We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse(Ironbridge)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tontine Hotel(Ironbridge)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckatree Hall Hotel(Telford)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
216
153
39
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
153
39
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse taster menufour poster bedtravelzoo dealamuse bouchecar parka bit tiredmain restaurantlarge partybar areaevening mealfollowing morningroom was largea la carte menucooked breakfastthe severn valley railwayenjoyable stayfantastic food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Typical of many British hotels with fine dining restaurants, the actual hotel is not in the same league as the food. This is a destination restaurant for the Central region: young rising star chef Jason Hodnett runs a tight ship, executing a very good seven-course taster menu. The dinner atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are warm and professional. What the place needs is a total re-vamp. The furnishings are worn and shabby in the small public areas, with wood-chip wallpaper and cheap-looking tables and chairs, and the chairs in the bar room had dirty upholstery. Just a general lack of care and imagination in the decor. Our room (in The Forge annex) was okay and spacious, but there were frayed towels and ugly broken panels in the bathroom where the only "shelf" space was an old chipped chair. Some of these things could be addressed quickly and inexpensively: how many times is this the case . . . I can never understand this neglect. And why are there so many reviews which don't bring these things to public attention? It's the only way we can do our bit to try to improve the standard of accommodation in the UK!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is full of charm and is very friendly. Sure, the rooms are a little tired but it doesn't detract from the fact that they are full of character. We had room 2 which is very large with a four poster bed. But our main reason for staying this weekend was to experience chef Jason Hodnett's seven course taster menu. It was SUPURB. Each course was beautifully presented and the tastes were unbelievably good. Our favorite was hard to choose but the pre desert course of rhubarb pan a cotta just won. Breakfast was also delicious. Jason is definitely one to watch. The whole experience was great value for money, including the wine, which was very reasonably priced. This was our third visit and it won't be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanp126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We celebrated a friend's 50th birthday last night at The Raven and had a truly memorable evening.

We're lucky to live just around the corner and so we visit quite regularly but the restaurant and bar were full & buzzing with people keen to try chef Jason Hodnett's food after his recent appearance on Great British Menu.

We chose from the 3-course menu (which turns into 6 courses with the chef's treats along the way) and enjoyed every course. It was modern, playful, eye-wateringly beautiful food which also tasted great too!

The surprise birthday candle brought out for our friend was the icing on the cake (so to speak!). Great night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RobinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed one night at The Raven on a Travelzoo deal. It was a wonderful experience from the minute we were greeted by the friendly, efficient receptionist who checked us in and showed us to our room which was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. It had a larger than average bathroom with lovely white fluffy towels and a selection of good quality toiletries.
Before dining we sat in the bar area where we were greeted by the owner who we found to be very amicable.
The food. Well, this was an experience not to be missed. We had chefs 7 course tasting menu. I should point out that chef Jason Hodnett recently competed in 'Great British Menu'. As the dishes were presented to us it became obvious how he got on the show. His talent and imagination is top class. Our taste buds were tantalized by the superb food we were served and we sent much deserved compliments to the kitchen.
It was a pleasure to be served by the staff who were efficient, polite and friendly.
The dining room had a good ambience with beautifully presented tables. It really was a delightful experience .
Breakfast was equally good with a very good choice of cooked dishes.
Hope to return to The Raven in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This establishment confirms to no corporate image, and is a refreshing change. The quiet location, centrally in the delightful town of Much Wenlock, is perfect. Rooms are spacious and clean, whilst some renovation would not be inappropriate.
The evening meal was astonishingly good, beautifully presented and easily at the 'Michelin' star level. The cooked element of breakfast was also very good.
All is taken care of by an attentive proprietor and friendly staff team. Requests are met by a willingness to oblige.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperiencedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews