We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Much Wenlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 24th August. We stayed in room 1 which had bags of character ... sloping floors and beams.
The whole place is decorated beautifully and the bar area is a lovely place to spend the night.
Mick, Sarah and Paige are the perfect hosts!
Breakfast is high quality and plentiful.
Definitely the place to stay if visiting Much Wenlock.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    88
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
203
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Fantastic little hidden gem, the inn is beautiful and rooms are stunning, spacious comfortable and many lovely personal touches. Staff are friendly helpful and the excellent service makes a stay here an absolute must, then factor in the lovely bar and impecable fresh honemade food and you simply cant go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heathermichelle1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppo74, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review, as we have only recently taken over this Inn, to know that you enjoyed your stay with us makes all the recent hard work worthwhile. We would love to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I loved this hotel, it is a beautiful period building dating from the early 17th century, with many of it's original features including wooden beans and sloppy floors; my bed was levelled with carefully placed books! The owners and staff were incredibly friendly ad the food was great :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raychel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppo74, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi, thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our quirky rooms comfortable, we hope to welcome you back very soon. The whole team are working very hard to make our visitors stay a good experience and your comments are very pleasing. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pretty place and building. Warm welcome and plenty of choice of drinks. Tablecloths...a pleasing rarity these days. Gorgeous pork dinner and lots of hot vegetables. Beef was lovely too. Very reasonably priced. clean toilets. Will be returning.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over night....just stopped for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank melaniej74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a lovely stay at The Fox, beautiful rooms with extremely comfy beds and a delicious breakfast served in the morning. The owners were fantastic, welcoming and very helpful - if you're visiting Much Wenlock this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Called in for lunch saturday everything superb, the new owners have turned place round, it is looking great and very clean and lovely atmosphere food highly recommend, Sarah and staff very attentive, can't wait for next visit when I visit much wenlock

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just had a Groupon two night b&b stay at The Fox Inn in Much Wenlock. We had room 7 which was at the front of the Inn overlooking the road but no noise problem as there seemed to be very little traffic. The room was comfortable and had a bath but no shower facility - which was a shame. The breakfasts were good but there didn't seem to be any choice on offer. The landlord was friendly and informative, giving good advice about local walks. Much Wenlock itself is a smashing little place, full of character with five pubs/hotels serving good ales and food. There is also a very good Indian restaurant called Bilash. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 7 doesn't have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.2 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
13.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Plume of Feathers
The Plume of Feathers
#5 of 9 in Much Wenlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: 46 High St., Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
Fox Hotel Much Wenlock
The Fox Inn Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing