We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for five nights to explore Shropshire the Raven is in a good position close to many places of interest. The hotel is good nice room and the food excelent and staff friendly and helpfull.All in all a very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: Rooms pictures are on the hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    147
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
30
265
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I chose the Raven hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday because it was homely and comfortable, a place where you could relax. I gathered friends and family together for a weekend in Much Wenlock, a very pretty town with lots to offer. Gill and Gary were very helpful and efficient whilst planning the event, they met all our requests and even recommended a keyboard player for our afternoon tea. The Chef gave us a fabulous menu to choose from for our celebration meal on the Saturday eve. 32 people took over the dining room and all received great food and good service. I can't fault the weekend, all my guests had such a good time and The Raven made it a birthday to remember - thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We went on a living social 2 night break inclusive of the seven course gourmet dinner. Everything was perfect-friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent food (I've not tasted beef that good for a long time), great location. Much Wenlock is very pretty and the numerous pubs within a couple of minutes were much appreciated especially as the weather was so hot and we needed regular refreshment! All in all a fantastic relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 473Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Like a number, stayed on the Living Social 2 day deal. Much Wenlock is very pretty and there is little hotel competition for The Raven. We had room 2 in The Forge annexe. Pros and cons of our stay:
Pros:
Convenient free parking
Free wifi generally worked well although it dropped at an important time when I was undertaking some work related emails.
Room of a good size, some good furnishings, clean and tidy
Comfy bed but too hot to sleep! (abnormal weather conditions not the hotel's fault!)
Superb views from our room
Food at dinner was well cooked
Breakfast of a good standard
Staff very friendly and helpful

Cons:
Room F2 in need of some tlc. Cracks in plaster on wall, cracked tiles in bathroom and grouting needs redoing. Walls need repainting
Dinner wasn't always as described with one of the puddings not available and no rosemary mash with the beef as advertised
The idea of a gourmet menu is that it is designed around availability - if you know you have run out of something before service and you have an alternative, it takes only 2 mins to retype the menu rather than spending the evening apologising - no one would be any the wiser.

We overheard a conversation by a staff member saying that the chef had only been there a few days. The restaurant plaudits on this site are therefore attributable to the previous chef. Having said that, the cooking was of a good standard.

Overall a pleasant experience but, if I'm honest, whilst paying more elsewhere, I have had better VFM in other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Booked the offer through 'Living Social' which was a two day bed & breakfast with seven course meal stay. The whole experience was excellent from check in to check out ! This is a super base to explore the region especially Ironbridge & Bridgenorth. The Severn Valley Railway is a must, as is Blists Hill museum.Much Wenlock is also worth the trip !

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms available, so no stairs to climb !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowsend120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Arrival and parking was easy. Spacious clean room and comfy bed. Good WiFi speed.
Staff very friendly and helpful. We had the seven course gourmet meal which was excellent in all courses.
Good size full English breakfast (other options available) was had which was very nice with plenty of tea to go with it.
We thought the accommodation, food and service was excellent all round.
Much Wenlock is a pretty village with local shops and a couple of pubs a two minute walk away.
The location is ideal for the museums in the Ironbridge area.
We would definitely return to stay again and recommend you try it.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which is on the shady side of the building which was ideal as it was a very hot weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunn_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We also went on a Living Social deal and it exceeded our expectations. Hotel met our 5 fundamental requirements: easy on-site parking, spacious room, comfortable bed, fully functioning shower, nice and quiet.

Located right in the centre of this charming little town and close to Ironbridge.

Breakfast was of a high quality. 7-course tasting menu included in the deal was excellent.

Some staff were a little cool and distant but by no means unpleasant. On check-in we were asked if we wanted a newspaper and we would have appreciated being told at that stage that it would be available for us to pick up from Reception. Instead, it sat on the Reception desk all day as we assumed it would be left outside our door and thought it had been overlooked. Alternatively, a quick call to our room, or mentioning it when we had cause to 'phone down, wouldn't have gone amiss. Staff were rather defensive and a bit 'hard-nosed' about this, we felt, as we didn't object to collecting it ourselves but we are not psychic!

A minor detail, though. We had a very pleasant stay and would return, which tells you all you need to know, doesn't it?

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellenbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
6.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing