and the ratings really do say it all. A lot of effort has clearly been put into creating such a fabulous B&B. I am already recommending it to my friends and would certainly book again if I was visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you so much for such a lovely review.
We really so appreciate you taking the time to do that.
I'm also glad to hear you were happy with your vegetarian breakfast. We try to ensure that people with vegetarian and special diets have as many choices as the meat eaters.
We hope to see you again here soon.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Hopton House. The Paddock Room was beautiful, with wonderful views from our own private balcony. The home made lemon drizzle and gorgeous shortbread were a welcome treat. We were blessed with glorious weather, and were able to sit out and watch the sun set with a glass of chilled white wine to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. I chose Hopton House very carefully, because it was a special occasion for us. It was more expensive than some B+B's, but based on the website pictures of The Paddock Room, and the many excellent reviews, I decided to splash out and kept my fingers crossed that it would be worth the extra cost. I am delighted to say that it was worth every penny, and that we came away feeling relaxed and replenished. The massive bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom top notch. Breakfast was really excellent, with lots of choice and home made breads and other delicious treats. I hope we get the chance to visit again in the future.
Karen provided us with helpful local advice, and on our first night we cycled to The Sun at Leintwardine. We sat in the beer garden and ate fish and chips from next door (the pub don't do food, but let you bring in fish and chips), so this was our economy night, and the cider was excellent. On our second night we went to The Jolly Frog, and although not perfect and quite expensive (they did forget about us for a while), we had a very nice meal. We sat up on their raised decking and enjoyed the countryside views in the evening sunshine.
What a great trip, and the surrounding area is stunning. Powis Castle near Welshpool (NT) is great with fantastic gardens, and Croft Castle to the South (NT) was also worth a visit. Walking on the Long Mynd and Wenlock Edge is glorious, and the country lanes were lovely for cycling (especially if you like a few hills).

Room Tip: We stayed in The Paddock Room. It has a beautiful double aspect, with views over the countryside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Hello Gillian
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review and for choosing to stay with us for your silver wedding anniversary.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Sun - it's very popular for a pint of the local Hobsons and fish and chips!
I hope we'll see you again soon.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We chose this B+B based upon TA reviews and as always we were extremely pleased in every respect.
No detail was overlooked and all possible needs were catered for without even asking.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly cleaned and so many extras are provided to accommodate all tastes in coffee/tea and the home made cake and biscuits are delicious and so much better than sellophane wrapped, tasteless/generic versions offered in even 5 star hotels.
Breakfasts are wonderful and you are asked to make your choices the previous day to ensure you are not disappointed.The couples are seated at separate tables-no communal table here.
If you love the quiet countryside with calming views of hills and fields PLUS watching very pretty and unusual chickens from the breakfast room PLUS marvelling at the sheer variety of wild birds that are attracted by a magnificent buffet every morning then this is the place to come to.
I have already recommended it to 3 people I work with.The property does not accept children.

The area is very rural and abounds with a huge variety of walks/hikes , a number of houses and gardens to visit and a good and varied selection of places for an evening meal.
Wales and the Elan Valley reservoirs are close by.
This is a very under populated and peaceful destination and there are few shopping opportunities on a wet day so be forewarned.
Do visit both Hopton House and this area and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: One room in the main house and 2 in a separate converted out building The Barn and Loft rooms are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShropshireLandlady, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you so much for such a fab review!
I do appreciate you taking the time.
I've written a blogpost on my website with suggestions for things to do in the wet weather, though it's 28 degrees C as I'm writing thing :0)
Thanks again
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Hopton House when visitng Shropshire for a family event. The Loft Room had excellent 5 star faciltiies and comfort - very relaxing and welcoming from our arrival to departure. Locally sourced produce for breakfast, including the delightful eggs, was truely delicious. The bed was large and comfortable and, as mentioned by someone else, the fridge in the room was silent! A perfect stay in every sense. Thank you.

Room Tip: Loft room was charming with exposed beams and just full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronacruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Rona
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that next time you're visiting your family you choose to stay with us again.
All the best
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

It was the place I chose to gather confidence with my ability to cope in the outer world. The breakfast was a reward after a long hard sleep in the Barn room. It is wheelchair accessible and dog friendly so you could bring your trusted pet. There is every detail carefully thought of. We felt cosseted. This is a place for a genuine good break with good food and great views!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standup4MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you Laurence for your review.
It's always a pleasure to welcome you here and we're so pleased that we've played a small part in kick starting your holidaying again.
We hope to see you again very soon
With best wishes
Karen x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
7.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
465 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
796 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 9 in Craven Arms
128 reviews
8.1 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Old Downton Lodge
Old Downton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Downton on the Rock
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range: £123 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing