We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good”
Review of The Copper Kettle

The Copper Kettle
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Popped in this morning ordered 1 latte & 1 tea. My latte had lipstick on the mug the waitress noticed it and changed with out me asking , It was the worst latte I ever had and my wife's tea was so weak

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnjoan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    47
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I love The Copper Kettle. A friend and I meet there for lunch every few months and we've been going for years. It's a warm traditional tea room with an open fire. There is an outside terrace which is festooned with flowers and is a lovely suntrap for the summer. The service is efficient and discreet. You will not see a mug here! Its so quaint and the food is lovely. If you're a cake lover you must go just for these!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mum's tea”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Took my Mum here for afternoon tea recently and was pleased. Our family lived in Much Wenlock when I was a kid, and Mum could remember the prior owners of this establishment when it wasn't a café. It gave her lots to talk about and she enjoyed her birthday tea. Great cakes!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geogteacher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“lunch disappointment”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Can't rate it for it's name as a tea room, but very disappointed regarding lunch fare. Had bacon and lentil soap which tasted like unseasoned carrot and potato soup with a few tiny shreds of bacon in it.... for £4.95 a piece!! Both spoons which were given to us by the waitress were not properly washed, having dried remains of other soup on them.

Perhaps it's ok for tea and cake, but don't bother for anything else!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ejn1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We dived into The Copper Kettle as it looked busy and welcoming. Sure enough we only just managed to get a seat in the conservatory at the rear. As one reviewer has said its like a tardis. Not particularly disabled friendly as with older buildings floors are uneven with small steps to different levels but worryingly for some the toilets are located down a flight of stairs.
Service was brisk. Cutlery was dumped on the table but given the cafe was packed this is excusable. The food arrived in good time: three cottage pies and one jacket potato with bacon and cheese. All hit the spot. Only criticisms were that the potato looked microwaved not finished off in the oven and the amount of carrots served with the cottage pies was frankly ridiculous ( too many). If you are of a generation taught to clear your plate the portions can be a little intimidating.
No room for sweet but the cakes looked home made and appetising.
Not cheap but we felt it was value for money. They don't take cards but as the proprietor will tell you there is a cash point opposite.
Enjoyable and recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CameraTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Copper Kettle also viewed

Much Wenlock, Shropshire
Much Wenlock, Shropshire
 
Much Wenlock, Shropshire
 

Been to The Copper Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing