We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast Experience at the Plume of Feathers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plume of Feathers
Ranked #6 of 8 Much Wenlock B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast Experience at the Plume of Feathers”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had read some poor reports of this place but needing a location close to where I was visiting I went ahead and booked, poor reports I read were nearly all unfounded, bedroom was clean with good quality bed linen and a comfortable bed. A little spoilt with minimum soap/shower gel being available and no power to the shower, just a trickle of what was hot water. Considerable amount of noise in the night from fellow guests with very creaky floor boards and rather thin walls.
Staff all very friendly, I had no issues with check in or check out times. Breakfast very good and staff attentive, a little more lighting would help and something to improve the help yourself section for tea, coffee and cutlery.
Nothing that couldn't easily be put right.
There seems to be a lot of flies in the lounge area, and it all looks as though it needs a bit of a freshen up.
However I would not put anyone off from staying.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter, although some ear plugs will help reduce the noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    30
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
24
52
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have rated this accomodation as poor! which to be honest is generous!
You can't book in between 1500 hrs and 1700hrs? yet still pay to vacate at 10am? a 17 hour day?
Visual exterior? broken barrels not replaced , straw everywhere, builders rubbish left outside entry. AND this is the good bits?
The room, ours was adjacent to the main road, double glazing? I don't think so, I have heard less noise from F1 at Silverstone. Facilities? not even a small bar of soap, cleanlness! I cleaned the toilet surround, 'nice antique 'lino' on the floor.
Sleeping ? must be the worst mattress (or cheapest) I have slept on for 20 years. First night I tried, and was very tired. Second night (ok but I had paid in advance) I slept on the top of the bed using the duvet to protect me from the mattress springs!
Room facilities Wifi! you're having a laugh! A 1950's dining chair (wonderful for two) a chest of drawers, two 'bedside cabinets and bob's your uncle. OK but my booking from booking.com states VALUE DEAL! (Who for)
Breakfast?? NO tables laid? talk about DIY Coffee ? open tin and push pump for water.
Fresh fruit, pastries, you are having a laugh!
Cooked breakfast NO COMPLAINTS, Wow , how about a large plastic bottle of Daddies Sauce?
Breakfast ok accompanied by tunes from the cleaners vacuum .
You get whaT YOU pay for? Well I have been away on 10 occasions in the last 3 months, between Norfolk and London and this was the dearest and worst accomadation I have had.
I would normally put this down to experience and move on, yet have been appalled by the positive reports for this accomodation? 10 out of 10 WHAT? complaints about Wifi, water pressure etc etc yet no notice appears to have been taken by the management. AND reports that people will return??? bring back Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frederick111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danieldr_13, Owner at The Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Customer,
You have clearly had in your opinion a poor experience with us. What is most disappointing is that at no point during your stay did you raise any of these issues with us when we could have addressed them such as moving you to a quiter room, helping with wifi etc. For your clarity and that of our potential guests please allow me to explain:

Our other reviews and that of our restaurant reflect the continual positive feedback that we receive daily by people who don't subsequently post and we thank you all for your kind words and support.
The nearest hotels to us in Much Wenlock charge £100+ per evening, we believe £60 reflects a value offer.
We are in the country near farm land, straw can blow on to site from time to time.
We don't own the building and are not allowed to change the windows.
We have agreed with our landlords to fully update the plumbing in Sept in response to customer feedback.
We make no secret of our location, the booking.com photos clearly show us next to a road.
Our wifi works perfectly 98% of the time, occasionally the extenders need a re-boot but we only know if we are told.
Our breakfast service is a buffet style for cold breakfast and we serve hot breakfast fresh to order. Brown sauce can be served in a ramkin upon request. Fresh fruit is always available we have never advertised that pastries were.
We have to open our business at 12PM, we need to clean it in the morning, We have just bought a low noise vaccum.
We provide mixed use shower gel in every room.
Kind regards, Dan Drayton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Twelve of us stayed here on Saturday night, and were very impressed. The rooms are adequate, clean and well decorated, with high quality bed linen. The bathrooms are not so good, water pressure very weak, but we now know that are working on this.
The staff were so friendly and the evening meal was excellent. Breakfast was good and with fabulous views.
A really good heotel to stay in and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stopped here on our way back from Iron Bridge and was so glad we did. Staff were really friendly, food was tasty, good quality and service was quick. The garden is really lovely, so peaceful with such a scenic view. Would definitely recommend here for some good quality country pub food!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and myself stayed for one night in room 8. which was adequate. It had recently had a "lick of paint" inside. The bed was quite comfy. The flat screen TV was ok. Brew making facilities were fine.A couple of bisquits would not have gone amiss though.
A light and a shaver point above the mirror in the bathroom would have gone down well.
There was no evacuation guidance on the inside of the door like in most hotels.

The restaurant had a reasonable choice on the menu for dinner. The pork loin was excellent.
The wine list was adequate. The full english breakfast was lovely.

The staff were very pleasant and efficient. The bar area was quite welcoming and the drinks selection was good.

Not a good idea to try walking the mile uphill to Much Wenlock as there is no footpath at the side of this very fast road. There is i have been told, a path across the fields however not great in the dark.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jurassicspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

If you are looking to stay somewhere that ticks all the boxes for quality
Friendliness
Cleanliness and comfort
Good food and an exceptional breakfast
well stocked bar and good meals
plenty of parking and easy access
Value for money
this is the place but keep my secret I want a room next time I'm in the area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We called here on the off chance of getting a room for the night with our friends. We were greeted by a lovely lady who was in a meeting with the chef but was very helpful! The room was Very clean with everything you need. the only downside was the shower lacked power. The food was Devine and breakfast was good!! Would stay again defiantly if in the area!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Babyfarmer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
1.6 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
111 reviews
6.0 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
906 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
155 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plume of Feathers

Property: The Plume of Feathers
Address: Harley, Much Wenlock SY5 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plume of Feathers is located on the A458 between Bridgnorth and Shrewsbury, making this the ideal location for any type of stay at the motel. Whether you are on business or touring the area, we welcome you to stay in one of our 9 letting rooms. Take advantage of the large free carpark and Country Pub & Dining food and drinks selection during your stay. Table reservation is recommended to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your The Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plume Of Feathers Hotel Much Wenlock
The Plume Of Feathers Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing