We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #36 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ellesmere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cold food”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The waitresses were very polite and nice. The wine was lovely. Although it was an extremely hot night the air conditioning was on full power, which wasn't too bad at first, but when sat under it it was freezing cold, we spend most of the night shivering. The food was very poor for the prices they charge. A friend had chicken chow mein and it looked like String!

The menu was good with lot of variety but needs to be explained on the menu about the certain dishes.

Because of their conditioning the rfiodbecame cold far too quickly!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly-Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding restaurant with food, service and value to match any top London venue.”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

As a regular visitor to london I always look forward to coming home to Shropshire to visit my favourite restaurant..
The China Palace has it all!!
Great location with parking just opposite in Oswestry town centre..
As I walk through the door after booking a table which is a must as they are such a popular restaurant and are always busy especially at weekends.. The welcome is always the same warm and so welcoming from the very attentive staff, so rare in today's restaurant trade even in the top London venues!!
The food is amazing along with a great wine list and excellent beers to meet everyone's taste..
Thank you to you all, especially Steve and all the girls who look after every customer like Kings and Queens.. Thank you from a customer who if I didn't visit you at least 3 or 4 times a month would be missing something very special..
Just had my first take away from the China Palace tonight..
As I expected... GREAT..... and on time and very well presented..
Thank you again Steve for putting your restaurant in Oswestry and for everything you and your wonderful staff do for us as customers..
Thank you and see you again very soon..
John, Ann and all the family..
Never change.. You have got it so right..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTellesmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“19.30”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

this was my first time at this resturant, and all though it was fairly busy,but i will not be returning to this resturant, the waitress took our order, there was ten of us. cause it was a birthday meal.she said i think i have got every one order,she said we will see when it come out, they were short on one meal, which thought it was mine, but they had given my pork in barbcue some one else on table, say it was chicken, when we called the waitress over to say there was one meal short, she said it was right, but it was short of a chicken chow mein, the waitress was very rude, and argued with us saying that it was right, but it wasnt, so in they end they got me another pork, by which time every time every one else had finished, when we asked to speak to manager, we was told he was in kitchen cooking, and couldnt come out, but the waitress that had taken our order was also the shift manager, when we asked her to speak to other waitress to come and apologise, for being so rude, she siad she wouldnt, so we asked for a discount, which they gave us 10%, but has a shift manager she wasnt very good, but before we left the other waitress did come and apoligise, but to be honest, it spoilt the whole eveing, and the fact they missed a meal off meant we didnt all eat together, and when i got mine it was cold,i have been in a lot of returants, and i think this as to be the worst,the lady who was serving drinks at bar was very nice and polite,pauline oswestry

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, Owner at China Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
There was a lot of confusion upon taking this order as everyone fired their requests at the Shift Manager whilst continuing to talk over and amongst each other. She did state that if there was something missing we would be able to rectify the problem, which definitely wouldn’t cause an inconvenience because the total order consisted of one main dish and a few side orders between 10 adults. When the food arrived no one was paying attention or listening to what dishes were being served and one member of the party was eating what they thought was a chicken chow mein but was actually the ‘missing’ honey pork chow mein. Your review reflects your confusion as we don’t sell ‘pork in barbecue’ so I confirm it didn’t go to someone else on the table.
The young waitress you pointed out didn’t serve your table at any point of the evening so when you asked the Shift Manager to send her over to apologise or you would ‘shred’ our good ratings on trip advisor she was not prepared to humiliate her in front of the whole restaurant. To try and calm the situation I offered a 10% discount off your food bill and I hoped it would calm you down for the sake of others dining. When you left, at least two of the other tables expressed their relief that they could now dine in peace. We hope that our future customers are not put off by this review and that they will realise its fabrication when they read all the other reviews on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very, very good food and charming service”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Six of us ate here on a recent Friday evening. The welcome was very friendly.

We chose Banquet C, at £20 per head, and we were all delighted. The courses were very generous and top quality. The food was expertly prepared and appetisingly presented. Our two young waitresses were attentive and courteous.

We had a great meal and were all very pleased we had chosen China Palace.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidLondon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food but overpriced ,”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the service , not busy when we went so may be different when full ! Food was very good with great flavours , but small portion of ribs and small ( giant crab claws) the thing that may stop me going again is the price! But if they can get away with being expensive then good luck .£95 for three of us two small eaters one average (if that makes sense )three starters three mains one rice seven drinks . Two liqueur coffees . All enjoyed but shock at bill !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Palace also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing