We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly and great food ”

Lepone's Restaurant Italiano
Ranked #11 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Lepones Italian Restaurant and Cocktail Bar. Open every day from 9.30Am - 11.30 Pm Sundays from 10am Serving fresh Italian Lavazza Coffee and assorted pastries light lunches and snacks, afternoon teas, real Italian ice cream, Italian Restaurant/pizzeria and cocktails. All served in our beautiful restored and completely refurbished church. From April/May outside seating on the terraces is available with pram and wheelchair access. Italian run and owned.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly and great food ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We eat here often and have never been disappointed. The food always tastes very fresh and is reasonably priced. The staff have always been very welcoming. They also do amazing take aways.
Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
3 Thank Cassiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    73
    34
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy in Shropshire”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went to the restaurant without a reservation and were welcomed warmly and taken to a table by the window. The restaurant is decorated in a relaxed Italian style and felt comfortable with atmosphere. The menu is very much genuine Italian food rather than 'Pizza Hut'. Service is friendly without being obtrusive and we enjoyed being able to watch the chefs at work in the kitchen. Food was tasty, not perfect but very good. Some minor things let it down, use of frozen chips, lack of garnish but overall a good experience and we will probably return at some point in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited with a friend for a quiet evening out. Went on a Monday & it was indeed quiet. At 19.10hrs, we were the only people in. Another couple came in a little while later but no more for the duration of the evening.

Excellent menu with lots of choice. I'm gluten free so asked for a pasta sauce to be served over spinach instead of pasta. They were more than happy to accommodate. Large portions, freshly cooked, good homemade Italian food.

Friendly & helpful staff. The owner spent some time sitting & chatting with us. Great evening. Will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaytla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I don't usually feel moved to write reviews, however as a regular visitor to this lovely family run restaurant, I felt that I should give praise where it is due. I only write positive reviews (otherwise I won't write a review), so that's a measure of how highly I regard this restaurant.

The cuisine is authentic Italian, therefore if you are into burgers & chips, you might be disappointed. There are plenty of other local restaurants that cater for those tastes. Here you will experience home made antipastos, pastas in amazing sauces and fabulous pizzas (which you can see being kneaded in the kitchen). On Tuesday evenings they offer a meal deal which is great value for money.

Paolo and his family give great personal service and are always keen to please and interact with their guests.

My only reservation is that being upstairs, my parents can struggle a little, however that will no longer be a problem when the restaurant relocates later in the year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank falerniamoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
251 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Authentic freshly cooked Italian food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Super food with great sauces and friendly service.

Went on a Monday night and walked up the stairs despite the sign outside saying that it was closed on Mondays! Spoke to the owner who agreed that it would be a good idea to change the sign!

Planning to move to larger premises in the near future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lepone's Restaurant Italiano also viewed

 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Lepone's Restaurant Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing