We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break at Mynd House Hotel”
Review of Mynd House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mynd House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful break at Mynd House Hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Visited Mynd House Hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed a lovely relaxing break. The hosts, Fran and Maurice, were incredibly welcoming and friendly. We stayed in the Lawley guest room which was really spacious and comfortable and the bed was really really comfy! Breakfast was excellent and beautifully cooked. Our son stayed in a single room, Burway, which was excellent for a single room and he loved it! We also enjoyed a drink or two in their lovely bar!
The location is wonderfully placed for walking from the door and the views from the house are lovely. We can also highly recommend the food in the two local pubs which are only 5 - 10 minutes walk away. We shall definitely return!

Room Tip: Lawley and Burway are excellent. Views from the front of the house are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
90
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me and my family have just returned from staying at Mynd House Hotel for 2 nights and we had an excellent stay. When we arrived we were greeted by Fran & Maurice who made us feel very welcome. Me and my husband were very impressed with our room and we stayed in Lawley.
I don't think the website pictures do it justice as the décor has changed and is different to what it looks like on the website and is absolutely lovely.
There was tea and coffee facilities and the minibar had a great selection of drinks and snacks.
Fran and Maurice were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast in the morning was excellent and cooked to a very high standard using local produce and there was a good selection of cereals. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillyb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just had a lovely weekend away at Mynd House, the hosts were super making us feel at home without being intrusive. The B&B was spotlessly clean, comfy beds, scrumptious breakfast, fabulous location, secure parking... will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memesparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Cochin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My partner and I have just returned from our friends wedding after staying at Mynd House Hotel for 2 nights. I can honestly say that I have never felt so comfortable and welcomed in any other hotel I have ever stayed in. Fran & Maurice were super hosts and there kindness and warmth was much appreciated. They helped us feel relaxed as we were all nervous about speeches etc and Fran even sewed a button on to our grooms shirt as it pinged off just before we were about to depart! It was also one of our parties birthdays on the morning of the wedding and they presented him with a little birthday cake at breakfast on the morning of the wedding!!!! Such a lovely touch! We sayed in a room named Lawley. It was decorated to a very high standard with gorgeous wall paper (getting some for our new house) The biggest bed I have ever slept in which was incredibly comfortable, super super clean with white crisp bed sheets. There is a mini bar fridge in the room which we didnt use but works on an honesty principle. It is stocked with fantastic local ales and other treasures and treats!!! Breakfast was awesome and filling. Fresh strawberries and juicy watermelon with a huge array of cereals locally sourced and then the cooked breakfast!! Locally sourced produce cooked to your preference, Amazing, couldnt ask for more. We will definately stay here again when we visit the area and would like to thank Fran and Maurice for looking after us and just being fantastic!!!

You will not be dissapointed if you stay here!!!! Drew, Mel and Bean x

Room Tip: I looked at 4 rooms. They were all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewsifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

What can be said about the Mynd House B&b, that other guests have not said. We stayed for two nights in the Hazler suite. This is a large room with double spa bath and a lovely, light and airy sitting room, with fridge, which contained various bottles of wine etc., on a honesty payment basis and a small jug of fresh milk, complimentary water. Tea and coffee making facilities with lots of different herbal teas. We do not drink these so, once we had unpacked, I asked Fran if we could have more "ordinary tea bags", as I call them. No problem, loads of them when we arrived back in after walking into Church Stretton. We ate at the Ragleth Inn which was recommended by Fran, on the two nights, excellent food there. Breakfast at the Mynd is wonderful, any kind of cereal that you may want, fruit juice fresh fruit, and perfect English cooked breakfast with the most amazing sausages, THANKS MAURICE FOR THOSE.
Everywhere in this B&B is spotless, the bed linen is crisp & white and the towels lovely & fluffy.
However many stars Fran & Maurice have been awarded at this establishment they deserve more, I personally would give them 10. We will be back. Go there and then you will understand why every reviewer gives such enthusiastic reviews.Trouble was, I did not want to go home. THANKS FRAN & MAURICE, HOPE THE WEDDING WENT WELL.

Room Tip: Try any room, I am sure you will not be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Once again Fran and Maurice excelled with their hosting skills, well thought-out rooms, wonderful breakfast with plenty to eat and an extensive choice of local produce. We arrived on a hot, sweltering afternoon and invited to take tea (or coffee) on the terrace, fantastic! Rooms are spotless and have everything you could possibly wish for. We cannot praise Fran and Maurice enough for again making our stay so enjoyable. We revisited our usual Ludlow and area haunts but also a brilliant Antique 'superstore' at Church Stretton which was well worth a look around. Always plenty to see and do in the area and Fran/Maurice have an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area. We can't wait to return and hope to do so in the not too distant future. Stress free and real value for money, spot on. NB: excellent, well thought out, veggie breakfast as well as the 'full English' on offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished to the highest standard, would recommend all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Fran and Maurice were fantastic hosts and I very much appreciated the pot of tea and biscuits after a hot day walking and driving. My room was at the back so nice and quiet. Had a bath too which was very welcome!! The room was immaculate as was the rest of the premises. I was directed towards the two nearby pubs for evening meals although I only used the excellent Ragleth Arms. I was generally made to feel very welcome. No question where I will stay if and when I return to this beautiful part of England.
My advice: Go there and stay here!

Room Tip: The back is away from the main road, although that probably makes little difference as Little Strett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Stretton
1.1 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
10.5 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 22 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.2 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#16 of 22 in Church Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mynd House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mynd House Hotel

Property: Mynd House Hotel
Address: Ludlow Road | Nr Church Stretton, Little Stretton SY6 6RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Little Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mynd House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mynd House, an award winning Guest House, lies at the foot of the Long Mynd in the unspoilt village of Little Stretton, one mile from Church Stretton.An Edwardian house built at the turn of the century, it provides 8 spacious en-suite bedrooms with stunning views of the surrounding Shropshire hills - we are an ideal location for pleasure or business. We offer a range of Guest House accommodation options ideal for singles, couples, families or groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mynd House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mynd House Hotel Little Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing