We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it, perfect in everyway.”
Review of The Walkmill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Walkmill
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in the house and it felt like home, it was so cosy and comfortable especially at night with the log fire. It was great feeding the chickens every morning and the dogs too Lucky and Lilly. There was homemade cake and fresh eggs on our arrival.The surrounding area is beautiful, the views from the Stiperstones and the Long Mynd are fantastic. Lots of nice pubs and cafes in the area so don't be surprised if you put a few pounds on!!! We had snow one day and everywhere looked magical.Will be certainly recommending the Walkmill to family and friends.By the way if you sit quietly you will see a Dipper in the river, it was one of my partners highlights of the holiday being a keen birdwatcher.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louskauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyBachelor, Owner at The Walkmill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Louskauser

Thank you so much for your review.

We love living at The Walkmill and we're delighted to share our little bit of heaven with our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we loved having you!

We also really appreciate you taking the time to recommend us to your family & friends - we look forward to welcoming them to The Walkmill.

Kindest regards

Gilly & Brian Bachelor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for The Walkmill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

On our arrival at the Walkmill, we were warmly greeted by the owners Brian, Gilly & their two dogs, Lucky & Lilly, who showed us our accomodation for the week. The house had a real home from home feel about it, very well furnished and very clean! Gilly had made us delicious scones with home-made strawberry jam, which was very welcome after our long car journey!
Both the bedrooms & the bathrooms were very spacious. The Kitchen was very well equiped, especially if you don't want the expense of eating out every night.
The surrounding area of Norbury is beautiful with plenty of walking and cycling routes for all abilities. Gilly supplied us with maps to help us find our way around and also kindly booked us in for some riding and fishing which was great fun.
We visited Church Stretton, Bishop's Castle, Shrewsbury & Ludlow with it's food centre (worth a visit if your a foodie)
We are looking forward to our return visit in May, trying out walkmill lodge instead & to meet all the hens again, which supplied us with delicious eggs for our breakfasts every morning!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyBachelor, Owner at The Walkmill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2011

Dear Sarahb68

Thank you for the lovely comments and the photos, which show just how stunning the location really is!

We look forward to welcoming you back in May.

Kind regards

Gilly Bachelor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This Lodge is beautiful. Furnished to a very high standard, immacule in terms of cleanliness, the owners are friendly and welcoming. This cottage is very comfortable and stylish, well worth a trip. We arrived to a very warm welcome and the most tasty home made cakes...The facilities are great and the countryside is spectacular and there is plenty to see and enjoy. Take walking boots and good books, and relax..... can't fault it at all....Have recommended this Lodge and the nearbvy house to all my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawyersjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyBachelor, Owner at The Walkmill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

Dear Lawyersjs

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to give feedback! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Walkmill.

Kind regards

Gilly Bachelor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The Walkmill is made up of the Walkmill Lodge and house, in an area of outstanding national beauty in the Shropshire hills.

Both cottages have 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms with luxurious shampoos and toiletries. Both have open fires and lovely fixtures and fittings. There is a massive collection of dvd's and dvd player to curl up and relax in front of the fire, read the abundance of magazines left in the rooms as well.

Nearby there are the towns of Church Stretton, Bishops Castle, Ludlow and Shrewsbury. The long Mynd is a short drive away with outstanding views and lovely walks. Nearby there are lovely walks and bike riding routes and many country pubs within walking distance serving lovely food.

Overall either of the cottages are beautiful and very well looked after by Brian and Gilly, and homemade marmalade and fresh eggs waiting for us. An amazing place for family and couples.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmy_Lou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyBachelor, Owner at The Walkmill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Dear Emmy-Lou

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to submit our first review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Walkmill and we are delighted that you will be staying with us again later this month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Walkmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walkmill

Address: Stone Cottage,The Walkmill, Norbury SY9 5DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Norbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Norbury
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Walkmill we have two detached, self catering holiday cottages – Walkmill House and Walkmill Lodge – both with their own private gardens and patios. The holiday cottages are set in four acres of beautiful Shropshire countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with views of the Long Mynd and The Stiperstones, centrally located between Shrewsbury and Ludlow, 6 miles from Bishop’s Castle and 8 miles from Church Stretton. We are open all year, and offer short breaks from November to March inclusive.Our self catering holiday cottages sit alongside the East Onny River and offer guests a peaceful riverside setting. This is a truly stunning part of England, with easy access to the beautiful market towns of Shrewsbury, Ludlow and Church Stretton (to mention a few!). It is a wonderful location for simply relaxing or for the more adventurous offers golf, great walks, cycling routes, horse riding, fishing and even gliding.We are less than a 30 minute drive from National Trust properties Powis Castle and Gardens, Cardingmill Valley and Attingham House, Park and Estate and a 40 minute drive from the Ironbridge Gorge Museums.The Walkmill, cottages in Shropshire, are the perfect place for a relaxed and peaceful self-catering holiday in the countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Walkmill Norbury, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing