We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 course taster menu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“7 course taster menu”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have just returned from a Saturday night stay at this hotel. We were staying in The Forge annex just across from the main building. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished with a very large bathroom. The main bar and restaurant at the hotel were well presented and the staff were very good. The taster menu is there main attraction and was very well done, not all the courses suit all tastes but they were happy to find alternatives if requested. The style of the dishes was very 'nouvelle cuisine' and whilst the quality of the food was excellent, after taking 3 hours to complete the meal I was still feeling peckish. If I was to visit again I would try the main menu which also looked very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speltz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    148
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
268
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent two nights at the Raven as a break on the way to Wales. Wanted somewhere to be able to visit Shrewsbury and Ironbridge.

Staff were very friendly from when we arrived and the room was comfortable and modern.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent.

We ate in Ironbridge on the second night which a lovely setting.

Good hotel, friendly and would return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex3688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

absolutely terrible, freezing cold rooms I was in room 2, very dirty, shabby four poster bed, rock hard, bathroom disgusting, damp walls and ceiling. Breakfast cheap and nasty, dining room and joke food no words to describe it and the stuffed RAVEN OMG!!I will not be going there again


WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!

Room Tip: room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomooBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucyraven, Director of Sales at The Raven Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
At The Raven Hotel we value the naturally occurring feedback we
receive through Trip Adviser and have previously purposefully refrained
from replying to guest comments in order to encourage openness on the
forum - but we felt compelled to comment regarding this review.

The Raven is a traditional hotel which embraces beams, open fires,
sash windows and all the character of a listed building; coupled with
comfortable accommodation and fine food to provide an experience
we are proud to provide to many discerning guests. Pictures of each
room are available on our website enabling guests to book a room in the
traditional area of the Hotel or the more contemporary styled rooms
in the Forge. We are disappointed that this visitor did not enjoy their stay
with us, other recent reviews on Trip Adviser have commented on the very
same room in an extremely favourable way.

The staff at the Hotel recall this guest and were aware that the
Hotel's traditional offer did not match what they were seeking. Being aware
of this mismatch staff at the Hotel politely offered these guests the
opportunity to seek alternative accommodation better suited to their
requirements but the guests chose to continue with their stay. Our
restaurant food is awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA, ('Excellent restaurants,
which aim for and achieve higher standards, better consistency and where a
greater precision is apparent in the cooking. There will be obvious
attention to the selection of quality ingredients' AA Consumer Guidelines)
and our breakfasts are hearty and as abundant as you choose - created only
from excellent local produce.

As for the 'stuffed Raven' - we consider our Victorian specimen to be a
fascinating, quirky and relevant object within our reception area - a talking point for guests!
We will take the opportunity to tweet a picture of him to
allow you to make your own decision!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have been to the Raven once before and this second visit was even better than the first. It is a lovely boutique hotel where the furnishings are elegant and comfortable. The staff were friendly courteous and attentive. The food was absolutely delicious. Everything was fresh and homemade from the herb bread with the starter to the lavender shortbread biscuits with tea. I loved it and highly recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone looking for a special treat at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I took a group of 10 for dinner on a Friday night. We arrived early, enjoyed drinks in the bar and were seated by 7pm. We dined a la carte, and we're stunned by how good the food was. Despite its complexity, clean plates for all with a party of adults, children and some visitors from China told us how good it was. The amuse bouche were very welcome - and inventive, including one that represented our group's diverse origins - but the entrees stood out as sublime. The cellar is also excellent, we enjoyed several bottles of really well served wine, and some well-kept Raven beer. Service was excellent, the room divine and the food tremendous. Top marks all round.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Soutanglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had Room12 in Courtyard for £120 on a Saturday night - would have been expensive at £60.

Bed was bizarre like ocean waves every time you move even slightly, ridiculously spongy - the head board rattle was comedic! The sheets were poor quality and not pressed - decidedly suspect.

The room is very pokey and so tired - the kettle was very old and whilst the shower was extremely powerful the flimsy short curtain meant the floor was flooded.

We didn't bother with breakfast.

Very disappointed, bordering on outraged at the charge for this.

Room Tip: Don't be taken in by smart website. The forge would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the raven hotel as a birthday treat. We had a seven course meal booked as well. It was very tasty & filling! Rooms were comfortable and clean, the hotel has a boutique feel to it. It's a lovely little hotel located in a very nice village. Easy to get to and find.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca_koshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
106 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
844 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
593 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing