We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deals”
Review of Wenlock Edge Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wenlock Edge Inn
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good deals”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have visited this pub quite a few times now and more often than not the food has been really good. The pub itself is a bit out the way, being on the main road between Much Wenlock and Church Stretton, but it is in a lovely setting and is worth the trip in my opinion. The menu is not extensive, but there is enough to chose from and all is freshly prepared. We have found that on a Friday night they have a good deal (check website http://wenlockedgeinn.co.uk/ before visit just in case deal has ended) - 2 meals and a bottle of wine for £30, this usually includes option of a steak. We did have a problem on one visit where food was bought out that was missing a key ingredient, however as soon as we reported this they knocked money from the bill without quibble. The food has always tasted great and service has been efficient. There is a large car park on the opposite side of the road to the pub, be careful if with young children as it does involve crossing a busy road to enter pub.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Booked table for lunch to celebrate a colleagues retirement. There only appeared to be 1 lady behind the bar, who also took our orders and waited on. She was extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't have long to wait for our food, and it was delicious, we had a combination of sandwiches (lovely fresh bread and BIG) and main courses. They were well presented and plentiful, none of us had any room for desserts - and really good value for money. I don't know the ladys name, but thankyou, we all had a great time

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbodymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub food”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Situated on the main road between Much Wenlock and Church Stretton. A beautiful old public house in a lovely setting. The owner is most welcoming and the food is great. The lunch menu is extensive and you can order a sandwich if you prefer. We were at the Wenlock Edge Inn for lunch but it is also open for evening meals. I ordered fish and my wife had an enormous sausage sandwich. We sat in the verandah and it was very pleasant. We plan to return to try the evening meal next time. They currently have a special menu for two persons at £29.95 including a free bottle of house wine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abrumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Went for lunch here today with my husband and wanted to say what a great place! The food was not only delicious but extremely good value (£4.95 for a sizeable portion of high quality homemade fish pie with salad and lovely warm fresh bread.) The service was efficient and very friendly. All this and a delightful pub in a scenic location too. Well done, top marks! Barry and Jo Deakin, Worcs

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice end to a cold walk”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had been for a long and cold walk on the Long Mynd and on the way home stopped for a soft drink in the Wenlock Edge Inn. We were cold but the pub was warm. We stayed in the bar. We decided on the spur to have a bar meal and even though it was Sunday they agreed. The food was fresh and hot. We had scampi and chips and it was wonderful! The staff were nice and accommodating, the scampi was good and plentiful. Not sure about the restaurant area, it sometimes feels a bit cold, but then we have not eaten in there. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shropshirelass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wenlock Edge Inn also viewed

Much Wenlock, Shropshire
Much Wenlock, Shropshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing