We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing doner kebab”
Review of Salop Fish Bar

Salop Fish Bar
Ranked #78 of 117 Restaurants in Oswestry
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing doner kebab”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very small portions and not cheap. Definitely the worst doner kebab in Oswestry, which is a shame, because the fish and chips are actually good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickhadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    3
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Paid more than was supossed to.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I went there to have a takeaway and found that I paid more than what I calculated from rhe menu on their website. Food was good, really tasty chicken and mushroon pies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frikadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salopfishbar, Owner at Salop Fish Bar, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Sorry to hear that there was a problem with the prices. I have checked the prices on the website, the shop menu and the computerised cash register and they all match up. If you could let me know what the error was i will look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Fish and lovely chips!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Got our tea from here tonight after a long day out. Fish and chips for two, yummy. The fish was lovely and the chips were too. The fish was quite a big piece and very good value because I know fish is more expensive nowadays, its only something we have as a treat once a month at the most. The chips were lovely and soft in the middle and crisp on the outside, just how I like them. Such a shame there is nowhere to park by the Salop Chippy. We parked round the corner in the doctors surgery access road, even though there was double yellow lines in there - we decided it was better to park in there than obstruct the highway by parking outside the chippy or parking on the road by the window place, hope we don't get a ticket through the post, might be expensive fish and chips!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie46Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salopfishbar, Owner at Salop Fish Bar, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
The nearest places to park during the day are the two roads just off Salop Road (Stewart Road & Park Street), though the entrance to the town's main car park is only 50m down the road. After 6pm, and on Sundays, there is free parking on the single yellow lines opposite on Roft Street and on Salop Road by the church.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Oswestry”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Look forward to my regular visits to Oswestry so I can sample the delights of the salon fish bar!,,,,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Used to be the best chippy but I feel the batter is often soggy and the fish tasted old the last three times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dorisdaybra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salop Fish Bar also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Salop Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing