We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Mynd House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mynd House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Thank you to Ffran & Maurice for being such welcoming hosts. Upon arrival I was offered a pot of tea and some biscuits, gratefully received after many hours in the car!

My room was equally as welcoming and tastefully furnished. Brilliant views from my window too!

Breakfast was a delight, I only wish I hadn't eaten so much the previous evening at the pub down the road!

I only satyed for one night, as I was in the area on business, but I would love to return to Mynd House for a weekend break with my wife and really explore the area.

Thanks again

Room Tip: I ate at the Ragleth, literally a stones throw from Mynd House.....great food and service.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul@Unox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynd_House, Owner at Mynd House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

We do appreciate you taking time to write a review. It was a pleasure you and we look forward to meeting your wife on a return visit.
Fran & Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Mynd House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

What can one say about Mynd house that hasn't already been said? Our wonderful hosts could not have done more to make us feel welcome. I felt unwell on our first day and was looked after so well by Maurice and Ffran that I made a super-fast recovery and we were able to visit (again!) wonderful Ludlow, Aardvark Books, Ludlow Food Centre etc. We've stayed at a few good establishments/hotels (and some not so good) but Mynd House is without doubt the best of the best we've ever stayed at. Welcoming, spotlessly clean and well furnished we were quite sad to be leaving - we'll be back soon though. Thank you so much Maurice and Ffran for making the Ludlow area our most "let's go back soon" destination. Oh, must mention the breakfast - fresh fruit, assorted yogurts, soya milk, specially brought in goats' milk for me and a delicious cooked breakfast set us up for the day. Unbeatable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mynd_House, Owner at Mynd House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thankyou so much for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Mynd House - we enjoy your company so much!
We are always more than happy to meet the individual needs of our guests.
Hope to see you again soon.
Fran & Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Mynd House was the first b. and b. we stayed at when we visited Shropshire for the first time, a number of years ago now, and we have come back to it time and time again.
The reasons are numerous - great location, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast and you could not ask for better hosts than Maurice and Fran.
Mynd House is a few minutes walk away from two local pubs, The Green Dragon and the Ragleth, both serving excellent food.
If walking is your thing, which it is ours, then you are really spoilt for choice. And what better way to finish off a day walking than to return to a comfortable room and relax in a soothing bath before a stroll down to the pub!
We have booked up for our next weekend in March, and no doubt will be back again throughout the coming year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms at Mynd House,all of which have been excellent. The Hazler s...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simone q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed three nights here. This house is spacious, airy and well appointed. The breakfast are excellent. Fran and Maurice could not serve us better. We also recommend the Ragleth Inn for superb evening meals.
Going back for he first weekend in October next year - every year (Long Mynd Hike).

Room Tip: Ask for The Lawley room for its King Size bed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farndalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at Mynd House for 3 nights earlier this month. What a find! Sure, it is somewhat more expensive than other similar venues in Shropshire, but worth every extra penny you might spend for the night. Perfect location - below the Long Mynd, opposite Wenlock Edge. Perfect hosts - nothing was too much, the rooms spotless and comfortable, the breakfast menu very flexible and food tasty. Brilliant walks from Little Stretton too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhotographerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed at Mynd House, Maurice & Fran were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Ragleth room which was very nice, great decor and comfy.

Breakfast was lovely and all local produce.

Ate at the Ragleth Arms in the evening which is a 2 minute walk away.

Great day walking and Maurice & Fran let us leave the car at Mynd house even though we checked out. Thank you.

All in all a great stay in fantastic area, will return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at the B&B in August. Maurice & Fran are consummate professionals and truly lovely hosts. The B&B is a credit to them. We originally planned to stay 2 nights but ended up staying 4. The first 2 nights were spent in The Ragleth room and the remainder in The Stretton suite. You might as well be staying in a four star hotel it's that good. Fran tapped into our likes straight away and most days had one or two suggestions of places to visit. The cooked breakfast is great; you could also choose cereals, fresh fruit and yogurt. The house itself is spotless and it was lovely to see the original features and character of the house maintained to such a high standard.

Two local pubs offer good food but if you really want a treat eat at The Spice Corner in Church Stretton, a couple of miles up the road.

The B&B is superbly located for Ironbridge, Shrewsbury and Ludlow.

Maurice & Fran you made our visit to Shropshire all the more enjoyable. Thank you.

Michelle & Michael Gibbons

Room Tip: Ragleth room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Stretton
1.1 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
245 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
454 reviews
11.0 mi away
Travelodge Shrewsbury Bayston Hill
2.1 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mynd House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mynd House Hotel

Address: Ludlow Road | Nr Church Stretton, Little Stretton SY6 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Little Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Stretton
Price Range: £78 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mynd House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mynd House, an award winning Guest House, lies at the foot of the Long Mynd in the unspoilt village of Little Stretton, one mile from Church Stretton.An Edwardian house built at the turn of the century, it provides 8 spacious en-suite bedrooms with stunning views of the surrounding Shropshire hills - we are an ideal location for pleasure or business. We offer a range of Guest House accommodation options ideal for singles, couples, families or groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mynd House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mynd House Hotel Little Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing