We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and warm welcome”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Much Wenlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had a wowcher deal for a two night stay and the room was spacious if a little querky. The hotel is quite an old building so the beams and the uneven floor are to be expected. The decor was a little tired but the rooms were clean and comfortable although our bed had a definite creak. The restaurant was fine and we had a lovely meal although the desserts were rather small and a little disappointing for the price. Breakfast was well cooked and the owner chef very accommodating when my wife asked for a gluten free meal. The inn is well positioned to explore the village of Much Wenlock

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a Wowcher deal so can't really complain for the price. However,if I paid the correct price I would be very disappointed.This eclectic hotel which means nothing matches is in dire need of a face lift and could be very nice indeed a major need is a decent extractor as the whole hotel smells of frying.

We had dinner the first night ribeye steak which was lovely and cooked just right the hand cooked chips however were not cooked properly at all and the home cooked pud NOT home cooked as I was lead to believe..Like the hotel the menu is all over the place which is a shame as we would probably had a meal the second nite of our stay Don't let this put you off though its worth a try i .Breakfast on the other hand was very good.

John when he is not trying to be funny at your expense is very nice, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooksie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had a super meal at the fox.
Received a really warm welcome. Nice bar for pre-dinner drink then into the beautifully decorated restaurant. Cosy but not too intimate.
Nice mix of traditional, French and Italian style food choices.
Our meals were really well presented, very tasty and the service was excellent, nothing seemed too much trouble and the Chef seemed sincerely interested in what we thought.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Wonky floors, creaky doors help to make this a gem of a hotel, full of character. The décor is eclectic and interesting. The owners make you feel very welcome. The food in the restaurant is second to none, one of the best meals we have had in a long time. I would recommend booking a table in the restaurant when booking your room as it is very popular and you won't want to be disappointed. If/when we return to this part of the country we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSmiths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Fox for our first anniversary weekend. From the moment we arrived Hannah made us feel so welcome, showing us to our room and giving us a little info on the local area. We stayed in room 1, a quirky little room! The floor is far from flat and being 8 months pregnant it was quite a challenge getting out of bed!! However bearing in mind this is a hotel where the majority of it was built in the 1600s this is more of a quirk than a disadvantage!!!
We ate both nights in the hotel restaurant. John the owner and chef is not only one of the nicest people we've ever met but also an extraordinary chef! He worked at the Savoy don't you know!!! We really didn't feel the need to go anywhere else when the food was of such high quality and so reasonably priced.
All the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay a memorable one.
We really can't rate this hotel highly enough and hope to return in the future.
Thank you so much John and Hannah for making our stay so pleasurable and for making us feel so welcome.
We'll let you know if the baby is a pink or blue bundle!!!
Jenn & Dave

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jennypenny01235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Fox for two nights on our anniversary and had a lovely time. The inn is quirky but beautifully and tastefully decorated and comfortable. From the moment I called to book nothing was too much trouble and I felt that we had been given great service even though we had booked through a voucher offer. We ate at the Fox one evening and were seated in the little ante room which was lovely and private and was the perfect anniversary meal, the food was amazing and the service impeccable. The room and bathroom were clean and warm with great character. The only tiny minus is that the room had a very old TV with limited channels but this is really not an issue at all. The owner and staff were very helpful and friendly and we hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaddyGriffWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First impression was walking uphill in the bedroom the floor was that uneven - what a great place!
Rooms beautiful and well decorated, very comfy bed.
Fab location right in the centre of Much Wenlock.
We ate here at night, food was v lovely and not bad value for money.
Owners very nice and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.2 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
123 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Plume of Feathers Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Talbot Inn
The Talbot Inn
#3 of 6 in Much Wenlock
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wenlock Studios
Wenlock Studios
#1 of 6 in Much Wenlock
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: 46 High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Much Wenlock
Price Range: £70 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
The Fox Inn Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing