We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful B&B which ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Craven Arms B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B which ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Great accommodation and great food....the basics of a successful B&B. However it's the extras which make Hopton House so unique.

We stayed for 3 nights in The Barn which is situated across the yard from the main house, where you take breakfast. We had a huge bed, a sofa placed to watch TV, a silent fridge which was very handy, plenty of space for your clothes and a wonderful bathroom with underfloor heating. You don't just find a tray with tea making facilities here, it's a whole table laden with goodies...a wide variety of teas and coffees, a teapot and a cafetiere, a jug of water, a pint of milk in the fridge along with bottled water, water glasses, wine glasses...is there anything Karen hasn't thought of? For those of us with a sweet tooth, there's a whole cake to enjoy and shortbread. Everything is replenished daily apart from the cake. We opted to have platters left on our arrival and these were delicious and plentiful...a Ploughman for my husband and Smoked Salmon for me, along with a whole loaf of bread! We couldn't eat it all so took the remains out with us the following day for lunch. Tip..take a container with you to put some cake in to enjoy while out.

As you are away from any large towns, it does get rather dark outside in the evening but then again Karen has left a torch. Make sure you take a few moments to gaze up at the stars which, having no light pollution, look so much brighter. Another thoughtful touch is the umbrella for those rainy times.

The breakfasts are taken in the main house opposite, in a comfortable oak framed room which has lovely views of the garden and beyond. The food is delicious and filling, certainly setting you up for the day...home made Granola, variety of fresh fruit (we had rhubarb most days), various yogurts and a variety of cooked options, all eaten while watching the chickens and birds in the garden. A wonderful start to any day. Karen does ask for your preferences the night before along with preferred time but we never have a problem with this as it ensures we're not waiting around too long.

So would we return? Definitely.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Barn Room which had a very comfortable, very large bed, a separate entrance and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOL150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for lovely comprehensive review.
We do appreciate it that you've taken the time to write one.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Barn Room and all of the little goodies we supply.
We are very lucky with our clear night skies and no light pollution.
It can be quite amazing to see the Milky Way for the first time!
We look forward to welcoming you back
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
134
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our second time here. We stayed in the Barn, which is extremely convenient for when our dog needs to go out (it opens out onto the garden). This is a huge room, with an equally huge bathroom. Delicious shortbread and lemon drizzle cake provided on arrival, with own stocked fridge. The bed is a) enormous and b) really, really comfortable.
The view up to Clunbury Hill from our room is good but bettered by the view to the hills above Hopton Castle in the breakfast room. There is a wide range of breakfasts - cereals, full English, pancakes with maple syrup and bacon, french toast, porridge, toast, yoghurts etc - all excellent (especially the cinammon cake - recipe on Karen's blog).

Room Tip: If you have a dog (or dogs) the Barn is as good as it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CovSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks Steve for writing us a review and for coming back to Hopton House.
It was a pleasure to see you and your lovely dog again.
We do love to welcome repeat guests back.
I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfasts. As you've noted, I try and serve a few more options than the traditional full Shropshire ( though that of course has pride of place ). The blueberry pancakes are my favourite but the eggs benedict are also very popular.
Hope to see the three of you again next year.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I cannot praise Hopton House Bed & Breakfast highly enough. Karen is a wonderful hostess and nothing was too much trouble, from soya milk both in our room and at breakfast to a novice country walk via Rocke Cottage Tea Rooms, which I heartily recommend. The Granary Room was perfect, hospitality tray superb, breakfast fantastic. It provided us with very much needed respite from all the trials and tribulations of a hectic family life. There is no downside to a visit to Hopton House and I sincerely look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Granary Room which was superb. Based upon our experience I cannot imagine that eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawernce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for posting those great photos.
It looks like you had a fabulous walk.
I hope we will see you again soon
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful stay at Hopton House. The location is beautiful and we started to relax as soon as we arrived. The Granary Room was really comfortable (luxurious!) and we loved and appreciated the attention to detail. Karen was very accommodating with my request for gluten free food (the lemon drizzle cake was to die for!) and she was very helpful in terms of ideas for walks and pubs to go to for our evening meals. The scrambled eggs with salmon, a glass of grapefruit juice and filter coffee was a fabulous start to the day. We really needed the break and this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPH171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay in the Granary Room. I have to say it's my favourite room but they all have their own unique plus points!
I'm glad you enjoyed all the in room goodies and the gluten free breakfasts. We do our best to accommodate special dietary requirements if we know in advance.
Hope we can tempt you back
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Karen has a truly wonderful place set in beautiful countryside. We stayed in the granary room which was spacious and impeccably stylish, a wonderful place to relax and chill out. There are lots of little touches such as the delicious home made lemon drizzle cake which make your stay extra special. The breakfasts are served in their dining room which has stunning views over the hills. The food is excellent with plenty of local produce all home cooked, absolutely delicious. We enjoyed lovely walks and visiting the local market towns in the area where there are plenty of excellent restaurants to explore in the evening. All in all a perfect weekend getaway !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lg1186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the Granary Room.
I'm glad you enjoyed all the little touches including the lemon drizzle cake.
We are very lucky with our views - it's a miracle I get anything done as I spend far too much time staring at them changing daily and watching the birds ( which is probably why I'm a bit late to responding to this review. Sorry for that )
Hope to see you again for some more Shropshire exploring.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My sister and stayed in the tastefully decorated and very comfortable Granary Room.

We were greeted by a wonderful teddy bear who was sat on a furry water bottle in the middle of the massive bed. The bedroom was large with plenty of storage space and seating. The bathroom was fantastic with a contemporary large bath (photo attached) and a powerful shower which you didn’t want to get out of. The room was spacious and spotless and also contained a comprehensive folder giving advice on the room and local area.

When we booked we ordered a salmon platter from Karen which was ready waiting for us in the in-room silent (very useful) fridge. Of course we also had some of Karen’s delicious shortbread but I warn you - don’t start eating it as you won’t be able to stop! There was also a homemade cake, a tray containing a variety of tea/coffee, together with wine glasses and a cork screw.

We really enjoyed the breakfast which was served in a light airy room with beautiful views and lots of entertainment provided by the resident chickens. I would thoroughly recommend visiting Karen so that you can enjoy her fantastic hospitality and the beautiful Shropshire countryside. It is definitely worth visiting nearby Ludlow during your stay.

Room Tip: The best room to stay if you have a dog is the Barn room as this had a wooden floor and is well set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm very glad to hear your sister and you enjoyed the Granary Room and the teddy bear ( handcrafted in Shropshire )
I'm sorry if the shortbread tempted you but I'm sure I heard somewhere that calories on holiday don't count .....
Take Care
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hopton house is located in the very underrated but incredibly picturesque, less well travelled county of Shropshire. We arrived at the house using the great directions from Karen without which you wouldn't know you were arriving at a BnB. The views of the countryside from the garden and house are really stunning and the view from our balcony, the Paddock room, was like a scene from 'Out of Africa'. However instead of seeing the 'big 5' we saw some free range friesians, rare breed chickens and the owner's dogs, Mitzi and Murphy. Our room was massive and included all the fripperies of proper luxury, including freshly baked shortbread, robes and an outsize shower and bath. The bed was super kingsize and facilitated a listless sleep and I wasn't in the least bit put off when I awoke to hear a pin drop onto the floor at the other side of the room. The breakfast was really fresh and cooked to order with home made bread and lots of local organic produce including some of their own eggs. Whilst there we visited the nearby town of Ludlow where I've never seen so much Tudor architecture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Limes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BramblingTweets, Owner at Hopton House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
It's the first time we've been compared to Africa but it was a lovely comparison!
I do hope we'll see you again soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craven Arms
8.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
711 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
843 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stokesay Inn
Stokesay Inn
#3 of 11 in Craven Arms
124 reviews
3.3 mi away
Walford Court
Walford Court
#2 of 9 in Leintwardine
117 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hopton House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hopton Heath, Craven Arms SY7 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Craven Arms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Craven Arms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly luxury B&B nestled in the Shropshire Hills near Ludlow. With sumptuous breakfasts; the full Shropshire with Ludlow sausage of course but also an extensive special menu with lots of vegetarian options. Enjoy watching the birds and our stunning views from your room with a cup of tea or fresh brewed coffee & a piece of homemade cake. This is the ideal getaway from it all relaxing B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hopton House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopton House b&b
Hopton House Hotel Craven Arms
Hopton House Bed And Breakfast Craven Arms, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing