We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Spa Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After being bought a spa day here as a gift I decided to look at booking a couple of nights to make a weekend of it. Managed to get the hotels Winter Warmer offer for D, B &B.
Arrived to a warm welcome on Friday evening, 1st impressions were that the hotel was smart but a little dated in areas. However appearances can be deceptive, yes the floors creaked and the corridors are a little random and winding but all decor is clean and well maintained. My room was to the rear overlooking the bowling green and although there were functions on both nights in the rooms below I was hardly disturbed. The bed was very comfortable and the linen and towels top quality.
I didn't use the gym however the beauty and spa facilities were very well run and enjoyable to use.

Lastly my sincere thanks go to the hotel staff, especially the restaurant staff, who made the trip so enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, they always had time for a friendly word and service with a smile. The food both breakfast and evening meal was excellent and fresh regardless of the fact it was part of an all inclusive deal

Thank you for a fabulous stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dogwalker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Lovely hotel, perfect location, beautiful food and attentive staff but.. the reason I can only give very good instead of excellent, and it may be a personal thing, creaky floorboards.We stayed in room 111 and all down the hallway to our room, and in it, creaking floorboards, if someone went passed our room it was almost as if they where in the room with us and we were woken at some ungodly hour, Having said that we had a wonderful stay, the room was very clean with a patio area, pity it wasn't warm enough to sit out, bed was very comfortable and the package we booked, Autumn Special deal, made this stay all the better as breakfast and evening meal with bottle of wine included. The breakfast was freshly made to your liking with cereals and all the other trimmings and the evening meal, although not the full menu because of the deal we were on, was adequate with a good selection to choose from, beautifully cooked and presented.Compliments to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so good especially the Maitre D and the waitress at the restaurant who were so happy and cheerful every day.

Room Tip: Upper room shouldn't have the same problems with the creaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

I apologise for the late responce but thank you for taking the time to review out hotel & facilities.

Your kind comments about our staff are greatly appreciated and shall be passed on to all concerned.

We are sorry to hear though that the creaky floorboards tarnished your stay. I have passed your comments onto our maintenance department and this is something that we shall look into. We value all customer feedback, good or bad, so we can hopefully improve our facilities for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our third stay here this year and every times it gets better, the staff are excellent, at lunch time I ordered a Campari & Soda, unfortunately they had run out, when we went in the bar in the evening there was the Campari waiting for us, definitely service with a big smile. The food is excellent in the bar and the restaurant. The breakfasts are amazing, cooked to order with very fresh produce which is no comparison to the buffet style offered in most hotels. Wilsons which is a modern bar attached to the hotel serves excellent cocktails with live music, is worth a visit. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lintel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I arrived late so didn't see much of the hotel but room was fine, nice and clean.
Good size TFT
Bar looked nice
Breakfast, probably one of the nicest sausages I've eaten in years !
Quality bacon and a REALLY fresh egg - not a massive fried breakfast but definately top quality.
Staff very helpful even late at night
Easy parking
Keen to go back and stay longer

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatdadkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've often eaten at The Wynnstay and also stayed there a couple of times in the past. It is sufficiently different from the 'chain' hotels to be interesting! The hotel retains some of its old character and charm - including the bowling green at the rear but has good modern facilities too.This weekend visit was for a family wedding and we were very happy with everything. The food was excellent - and our rooms were comfortable and spacious. The male 'gym fan' in our party said that the gym was first rate and I enjoyed the small but pleasant pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Positioned at one end of the main street in Oswestry the hotel is in an ideal location for visiting the town and the beautiful countryside around.

Room Tip: The age of the hotel inevitably means a rambling layout with lots of stairs so the less mobile shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackbird1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed here on a business trip passing through Wales. On arrival I was greeted with a receptionist who was either too tired top greet me or could not be bothered, Once checked in and advised that she knew of no where I could get something to eat at this time of night (9:30-10PM).

I went to the room and although clean it was clearly dated and in need of decoration.

The next morning breakfast was served from 7am and was ok although the full Shropshire breakfast was very small and the scrambled eggs were swimming with grease.

The hotel is ok but I wouldn't look to stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for just one night last week. Our room was really lovely and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Breakfast was delicious and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. This place has an old fashioned charm about it, something lacking today in many hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
481 reviews
3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
186 reviews
17.8 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: £79 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing