We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow , excellent b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow , excellent b&b”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My Husband and I spent 2 glorious nights 24th/26th May13 at Hopton House. We stayed in the Paddock Room, it's beautiful ! The bed is huge,and so comfortable, it was a struggle to drag myself out of it .!
Karen really does know how to look after her guests. Everything was there for you, she thinks of everything.
Only one draw back, Gary will expect me to replicate Karen's eggs benedict.!!
Fantastic food, beautiful room, gorgeous location, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Manager at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Michelle
Thank you for your lovely review.
I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that Gary isn't still expecting eggs benedict for breakfast every morning :0)
Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
134
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in the Barn room for 2 nights. This was a present from our daughter .Well what a treat it was; a large beautifully appointed room ,with a large wet room . The bed was huge and so comfy it was difficult to get up in time for breakfast! So glad that we made it to breakfast as it was delicious . A big choice of cooked food on the Menu. My husband chose the full English which was presented well, and he says it tasted as good as it looked . He loved the cooked tomatoes ,which Karen said were cooked with basil ,olive oil, seasalt and black pepper over. I had blueberry pancakes with Maple syrup, very yummy !! Karen left lots of treats in the room ,fresh fruit ,shortbread ,that melted in the mouth ,1 pint milk ,still and sparkling water in the fridge, lemon drizzle cake ,the best that we have ever tasted ,along with plenty of fuit teas, coffees,tea AND red bush tea ,which is the only tea I can drink . This is the first B&B that has supplied this without being asked . Well done Karen and you deserve a 10 out of 10 for your hard work . It was a pleasure to meet you and enjoy the peaceful surroundings of your house and garden .Thank you for everything .
Hopton House is a MUST for travellers, an experience not to be missed .

Room Tip: the Barn room is set up for easy access for wheel chair users also the bathroom with grab handles an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hello Margaret
Thank you for taking the time to do a review.
It was a pleasure to welcome you both and I'm very glad that it was a successful present.
I'm glad that the cows kept you entertained as well - I shall have to give them a tip :0)
The fresh fruit was part of the in room platter you ordered but we are always happy to put it in a room on request.
It would be great to see you both again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed two nights at this lovely B and B in the Barn Room. There is really nothing I can add to most of the previous reviewers, everything is true. The room is spacious and comfy, we particularly appreciated coming back to sit on the decking and read with a glass of wine before going out for the evening. The breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious; I am a veggie and the choice and taste were brilliant, I really enjoyed the herby mushrooms and home made veggie sausages on the second day. It makes such a change to get something special and not just the default scrambled eggs.

We own our own B and B and this does make us very fussy. We have high standards and sadly we find these are not always met elsewhere. Hopton House and Karen more than exceeded our expectations and we would heartily recommend it. We also thought Shropshire was a beautiful county well worth exploring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilactreelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you Pauline for your review.
It's always a bit nerve wracking to have another B&B owner come & stay so I'm relieved you found us up to scratch.
We appreciate that not everyone wants the full English so try & offer as much choice as possible to everyone who wants ( or needs ) to eat something a bit different.
Hope to see you again soon
Karen x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A thick slice of toasted home made granary bread topped with herby mushrooms and two perfectly poached eggs – delicious! This is just one of the cooked options on offer for breakfast at Hopton House. Of course if you prefer a more traditional dish the full English is quite superb. The orange juice is freshly squeezed and the gorgeous breads and marmalade home made. If you enjoy cereals there’s a full range but we couldn’t resist the lightly poached rhubarb with ginger, the fat blueberries and I topped mine with fruit yoghurt. You get to toast your bread as and when you like it and there was always some other baked goods such as rhubarb and orange muffins or spicy fruit buns on offer – home made of course. If this isn’t good enough you have a table for two with a fabulous view of the garden and surrounding countryside – the garden is a haven for the birds. The hens strut their stuff around the garden and of course they provide the eggs with big yellow yolks for your breakfast.

We stayed 4 nights in the Paddock room - its very light and airy with patio doors to one side leading onto your own balcony. There’s a huge window on another wall again with gorgeous views of the countryside. The bed is huge and comfy. We loved the spacious bathroom with its large walk-in shower - there’s a rain shower option if you prefer it. The bath is huge and double ended and everywhere is spotlessly clean. Toiletries are provided and plenty of towels including flannels.

You get home made cake and shortbread biscuits, bottled water and other little extras in your room - all very nice. The weather was nice for our stay and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony (seat pads and table-cloth supplied) with a glass of wine which we chilled in our silent fridge where you will find your fresh milk for your drinks.

In a nutshell Karen Thorne the excellent owner of Hopton House has thought of just about everything that one could wish for in a B&B. It’s fabulous as 100 people before me have already recorded so look no further – book now you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for your great review.
I'm very glad you enjoyed your food whilst you were staying with us!
It was a pleasure to welcome & get to know you both over the few days you were here and we hope to see you again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We met Karen online first, then in person in the US. It was a pleasure to stay with Karen and Rob at Hopton House in Shropshire! Karen is a wonderful and gracious hostess, and a delightful personality. The rooms are lovely and sparkling clean - fitted with all the amenities one could hope for. And the lemon drizzle cake that greets you on arrival - wow!

Breakfast is sumptuous, with choices from full English to other selections, plus home-baked breads, fruits, homemade marmalade, etc., etc. While dining you are entertained by the bevy of birds attracted to the feeders and cover in the garden, and the household chickens in the yard. If you ask nicely, you can also meet the B&B dogs, Mitzi and Murphy!

Karen was extremely helpful with maps and suggestions for walks and sightseeing. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewsterHouseBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Scott & Ruth
Thank you so much for your review & congratulations on being Tripadvisor Review no. 100.
It was lovely to see you both again & thank you for making a special effort to come & see us.
I'm glad we lived up to your expectations - always a scary thing when someone has been following us on Twitter for so long :0)
Hope to catch up with you again soon
Karen
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was our first time at Hopton House we stayed for two nights in April and we chose The Barn....... superb! we did not know which room to choose..... we were not disappointed very comfortable warm spacious and a homemade lemon drizzle cake to die for!! everything you need in the room and to top it all a superb breakfast in a calm scenic breakfast room. We did not want to leave........a total chill out place to stay, together with beautiful countryside and various places of interest to visit. We were able to buy some eggs from Karen laid by her lovely chuckies and her homemade marmalade delicious!! Would highly recommend Hopton House,Karen is a lovely host.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you Lesley for your review
So glad that we met your expectations & that you enjoyed the Barn Room.
We hope to see you again very soon
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was our return visit, this time for 4 nights in April. We were warmly welcomed back, found the Barn room at least as good as we recalled and were glad we made our decision! The room is wonderful, comfortable, warm and spacious. Breakfast is fantastic; we tried to vary it, but kept returning to Eggs Benedict. The porridge too is superb.

We really cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandbrenda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Peter & Brenda
Than you for a great review and for coming back to Hopton House.
It was great to welcome you & your lovely dog back.
So glad you enjoyed the Eggs Benedict!
Thanks again
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
743 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
8.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
9.3 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
8.9 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing