We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All we expected and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We met Karen online first, then in person in the US. It was a pleasure to stay with Karen and Rob at Hopton House in Shropshire! Karen is a wonderful and gracious hostess, and a delightful personality. The rooms are lovely and sparkling clean - fitted with all the amenities one could hope for. And the lemon drizzle cake that greets you on arrival - wow!

Breakfast is sumptuous, with choices from full English to other selections, plus home-baked breads, fruits, homemade marmalade, etc., etc. While dining you are entertained by the bevy of birds attracted to the feeders and cover in the garden, and the household chickens in the yard. If you ask nicely, you can also meet the B&B dogs, Mitzi and Murphy!

Karen was extremely helpful with maps and suggestions for walks and sightseeing. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrewsterHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Scott & Ruth
Thank you so much for your review & congratulations on being Tripadvisor Review no. 100.
It was lovely to see you both again & thank you for making a special effort to come & see us.
I'm glad we lived up to your expectations - always a scary thing when someone has been following us on Twitter for so long :0)
Hope to catch up with you again soon
Karen
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was our first time at Hopton House we stayed for two nights in April and we chose The Barn....... superb! we did not know which room to choose..... we were not disappointed very comfortable warm spacious and a homemade lemon drizzle cake to die for!! everything you need in the room and to top it all a superb breakfast in a calm scenic breakfast room. We did not want to leave........a total chill out place to stay, together with beautiful countryside and various places of interest to visit. We were able to buy some eggs from Karen laid by her lovely chuckies and her homemade marmalade delicious!! Would highly recommend Hopton House,Karen is a lovely host.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you Lesley for your review
So glad that we met your expectations & that you enjoyed the Barn Room.
We hope to see you again very soon
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was our return visit, this time for 4 nights in April. We were warmly welcomed back, found the Barn room at least as good as we recalled and were glad we made our decision! The room is wonderful, comfortable, warm and spacious. Breakfast is fantastic; we tried to vary it, but kept returning to Eggs Benedict. The porridge too is superb.

We really cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Peter & Brenda
Than you for a great review and for coming back to Hopton House.
It was great to welcome you & your lovely dog back.
So glad you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict!
Thanks again
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed for two nights over the Easter weekend in the Paddock room. Lovely double aspect windows with views of fields and mountains beyond. Speckled chickens roaming in the gardens. A huge comfortable bed, huge bath and great shower. Tea, coffee,water and cake. Breakfast menu included blueberry pancakes with bacon and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - both delicious plus generous buffet table. A friendly and warm (but not too pushy) welcome . All delightful. HH is near Ludlow and Shrewsbury and there are lovely walks or drives in rolling Shropshire Countryside. Heartily recommend it for a "getting away from it all" weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 446clairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Hi Claire
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Paddock room with its lovely views & the breakfasts.
I'm sorry we couldn't arrange better weather for you. Hopefully spring will arrive soon.
All the best
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My fiancé and I stayed with you for New Year's Eve 2012. What a great visit, a very comfortable stay, superb room, every extra imaginable even homemade lemon drizzle cake!! The breakfast was another highlight, such wonderful choice! Very competitive price also especially at this time of year. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi Chris
Thank you for your review. It seems a long time since New Year's Eve! I'm very glad you enjoyed everything that Hopton House has to offer.
I'm glad you liked the homemade cake in your room as well as the breakfasts. We do try & offer lots of breakfast choice.
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

One night at Hopton House just isn't enough to really enjoy the surroundings! We stayed in the Barn Room which is both huge and really cosy, with a wonderful bathroom. It was great just to sit around and enjoy the space and the view, eating home made cake or shortbread.

Breakfast was also a delight with wonderful Eggs Benedict for me, and Haddock with poached eggs for my partner.

All in all it's a great place to go to - just to be there!

Room Tip: We had a nose round all the rooms and all are luxurious with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi Julia
Many thanks for the TA review. It was great to see you again and I'm glad you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict - it's a bit of a favourite with many of our guests.
Hope to see you again sometime.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Staying in the Barn room at Hopton House was definitely one of the best b&b experiences we have ever had. From the lovely drive through the charming Shropshire countryside to the welcome from Karen we had a superb stay.

We can only echo what has been said before - the Barn room was really spacious and clean and allowed you your own privacy as it was separate from the main house. The cake and biscuits were much appreciated and instantly devoured. We really loved the room and all its fittings and the bathroom was equally spacious.

Moving onto the breakfast experience - a sumptuous feast in every way. A groaning buffet table filled with cereals, yoghurts, fruit, jams and marmalades and a variety of breads. Then there was the choice of cooked options - too many to choose from on a 3 night stay - everything delicious and the yellowest of egg yolks ever, fresh from the hens you see through the conservatory windows as you eat breakfast. Try the blueberry pancakes with maple syrup and bacon and the smoothie, yum!

There is a lovely walk from Hopton House past Hopton Castle and into Hopton Woods and it is also a short drive to the spectacular Long Mynd, but there is so much beautiful countryside in quiet Shropshire. And you are not far from Ludlow - a lovely town much deserving of its food reputation. A return visit to Hopton House is a must in order to revisit these experiences again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloGupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for your review.
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay along with the breakfasts. Our hens do work very hard to provide those lovely yellow yolked eggs.
We hope to see you again very soon .
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Craven Arms hotels
4.6 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 10 in Craven Arms
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashlea Pools Country Park
Ashlea Pools Country Park
#1 of 6 in Craven Arms
545 reviews
6.2 mi away
Greenway Touring & Glamping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range: £123 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing