We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
travelpic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly & Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely night away here, booked through TravelZoo for a 7 course taster menu and breakfast. Hotel is lovely, we stayed in room 4 which is large and beautifully decorated. Food was amazing and I'm very fussy. Staff very helpful, friendly and accommodating. So much to do locally, we walked to Wentlock Priory, a lovely place to walk around and cheap to get in. Run by English Heritage. Lovely local shops. I would highly recommend staying here and hope to go back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    152
    39
    8
    9
See reviews for
33
281
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a deal with overnight stay and a 7 course taster meal.The hotel is very old but very smart and comfortable. The service we had all the time we were there was first class. Later at dinner time when we sat in the bar we were asked if we had any food we could not eat but when we asked about the menu we were told we were having chef surprise,and what a surprise it was .beautifull small portions of dishes we would never have thought about with enough time to converse between courses without waiting too long At the end of the meal we left the table full without feeling bloated and we can only recomend this to others.This was our 56th Wedding Anniversary and it lived up to all we could wish for. Try this meal and of course the 56 years marriage. The town of Much Wenlock is another gem as well.

Room Tip: For older residents they have rooms on the ground floor to save you climbing stairs.We were in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Friday evening. Check in was really quick and we were taken to room 6 in the main house. The room was lovely and large but some of the furniture could do with updating. The bathroom seemed quite new and was modern with a rainfall shower over a really deep bath, bath salts were provided and were really appreciated after a long day at work! Both rooms were spotlessly clean. Before dinner we had a drink and canapés in the bar. We had booked the 7 course taster menu and we were told that the courses were going to be chosen by the chef and were to be a surprise, we were asked if we had any food allergies or special dietary requirements (I have an allergy to shellfish). The food itself was beautiful, the amuse bouche was a scallop dish but as I cannot eat shell fish I was served a goats cheese dish while my husband still got to enjoy the scallops. Each of the 7 courses were outstanding and were just the right size. We finished the meal with coffee in the bar followed by a nightcap or two. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful area with outstanding food and service then look no further. We have already booked a return trip for June.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a Travelzoo deal. £140 for 7 course tasting menu and B&B. We thought we more than got our monies worth, the food was excellent. We've rated this a 4 because we thought the food deserved a 5 but the venue itself would only rate a 3 for us.

The venue
We feel the interior really let the experience down. The main fault we have is that they really need to invest in the bar, eating areas and the rooms. The place needs to be brought up to the same standard as the food. A lick of light colored paint and replacement of most of the furniture would not go a miss. It's frumpy and actually smelled like an old style B&B/caravan. That said, it was clean and we're still glad we went.

The food
The food is the best thing about this place. The taster menu, this was really well done, we've had plenty of taster menu's and this one was definitely up there with some of our Michelin experiences. I've got to admire the chef's initiative and flavour combinations. The breakfast was also one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had, good quality sausage and all well cooked and not greasy. There was cereal and juice available in the eating area. Alongside a menu of items such as haddock, English breakfast, porridge or yogurt. An improvement they could make is having mixed fruit, yogurt, pastries etc available in the main dining area.

The service
Everybody working there were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Though there was a glass accidentally smashed during the evening meal which still hadn't been fully cleared up at breakfast.

The room
We stayed in room No2 (four poster bed). We paid an extra £10 for this "better room". The room was clean, but still frumpy. They could give it a face lift and change the mattress, which was too hard and possibly a cheap buy. Sheets and fleece throw were all very clean, which is a must for us. The tv had a great quality picture. The shower was too low and bath probably needed replacing. Nice touches like G&S toiletries, tea, coffee and biscuits. Unfortunately the room is on the front of the building and being a light sleeper meant I was woken several times during the evening either by cars or people leaving pubs. I wish I'd have asked for a quiet room, something to remember in the future.

Overall I'd highly recommend this place, if you don't mind frumpy. It's worth it for the food. Though I think the owner is missing a trick in not bringing the place in line with the food, it's got so much more potential and think it's a real shame.

Room Tip: Room 2 in the main hotel is on the main road so if you're a light sleeper I'd discourage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethGClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for a two night break with dinner included. We were in a large double in the Forge (room 2). Good size room and bathroom with pretty views from the dual aspect windows over the roof tops and gardens. The room was comfortable and clean although a little plain. It wouldn't take much to upgrade the room to fabulous - perhaps a new fancy throw and cushions. The bathroom had smart tiling on the walls but again was let down by damaged grouting below the window area that needed repair. Saying that, the hotel is very nice with lovely traditional bar and restaurant. I would imagine the courtyard would be a lovely spot for a pre dinner drink in the summer. The food in the restaurant was outstanding. We chose from the a la carte menu and on both evenings had an outstanding meal. Taste and presentation were fabulous. Breakfasts were equally good and tasty. One slight disappointment was that we were seated in the bar area on the second night, with just one other couple. It may have been nicer if the tables had of been laid with table cloths as in the restaurant, but the food didn't disappoint. Much Wenlock is a lovely unspoilt village with a great pub, lovely tea rooms and a great place to wander. We would definitely visit again and would have no hesitation in choosing the Raven.

Room Tip: Room 2 in the Forge has pretty views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbc_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Much Wenlock, so very good for a stroll around ....... well, it would have been had it not been raining hard! The hotel has a feel of quality about it and my bedroom (in the Forge annex) was large (possibly because it was the disabled room), very comfortable, appointed to a high standard and with a strong and free wifi signal. There was also a large corner bath in what was also a large bathroom.

The hotel bar is very welcoming and comfortable; moreover, it served draft Peroni. Top tip is to pre-book a table for an evening meal, whether it is from the dinner or bar meal menu. I decided on the latter, but having not booked - I didn't think that there was a need to for a 'bar meal' - there was a wait of an hour even for a bar meal, because of the demand on tables and the kitchen. I decided not to wait until what would have been after 9pm and went elsewhere, so cannot comment on the food. It is also rather odd that you can only book b&b on the Hotel's website, yet there is a dinner, b&b rate on a sheet at reception.

I did eat breakfast, which was a rather disjointed experience, although the freshly cooked breakfast was very good. Tables in the restaurant area were obviously in short supply, so the area near the bar had been pressed into action. There were some boxes of cereal and fruit juice on a nearby table, but the staff never mentioned that there was fruit, croissants, etc, in the restaurant area. I only spotted that when I went looking for staff on check out. So the dining experience, or lack of, rather took the edge off my stay, which was a pity as the hotel has a lot going for it, but was obviously not quite coping with being so busy.

I booked directly using the hotel website and obtained what I considered was a competitive and reasonable rate for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We set off for our first visit to Shropshire and Much Wenlock and what a lovely surprise we had.We were quite early to book in but we were welcomed and shown to our lovely room at The Raven,the staff were lovely and couldn,t do enough for us.We had booked our evening meal for 7.30pm and we were shown into the lounge and and given a taster with our drinks and then taken into the restaurant.Our meal was the 7 course taster meal and my goodness it was superb, we loved every bit of it and so did all the other guests that we spoke to.After a good nights sleep breakfast was very good to.Lovely stay and hope to return soon.The Raven and Much Wenlock was wonderful.

Room Tip: Only saw ours on the first floor and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
115 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
931 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
888 reviews
11.4 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing