We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night sleep, we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed in the Premier in whilst on holiday with family and friends.
The hotel staff were very professional, polite and welcoming. Our family had a great time at the hotel, good night sleep and excellent breakfast.

We will definitely be back again if we are in the area.
Thank you for making our 1 night stay a pleasant experience

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzana_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

I always hesitate when I nit-pick a hotel which charges as little as £29 per night, but I hope by doing so the small niggles can be ironed out.

First the positives; easy to find and very good staff with a quick check-in. Only one person on reception though, which was ok as it was quiet when we arrived. Perhaps they had someone lurking out of sight for when it got busy.

If you've ever stayed at a Premier Inn before, this one will hold no surprises. If you haven't then don't worry; the place is clean, secure (24 hour reception and swipe card access to the hotel as well as your room) and has lots of free parking. Add air conditioned rooms, Freeview tv and tea/coffee making facilities and you've got everything you could reasonably want or expect at this price.

Now the negatives.

1. The pub/restaurant next door is fine as far as the food goes, but when you walk in there's no clue as to whether you should wait by the entrance, find a table or go to the bar. Surely it's not too difficult to put up a sign??
2. The wi-fi is too expensive. Not just here but at all Premier Inns. The things is, you need it here, as 3G coverage is non-existent. Not only that, it doesn't make sense. I bought 1 hour's access for £3 but when I logged in it demanded to know whether I'd bought 10 mins for £1 or 24 hours for £5. Er, neither! Sort this out, please!
3. Yet again, THE BEDS ARE TOO FIRM!!!!! Now that smoking or non-smoking rooms are a thing of the past, how about a comfortable bed/bed made of granite option??

Overall, fine. It could be better if a few things were addressed though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Occasiona_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The service at reception was efficient and friendly and the room clean and tidy and good value for money. All the staff were friendly and efficient. There’s a “Table Table” restaurant next door and the evening meal that we had there was good. There was nobody at the door to arrange seating when we entered and we had to enquire at the bar. The restaurant was half empty on a Thursday evening, but everyone was squashed into that one half. The cooked breakfast the following morning was good, with no wait for a table. However, I felt that the continental breakfast was not good value for money. It would be very easy to have some much needed additions such as cold meats and cheese. Also the coffee at breakfast was awful. The hotel is clean and comfortable and is a good location for a travel stop.

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy B, Manager at Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Oswestry Premier Inn.
We are pleased that we delivered our promise to you.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The hotel is situated on the edge of an industrial park but do not let this put you off. It is convenient for many routes in and out of the Telford, area and is not affected by traffic in the area. The staff are exemplary in their service and the food is very very good. Very clean hotel and definitely provides the quality of more than the "budget type" hotel it is supposed to be. We could not fault this hotel at all and we have stayed at may others to be able to make a comparison. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenewatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Don't get me wrong the location isn't excactly picturesque but it was a great half way stop to our final holiday destination in North Wales. Room was big, clean, modern the TV worked, the shower was powerful, staff were helpful couldn't ask for much more for £29

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_Natz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed for one night in April 2011 to break up a road trip from London to Wales.

GPS in the rental car didn't know where the hotel actually was so got a little lost but eventually found our way. The hotel isn't in Oswestry town centre, it's on the edge by one of the main roads. It's a relatively new building and had a big car park.

Check in was easy and were in our grond floor room within minutes. The view from the room is pretty uninspiring but that's not what you stay here. Room was pretty big, clean and kinda modern. Bathroom much the same as the room, big and clean.

Bed was big and comfortable with great pillows and had a great nights sleep. Only complaint about the room is there is no telephone. But, I only noticed this as I needed to make a call and didn't want to pay roaming fees on my mobile, I'm sure it wouldn't be an issue for most people.

Had breakfast and dinner at the attached Table Table which was surprisingly good as well.

Overall, got exactly what I expected at a great price. Nice one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamus_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Stayed over whilst partner was working in newtown and welshpool so stayed halfway between both. Found it hard to find the hotel on the industrial estate, depending on which entrance you use, maybe they could put up a few extra signs around the estate as it is very big, we had to stop 3 times to ask directions despite putting the address in the satnav. We had the £22 deal which was good value for money, evening meal was good although if staying a couple of nights would struggle to find something we fancied both nights. There was some building work going on at the back of the hotel but as it was sat afternoon and sun they had stopped by the time we got there. Room was nice and clean. Oswestry is only about a mile away. .Would definitely stay again and try and get a £29 room next time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waktolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,339 reviews
24.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
9.6 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel

Address: Maes Y Clawdd Maesbury Road | Maesbury Road Industrial Estate, Oswestry SY10 8NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for exploring the historical market towns of Oswestry, Shrewsbury and Wrexham ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel Oswestry
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing