We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful stay”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Much Wenlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“We had a wonderful stay”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hosts, John and Hannah, made us feel very much at home throughout our stay.
The roomin the Fox Inn was clean, charming and fabulously decorated. Everything that you may require was in place. Breakfast was excellent. We also stayed one night for a three course dinner and I must say that the food was outstanding and superb! We had a wonderful stay and I highly recommend the Fox Inn to anyone. I can honestly say that the hosts added that extra touch which made our romantic getaway trip even more superb!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    92
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
217
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

just returned from a 2 night stay at the fox inn,everything about the place is perfect.very pleased with the spacious bedroom and so glad we ate in the hotels restaurant on both nights.the food was some of the best we have tasted(especially the sauces).the staff are so helpful.would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guernsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We spent a relaxing couple of days being looked after by John and Hannah. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the dinner menu superb.

Helpful?
Thank Gilliancrantock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here weekend of 24th and 25th of Feb after booking a bargain break.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the manager Chris who gave us all the information we needed and showed us to our room which was well maintained and had everything we needed for our weekend stay.

After settling in we went down for a drink in the lovely bar. Here we met John, the proprieter and chef. He was very friendly and again, full of information on the local area and kindly lit the open fire even though we were the only customers in at that time.

The first evening we decided to try the early bird menu (£12 per head for two courses). We were blown away by the quality and presentation of the food, it was the best i've ever tasted!

On our second evening we tried the a la carte menu which averages at around £6 for a starter, £17 for a main and £6 for dessert. Again, we were extremely impressed with the high standard and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

On both mornings we enjoyed a delicious breakfast which included a full english, cereal, toast and preserves and tea and coffee.

Although we wouldn't normally spend this much on a meals out, i will definitely be returning again on special occasions as it is worth the extra cost.

Overall we had one of the best weekends away we have ever had and this is due to the lovely staff, outstanding food and great service provided by all at the Fox.

If you are looking to stay in Much Wenlock, this is where you should stay, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Having just returned from a lovely weekend at The Fox Inn I felt compelled to recommend this cracking little B&B.

The B&B part however is a little misleading, as to me one of the best features of The Fox Inn was the restaurant. We dined there on the first of the two nights that we stayed, and had it not been for us already having plans we'd have done so again on the second night too as it was that good! Steak was fantastic, salmon starter a delight, and deserts were great too.

The place itself is, as others have described, 'quirky' and I'd add to that 'charming'. The owners have clearly added some really nice little touches in terms of design which make for a great blend of old and new. Our room was more spacious than you'd expect from an older building and benefited from an ensuite with bath! The last five or more times we've been to b&b's the best we've had was an ensuite with shower so it was nice to have!

Obviously the building dates back centuries, and there are reminders of this throughout with exposed beams and 'mind your head' door frames. Being 6ft 4 I tend to have to duck anyway, and I don't think there were many of us around in the 1600's so it was nice not to be the only one having to do the limbo! This and a number of other little things really make this an interesting place to stay.

The village (well, minature market town) of Much Wenlock is a really interesting place in itself, with some fascinating buildings and a lot of history - most noteably the place in which the modern olympics were founded. You can follow the 'olympic trail' around the town, and perhaps as we did you can stop at all of the nice little cafe's pubs and eateries as you go. I make it sound like a long trail when in reality it is probably only a mile, in that time we must have stopped for at least 3 cream teas, 4 beers and a Sunday lunch!

Very close by you have the likes of Ironbridge with the wonderful Blists Hill and the working 'Victorian Village', Shrewsbury is only 12 miles away and there are loads of really nice little villages like Ludlow within a short distance.

This a really nice place to stay and I'd thoroughly recommend having a weekend away at the Fox Inn.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 which was nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kieran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Last week (Jan 2012) I had the pleasure of staying at The Fox Inn in Much Wenlock. I wanted to take my girlfriend for a romantic getaway out in the country, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Wenlock seemed to be a perfect place as it is a small village, but has a regular bus service (every hour) from the nearby train hub in Shrewsbury.

We were greeted on arrival by the head chef (and probably proprietor), John, who was a very friendly and energetic man. His warmth was a lovely change from the clinical reception of a city hotel worker and we were instantly made to feel very welcome. Any needs were instantly catered for. One example of this is that we asked if there was any raspberry jam at breakfast but there wasn't any. Later that day when we returned to the hotel, John greeted us and gave a sachet of the aforementioned jam to my girlfriend, so that she would have it in her bag for breakfast the next morning. Incredibly thoughtful and totally unexpected.

Our room was very nice and clean, with a mountain of cushions on the very comfy bed.

We spent the day carrying out one of the local walks over Wenlock Edge, which has some stunning views of the local hills and countryside. Afterwards we had a look round some of the local shops in the village before heading for a three course meal at the inn. The food was absolutely delicious. Three courses and nothing to fault. I fully recommend the starter of black pudding and smoked bacon filo pastry parcels, which was easily the nicest thing that I have eaten for a long long time.

We had a wonderful stay and would fully recommend The Fox to any couple looking for a quite romantic retreat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_blind_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Arrived to find this quirky little hotel in the heart of a friendly little village. Was warmly welcomed by John who made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The decor throughout was inkeeping with the style of property and had some very lovely touches. In particular, Hannah has thought of many little things (especially for the ladies) that not even a 5 star hotel would offer. The bathrooms were stocked with personal hygiene items that proves the owners have gone that extra mile.
It was warm and inviting and loved the creaky floors and oldness of the building.
Breakfasts were superb, catering for everyones needs. The evening menu offers a variety of freshly cooked dishes from local sources. Prices were a little expensive however, it is totally inkeeping with the prices within the town.
The room was warm and very clean and to a high standard. But please be aware, the building is old and creaky (which adds to the character). So if you want complete silence, this is not the place for you.
John, Hannah and the assistant manager, Chris were extremley hospitable and couldnt do enough to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.
Theres a couple of lovely pubs a minutes walk away with open fires and good pub grub. Theres isnt allot to do within the village so is perfect if you want a couple of days away to relax. Would recommend visiting Bridgenorth, it has old and new shops there for you to mooch around.

Overall, a very pleasant trip, even though there was horrendous winds and rain, it didnt dampen our stay.

Room Tip: Room 4, lovely big room with Sofa, however does not have a fixed standing shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.2 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
114 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Talbot Inn
The Talbot Inn
#4 of 6 in Much Wenlock
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#8 of 8 in Much Wenlock
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: 46 High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
The Fox Inn Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing