We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Base for Walking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Base for Walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2007

My wife and I spent a Saturday night at the Raven whilst spending the weekend walking in Shropshire. Much Wenlock is central for the Wrekin, Wenlock Edge and the Long Mynd. The Raven is a well looked after 3 Star hotel with spacious bedrooms. We had a double that also contained a single bed. The bed was firm and comfortable and the room spotless. British hotel showers often represent more of a trickle than a shower but the Raven's are hot and powerful. The bar is pleasant with two real ales available. The food was excellent with a choice of 5 or 6 mains from a set menu. Cost for Saturday night was £165 for double B&B and 3 course dinner. Drinks are somewhat pricey with beer at £3 per pint and a bottle of house wine £13. Service from the friendly and attentive staff was very good. Breakfast was up to the same high standard as dinner. Defintely recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Price of drinks
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheObserverWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    148
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
268
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2006

I have eaten many times at the Raven (at least ten times) and have found the service and especially the food the best I have ever eaten. Recently, I held my retirement party at the Raven with over 30 discerning guests attending! Everybody was impressed with the food and many who have never been to the Raven before have since visited the restaurant - as they say the best advertisement is by word of mouth. I regularly go out for meals around the West Midlands, including Wolverhampton, Birmingham and Shrewsbury, either as the main event or as a prelude to going to a threatre show or concert. and I must say not only is the Raven the best for food it is consistently the best -I have never had a poor meal yet!
Please go and prove me right but do book as it is popular!!

  • Liked — Beautifully set out in old English/designer approach
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs and unevn floors
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nottoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2006

Pleasant country inn with good sized room and excellent staff. Pleasant restaurant with well cooked food but a very limited menu which does not appear to change from year to year, let alone weekly.

Stayed three nights and would have had a problem finding something different to eat on a fourth.

Car parking is ok except when they have a function on.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Limited menu
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay no more than three days if eating in the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, U.K.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2006

Having stayed in North Shropshire before, we knew how difficult it can be to find somewhere nice to eat. We were thrilled after a couple of really bad experiences in so called bistros (see the Inn at Grinshill ), to find the Raven just outside Wem. A little country pub with an outside seating area. Nothing fancy, just good cooking and extremely friendly and efficient service. We went back several times with friends and hopefully will do again. No fancy chefs here just a really good cook. Marvellous.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank OldVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights for an autumn break. It is a small individual hotel,developed from its coaching inn origins. The room we had was across a tiny plant-filled paved courtyard and had beamed sloping ceiling with dormer windows, comfortable bed, and two armchairs. There was a third bed in a large alcove and bathroom off - all very well done. There is a small pubby bar and a miniscule lounge/conservatory. We could park our car only a few steps from the courtyard.

All the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Bob the reception manager, took our voucher to get us our subscription Daily Telegraph. Breakfast in the attractive restaurant is traditional style, not buffet, with care taken to do everything exactly the way we wanted. We dined in twice. The menu is, I think, a set price for the meal and is limited to five or so dishes for each course, which means that the food is from fresh ingredients and is cooked to near perfection - all delicious and priced very fairly. Good wines and also very reasonable.

The hotel is in a quiet street 200 yards from the central small Square. Much Wenlock is a lovely tiny township going back to mediaval days and well worth prowling about. A number of interesting shops, second-hand books, arts and crafts, a splendid large Norman church and an even more splendid ruined priory in the care of English Heritage. And the Shropshire countryside...and very little traffic!

Criticisms? No stool or chair in the bathroom, which we told the housekeeper about, and she promised that she would rectify it, and not enough shelf space for sponge bags and clutter. And the hot water could have been hotter but we were not up very early. Minor stuff!

Not a hotel for spending all day in, unless warm enough for the courtyard but a great start to each day and inviting to return to in the evening. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PeterEWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
3.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.2 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant Much Wenlock, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing