We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, while visiting our niece, what a pleasure, we had a lovely suite on the 2nd floor. Everything about the Hotel was faultless, all the staff were so helpful and could not do enough for you. The food was excellent regardless of either eating in the bar or the restaurant. It was really refreshing to stay in a Hotel and not have to complain about anything, we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lintel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    127
    54
    22
    15
See reviews for
82
169
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just had an excellent 3 night stay at the Wynnstay for my step daughters wedding. What an excellent time we had there. Could not fault any of the staff for the assistance they gave to my husband, myself and all the guests that stayed at the hotel coming from many parts of the world including stepdaughters in laws who travelled with their family from Peru. They even accommodated us in putting flags from different countries to be flown outside the hotel for the special day. The Manager and assistant Manager, Sebastian and Stephen did everything they could possible do to make this a very special occasion for my stepdaughter and her husband. Food on the day was delicious and could not be faulted in any way. Would definitely recommend this hotel for any occasion. Well done to all the staff for making this day very very special.

Room Tip: Our party accommodated many of the rooms and they were all different. Single ones were very small bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just stayed at the Wynnstay, our second visit (the last in 2011). Two nights inclusive of breakfast and evening meal. This is an excellent small independently owned hotel with old, traditional rooms and a very nice small Health Club, inclduing pool and usual gm/spa facilties. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms as you would expect in an old coaching inn, and the food in the restaurant is first class. Also walking distance to the town and walks on Offa Dyke - the car was parked on the first evening and did not leave the car park until we left. Recommended for a quiet weekend!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room off the road in the complex at the back of the bowling green if you can - it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FozzzyMadeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Went for a birthday treat with my husband. We were disappointed to say the least! The room was supposed to be a delux room, but was dated and the bathroom / toilet was dirty. The shower was a small trickle. No toilet roll and dust everywhere. The evening meal which was part of our stay was very average but the service was good. We did mention to the receptionist about the toilet and the manager came to see us in our room and was very nice to be fair and said they would reduce the room bill. We had ordered room service breakfast as a treat, when it came the breakfast was small and had no tea - which we had ordered. After we had checked out we went to the Spa to use the shower there, and thought we would give the hotel another chance and order a Sunday dinner, my husband a burger and chips. Again, I wish we hadn't! My Sunday roast was small - 3 roast potatoes, Turkey and gravy. I had ordered a side order of Parsnips and carrots (£2.40 per item!!). My food was cold and my husbands was the portion size of a childs meal. The meal was £34.00 and frankly I'd given up complaining and as no-one asked if the meal was ok, we left. The weird thing is today, after having our room bill reduced had a call from the receptionist to say they had taken too much off and so I have been re-charged some of the bill for the Spa treatments. I don't mind, but really?!! They need to work harder at geting things right and the food at least warm/hot for the price you pay, this hotel is not worth it and I will never go back or recommend this hotel to anyone - a complete disaster of a special weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteLlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel. Check in was fabulous and receptionist was fantastic and her customer service skills were really impressive and she was really friendly. However, it started to go wrong from the moment she said you are at the top of the hotel and tried to pursuade us in advance that our room was nice. Our room was at the top of 3 flights of stairs and down long corridors. the higher up we got, the shabbier the hotel got. When we opened our room it was was straight out of the 80's. A disgusting green sofa that had seen better days and the furniture was just simply gopping. wardrobe door didn't shut and kept swinging open. the net curtain on our bedroom window was black in places and had huge holes in it. The 4 - half poster bed (which looked impressive and is actually featured on photos on all the sites) was wobbily and make squeaky noises which woke me up during the night. Don't get me started on the bathroom... the bath leaked all over the floor and again was from the 80's. We nearly walked straight out but we had already travelled over 4 hours and were tired so decided to try and make the most of it.
The only good thing about this hotel is the staff. amazingly friendly and make a fab restaurant recommendation - the well (a must go to for stunning food and great atmosphere). They even rang the Well restaurant to see if they had space for us so i can't fault the service. The hotel needs work doing to the rooms. The restaurant and bar had no ambiance and needs music so it doesn't seem so stuffy. i don't know how this hotel is 4 star can only think it's because of spa and the gym. I won't be staying here again and for the price i paid it isn't worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbapinkdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband and I stayed from the Friday through to the Monday. The room was fine and clean. The staff were brilliant, and nothing too much trouble for them. The food throughout was excellent, especially considering the numbers catered for on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Even the breakfast was lovely, in particular the golden yokes on the eggs,tasty bacon and toast that stayed firm!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

An old building well situated and nicely maintained. No lifts but this did not effect us at all. We had a very nice executive room at the front of the hotel. There was some noise from the road but close to midnight the road became quiet and I slept well. Good quality towels and linens which you dont always get these days but I do always appreciate. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good. There is secure parking at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel may have some road noise but not all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle-Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
429 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Property: Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing