We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needed to stay more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needed to stay more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I arrived late so didn't see much of the hotel but room was fine, nice and clean.
Good size TFT
Bar looked nice
Breakfast, probably one of the nicest sausages I've eaten in years !
Quality bacon and a REALLY fresh egg - not a massive fried breakfast but definately top quality.
Staff very helpful even late at night
Easy parking
Keen to go back and stay longer

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatdadkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    128
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
82
170
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tean
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've often eaten at The Wynnstay and also stayed there a couple of times in the past. It is sufficiently different from the 'chain' hotels to be interesting! The hotel retains some of its old character and charm - including the bowling green at the rear but has good modern facilities too.This weekend visit was for a family wedding and we were very happy with everything. The food was excellent - and our rooms were comfortable and spacious. The male 'gym fan' in our party said that the gym was first rate and I enjoyed the small but pleasant pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Positioned at one end of the main street in Oswestry the hotel is in an ideal location for visiting the town and the beautiful countryside around.

Room Tip: The age of the hotel inevitably means a rambling layout with lots of stairs so the less mobile shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbird1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed here on a business trip passing through Wales. On arrival I was greeted with a receptionist who was either too tired top greet me or could not be bothered, Once checked in and advised that she knew of no where I could get something to eat at this time of night (9:30-10PM).

I went to the room and although clean it was clearly dated and in need of decoration.

The next morning breakfast was served from 7am and was ok although the full Shropshire breakfast was very small and the scrambled eggs were swimming with grease.

The hotel is ok but I wouldn't look to stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for just one night last week. Our room was really lovely and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Breakfast was delicious and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. This place has an old fashioned charm about it, something lacking today in many hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast deal and this hotel offers superb value for money. Food in restaurant was superb, staff very pleasant and room clean and tidy. We used the Spa facilities and again very pleasant surprise, great massage and facilities good. Looking for a value for money hotel and spa then highly recommend, very very good

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this pleasant hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean but a little small. In our first room, we were inundated with wasps but our change to another room was without fuss. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had two dinners in the hotel, one a bar meal and the other in the well appointed restaurant. The menus were the same for both venues and the dishes were delicately prepared. We also had two breakfasts that were again really tasty and well presented. Overall, the meals were very good and excellent value for money. Having been to this hotel several times over the last 40 years, my wife and I felt that the ambience, quality and presentation of meals and general attention to detail were better than our previous recent visits. It clearly deserves the high rating given by trip advisor last year. Our only recommendation would be to stay midweek since the wedding receptions at weekends can be a little noisy. We will certainly be staying here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CriticP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night. Rooms were very clean, but a little dated, beds very comfortable.A nice touch was a personalised welcome letter left in the room for when we arrived. . The spa and pool were brilliant, the only downside was having to walk outside past the Bowling Green to get there, while not a problem in summer, wouldn't fancy doing that in the winter.
Location was good, right in the heart of the town, with numerous pubs,cafes ect right on the doorstep. Because of this we ate out, so cant comment on the food. Staff were very helpful, extra hot chocolate and milk provided for our room on request.

Room Tip: Best view is overlooking the Bowling Green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Property: Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing