We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dire” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highwayman

Highwayman
Ranked #77 of 115 Restaurants in Oswestry
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good food and Great Beer all with a welcoming atmosphere
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dire”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

One Barmaid very cheerful but having to cope with quite a big queue on her own.Ordered food which took 1 hour to arrive.Food was disgusting.Worst pub meal we have ever had.Overcooked and not very warm.Chips were far from freshly cooked.Should really have complained but had to get away to an appointment and couldn,t wait for replacement .Will never come again and probably neither wil friends and family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 36Rupert .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    29
    29
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Visited 12 june pub not busy, food not bad at all. Waitress service was not good had to remind waitress how many places to lay when five meals were ordered, then forgot to bring out several items from order. No focus probably little training too. Wont be going back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rgriff4 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“welldone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Arrived for a meal at 7 tonight to find the pub very busy, after trying to order steaks, gammon, mixed grill we were told by a still smiling Dan that they had run out so we finally settled on a man up burger meal which didn't let us down, having waited for over an hour for our food it arrived and was demolished with gusto and the free dessert went down a treat! Well done to Joe and his staff for a valient effort under difficult circumstances, will be back soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
“SHOCKING SERVICE, BASIC FOOD”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were in a party of 12, starters took an hour from ordering and 1 was forgotten and turned up after we had all finished ours. Mains took nearly an hour to arrive after finishing the starters and 1 of the mains were missing and again arrived when we had all finished. Staff were either very inexperienced or couldn't care less as service was appalling. The restaurant was not very busy so why did we wait so long?
We used to go here a lot from 2007 to 2012 and haven't been for a few years. Needless to say we won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meljw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dreadful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have visit this place on a number of occasions and each time the service was awfull.I booked a Christmas meal on boxing day and had to wait over an hour even though I had pre ordered. Eventualy the food came out and my soup was stone cold. Another occasion I went for a carvery which I have to say the beef was lovely . However when I walked back to the table and noticed there wasn't any cutlery . I asked 3 separate times and eventually was given a knife and fork ten minutes later.By this point my food was cold . I also found a hair in my milk and inside the tea pot had nit been cleaned. So all in all carvery nice but service is absolutely disgraceful and will never go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisalou1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highwayman also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Highwayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing