We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful haven.”
Review of The Waterdine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Waterdine
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay and an even better place to eat. Afternoon tea came with delicious home made scones and dinner was as good as you'd find in a 5* restaurant. The only improvement my husband would like is draught beer in the bar. Good wine list. By the way the portions are generous, how anyone could say they are small is a mystery.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallyMumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review, both Isabel and I are please that you enjoyed your visit. We regret that we had to discontinue draught beers in order to control the quality on low turnover. I know that the alternative bottled local ales will not meet the expectations of a real draught ale aficionados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

I don't normally write reviews, but I can' believe that anyone could leave this place hungry or find the food unsatisfactory. The portions are plenty big enough and the food is fabulous. This is an independently owned hotel in an old building and so it's quirky. I'ts not going to be the same as every boring chain hotel you walk into, but therein lies it's charm.
This is a lovely place to stay and I go back there whenever I can.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Olivebranch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Loved every minute of our relaxing break. Great for relaxing, walking or running. Food is excellent and a very warm welcoming atmosphere!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmabirmingham_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for your review I am glad you managed to relax and enjoyed the food, we do try to make our guests as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Don't arrive with a healthy appetite, the quality of the food is very good but the portions small to border line mean by most standards. Disappointingly few vegetables, especially as the website features a productive garden, and there is no option to purchase more as a side dish. The overall atmosphere is more akin to a country pub than a quality restaurant. Staff were friendly but few, not professional and seldom seen during the meal. Having ordered a bottle of champagne we were told that the wine list we had been given was actually 10 year old an that the prices were higher - why would there be a 10 year old wine list at hand that could be so easily confused with a current one! The wine list overall was very poor, limited, and approximately 95% of wines new world. All bottles, three in total, were presented open, not usual, and not properly served at the table. Wine prices are marked up by 300% to 400% . Overall a disappointing experience and not value for money.

What we had was well cooked and delicious but the quantites were mean.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopefultravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for your review, we do try to meet the expectations of our guests, in your case we obviously failed, for this I must apologies.

I am happy you thought the food was good even though the portions were too small for you, it is not a matter of cost, but rather what we believe is enough, something we do not in every case get right, often people tell us us the portions are too big.

There is no option to buy separate portions of vegetables as we would not make a charge for this should a guest wish for more. Thank you, having seen your comment I will put an appropriate mention on the menu to make this clear.

That evening we had called in a waitress who had not worked with us before, unfortunately she picked up the old wine list we had been checking for the details of a particular wine and gave that to you by mistake. Of course ten years ago all prices were much lower than today.

We do try to keep our wine list relatively small with 60 wines in total, we also change it quite often, although we do offer some new world wines, we also carry the more traditional French, Italian, Spanish and Alsace wines, even one from the Lebanon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Despite being shown in the major food guides as serving lunch Thur - Sun, this restaurant with rooms is definitely not open for 'walk ins'. You must book in advance.
This can be most confusing and indeed aggravating when as a hungry diner you are turned away by the owner after a not inconsiderable journey full of culinary anticipation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank cannytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for your comment about booking, I am sorry you travelled to us without booking and found on arrival we were unable to accommodate you.

We do make it clear to all guide books that booking is essential and have done so for he past 6 years. We like you, find it very annoying when they do not print that information, as it leads to a wasted and disappointing journey for their readers and our prospective guests.

I will note that we do not pay to go in any guide books and did ask one in particular to remove our entry several years ago, they have until this year refused to do so, all that time they have been printing incorrect information, we found were powerless to stop them doing so despite several letters of compliant from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

As very amateur birders we were thrilled to see a red kite flying over the valley as we ate our delicious breakfast at the Waterdine.
We stayed for dinner, bed and breakfast in this quiet restaurant with rooms in an out of the way and beautiful village on the Shropshire/Welsh border. The rooms are simple and traditional, but warm and comfortable with vase of country flowers to greet us. The three course dinner good and generous. A very nice breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly service. We enjoyed some local walks and were lent a map to help us find our way.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterdine, Owner at The Waterdine, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the upper Teme Valley and got to spot one of our recent arrivals, more Red Kites has been moving into this area for the past 4 years and now we see them most days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Tucked in the fecund folds of the Shropshire hills lies this tiny gastro pub run by Ken and his wife. It is a long way from anywhere of any significance but it lies in an area of outstanding natural beauty and close to the Jack Mytton Way and the Offa's dyke path. The welcome is natural and genuine. The beam ceilinged rooms are basic but very comfortable. It isfor the food, however, that the world beats a path to this door. Using fresh local game and Cornish sea food the cuisine is French inspired. We arrived to the smell of fantastic baking. You walk past the kitchen to get up the narrow stairs giving you a chance to see in and chat to the avuncular Ken at work.For Dinner we had Foie Gras, and Haddock and Scallop Chowder as starters. Roast Pheasant and Confit of duck for mains. They were fantastic. Desserts were exquisite. The surroundings are unpretentious and simple, the waiting on table straightforward and polite. No snobby maitre d here, just great , great food. This is one of the best meals I have ever eaten. Breakfast is excellent too. Go! Well worth the trip. £30 dinner, £80 DB&B

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ajea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Waterdine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterdine

Address: Nr Knighton, Llanfair Waterdine LD7 1TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Llanfair Waterdine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Waterdine
Price Range: £34 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterdine 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterdine is a 15th-century Welsh long house originally built as a drovers Inn, and extended 100 years later. It still retains many of its original features leaded windows, slate floors, the original brick floor in the old tap room, open fire places - now with wood burners installed. Each of our bedrooms is individually decorated and furnished, to create a warm and welcoming cottage style atmosphere. Every room has en-suite bathroom or shower room Satellite television tea and coffee making facilities etc. All have views of the surrounding countryside. Ken, who is in charge of the kitchen, is an internationally renowned chef - he was the first chef to open a restaurant in Ludlow in 1994, gaining international recognition and many prestigious awards for his cooking at the Oaks. Our menus, based as they are on home grown (from Isabel’s garden) and local or organic produce, evolve with the seasons as the produce becomes available, seafood is delivered fresh off Cornish day boats. The restaurant is open to non-residents as well as house guests offering lunches and dinners throughout the year - please note bookings only. The Waterdine is set in mature gardens, which during the summer make a wonderful place to sit with your pre-dinner drinks whilst you choose you dinner from our seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Waterdine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterdine Llanfair Waterdine, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing