We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost BUT.......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Dunmow
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Almost BUT.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed several nights on basis of other reviews, overall it is only average for cost. BUT some things are letting it down badly. Essentially there is an apparent lack of overseeing control / consistency. Our booking made direct with hotel and not external offer.

DINNER has a high artistic visual appeal BUT the quantities are very very small.(I am not greedy) eg a dish was described as being with Asparagus ( shavings of one stick) Bombay Potato ( 2 x coat button sized pieces). Sauces and puree have good flavours but used only as a small colour design and not to enhance food as insufficient quantity, I am not impressed by unusable smudges and blobs. It is ESSENTIAL to ask for a helping of seasonal vegetables if you want something approaching a 'normal' sized meal. The Starters were generally much better but do keep in mind that 3 courses are essentially £40 per person. We had the same dishes on both days and items listed on menu were not always served with the dish.

BREAKFAST. Day 1 was good as chose 3 items from the menu. Scrambled egg (excellent ) with a couple of other items. Day 2 ordered exactly the same but quantity served was a third of the quantity (unacceptable). Desert spoon size portion of baked beans and scrambled egg and one hash brown , could have been intended for a young child not an adult.

ACCOMODATION in the Forge was large, clean, comfortable. Located in an outbuilding access to which is at the end of the open air (gravel and worn tarmac) car park which also services a private house as well as hotel. The toiletries are small and only enough for one person for a single night and were not replaced for the second day.

DRINKS. The wines were reasonably priced for a hotel. There is a small intimate bar with a pleasant atmosphere.

OWNER and staff were very pleasant and professional and my views have already been expressed to the owner. In brief lots of potential but needs more attention in all areas. As regards value for what was provided I have frequently had far better for less cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    147
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
265
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was a surprise for my birthday from my husband. The hotel was very quaint with lots of old beams and original features.
We had the 7 course taster menu as part of the deal my husband booked
and can't commend it highly enough. Each course was an experience and we thoroughly enjoyed it all.
The room we had was lovely, but needed a bit of attention: ie there were tiles missing round the bath and the shower was quite awkward to use.
However the staff were so helpful and courteous, we marked the hotel highly for them and the food.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassy651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Raven in Much Wenlock for one night on the 7 course taster menu.

It did seem odd to me that the courses are a secret but on speaking with the Chef I understand why. The chef visits local butchers and stockists that day to see what produce is the best available.

My wife was happy eating a surprise menu but I wasn’t comfortable at first as I know I am a fussy eater, but by the end of a very enjoyable evening I was full and enjoyed most of the courses, even the two courses I didn’t like I could appreciate the quality and what the chef was aiming for. We had some excellent courses which included Lobster and pea foam, Monkfish on squid ink (Which was perfectly cooked), Veal (Which I didn’t eat but that is personal choice) and Wild Mushroom oats.
The breakfast the next day was also top quality, amazing poached eggs and beautiful tasting sausage and bacon.
We stayed in room 9 on the first floor; the room was large with a nice TV. The bathroom had a bath and shower and was very clean. Bath Salts were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable and we both got a good night’s sleep.
The hotel is excellently situated for a really short walk into the town which is literally round the corner.

Room Tip: We had room 9 on the first floor, the room was large with a nice TV. The bathroom had a bath and sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwampyAJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelpic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely night away here, booked through TravelZoo for a 7 course taster menu and breakfast. Hotel is lovely, we stayed in room 4 which is large and beautifully decorated. Food was amazing and I'm very fussy. Staff very helpful, friendly and accommodating. So much to do locally, we walked to Wentlock Priory, a lovely place to walk around and cheap to get in. Run by English Heritage. Lovely local shops. I would highly recommend staying here and hope to go back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a deal with overnight stay and a 7 course taster meal.The hotel is very old but very smart and comfortable. The service we had all the time we were there was first class. Later at dinner time when we sat in the bar we were asked if we had any food we could not eat but when we asked about the menu we were told we were having chef surprise,and what a surprise it was .beautifull small portions of dishes we would never have thought about with enough time to converse between courses without waiting too long At the end of the meal we left the table full without feeling bloated and we can only recomend this to others.This was our 56th Wedding Anniversary and it lived up to all we could wish for. Try this meal and of course the 56 years marriage. The town of Much Wenlock is another gem as well.

Room Tip: For older residents they have rooms on the ground floor to save you climbing stairs.We were in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Friday evening. Check in was really quick and we were taken to room 6 in the main house. The room was lovely and large but some of the furniture could do with updating. The bathroom seemed quite new and was modern with a rainfall shower over a really deep bath, bath salts were provided and were really appreciated after a long day at work! Both rooms were spotlessly clean. Before dinner we had a drink and canapés in the bar. We had booked the 7 course taster menu and we were told that the courses were going to be chosen by the chef and were to be a surprise, we were asked if we had any food allergies or special dietary requirements (I have an allergy to shellfish). The food itself was beautiful, the amuse bouche was a scallop dish but as I cannot eat shell fish I was served a goats cheese dish while my husband still got to enjoy the scallops. Each of the 7 courses were outstanding and were just the right size. We finished the meal with coffee in the bar followed by a nightcap or two. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful area with outstanding food and service then look no further. We have already booked a return trip for June.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chester252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here as part of a Travelzoo deal. £140 for 7 course tasting menu and B&B. We thought we more than got our monies worth, the food was excellent. We've rated this a 4 because we thought the food deserved a 5 but the venue itself would only rate a 3 for us.

The venue
We feel the interior really let the experience down. The main fault we have is that they really need to invest in the bar, eating areas and the rooms. The place needs to be brought up to the same standard as the food. A lick of light colored paint and replacement of most of the furniture would not go a miss. It's frumpy and actually smelled like an old style B&B/caravan. That said, it was clean and we're still glad we went.

The food
The food is the best thing about this place. The taster menu, this was really well done, we've had plenty of taster menu's and this one was definitely up there with some of our Michelin experiences. I've got to admire the chef's initiative and flavour combinations. The breakfast was also one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had, good quality sausage and all well cooked and not greasy. There was cereal and juice available in the eating area. Alongside a menu of items such as haddock, English breakfast, porridge or yogurt. An improvement they could make is having mixed fruit, yogurt, pastries etc available in the main dining area.

The service
Everybody working there were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Though there was a glass accidentally smashed during the evening meal which still hadn't been fully cleared up at breakfast.

The room
We stayed in room No2 (four poster bed). We paid an extra £10 for this "better room". The room was clean, but still frumpy. They could give it a face lift and change the mattress, which was too hard and possibly a cheap buy. Sheets and fleece throw were all very clean, which is a must for us. The tv had a great quality picture. The shower was too low and bath probably needed replacing. Nice touches like G&S toiletries, tea, coffee and biscuits. Unfortunately the room is on the front of the building and being a light sleeper meant I was woken several times during the evening either by cars or people leaving pubs. I wish I'd have asked for a quiet room, something to remember in the future.

Overall I'd highly recommend this place, if you don't mind frumpy. It's worth it for the food. Though I think the owner is missing a trick in not bringing the place in line with the food, it's got so much more potential and think it's a real shame.

Room Tip: Room 2 in the main hotel is on the main road so if you're a light sleeper I'd discourage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethGClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
6.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing