We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, friendly staff - room ok but in need of some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, friendly staff - room ok but in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed for one night on business. I stay in this area 5 or 6 times a year and have stayed at the Wynnstay before.

The single room was snug but clean and reasonably well appointed with tea making facilities and nice biscuits ! Radiator didn't seem to be working . Why is it in so many hotels that there is very little control over room temperature with either radiators or central heating not responding to the controls !!). Bathroom contained a bath with a shower above and glass panel (and a sign saying please keep the shower curtain in the bath whilst showering - but no shower curtain !) Shower was hot and strong - a key requirement in a room for me. Decoration was ok but could do with a quick makeover.

Cooked breakfast was good but on the small side. Nice if you are on a diet and still want a cooked breakfast - less good if you want to stoke up for the day !

Staff very friendly. Note that the parking is at the rear and quite a haul if you are carrying luggage (particularly if raining which it was when I arrived. I suggest that you drop off bags at the front.

There are fitness facilities in a separate building so take clothes to transit from the hotel to the fitness centre if you intend to use these.

All in all not bad for the area - but not the best !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear everything was not quite to your liking. We take all customer feed back seriously so we can try to improve all our facilities.

We are about to start a refurbishment programme on all our bathrooms and some of our bedrooms will be getting a makeover.

Sorry that your breakfast was a bit on the small side for yourself. That is something we do not usually get complaints about. I'm sure if this had been brought to the attention of a member of staff they could have done something about it.

With reference to our parking facilities unfortunately we cannot move them any closer to the hotel due to our Crown Bowling Green and can only apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    131
    55
    22
    15
See reviews for
90
173
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A deceptive hotel to look at until initially. However this was the perfect place for the function that was held. The function room was well laid out, the food was excellent and the service was very good. Our room was out of this world. must have been the best room in the hotel with very high ceiling, enormous bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was typical English or full Continental. I would definitely recommend this for a casual stay or a large function.

Room Tip: worth checking on line for cost if breakfast is to be included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryb1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind comments are appreciated and taken on board. We strive to make every customer enjoy there time with us however short or long and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

You do not have a lot of choice of hotels based in Oswestry itself, most are out of town so the Wynnstay works well if staying in Oswestry. The building has some style, bit old school with lots of narrow staircases but it does have charm. The executive room we stayed in at the front of the hotel on the top floor was pretty big and a large modern bathroom, rest of the hotel is perhaps not as modern. rooms are clean, staff very good, seemed happy to be there.
You must try the pub attached to the hotel, Wilsons is a modern, cool, leather and chrome type bar (rare in Oswestry) and better than the hotels rather run down own bar.

Gym/spar is fine, well worth a look and overall they provide value for money and have stayed here 3-4 times in the last 2-3 years so that says a lot.

Room Tip: Top floors, front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The Wynnstay is an old Georgian Hotel and we do try to maintain and renovate as much as possible to keep up with peoples expectations. Due to tha age of the hotel we are limited to what major alterations we can do hence, narrow staircases etc. As pointed out our newish Wine Bar Wilsons is much more modern and up-to-date so we feel we can offer something to suit all our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for one night and had a lovely time. Great service from all staff there and we felt well looked after. Restaurant was quiet but we enjoyed our food and drink. Room was spacious and luxurious and the building has a lot of character. Will go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedros13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

We pride ourselves in the service our staff give and hope they played their part in making your stay both enjoyable and relaxing.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

After being bought a spa day here as a gift I decided to look at booking a couple of nights to make a weekend of it. Managed to get the hotels Winter Warmer offer for D, B &B.
Arrived to a warm welcome on Friday evening, 1st impressions were that the hotel was smart but a little dated in areas. However appearances can be deceptive, yes the floors creaked and the corridors are a little random and winding but all decor is clean and well maintained. My room was to the rear overlooking the bowling green and although there were functions on both nights in the rooms below I was hardly disturbed. The bed was very comfortable and the linen and towels top quality.
I didn't use the gym however the beauty and spa facilities were very well run and enjoyable to use.

Lastly my sincere thanks go to the hotel staff, especially the restaurant staff, who made the trip so enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, they always had time for a friendly word and service with a smile. The food both breakfast and evening meal was excellent and fresh regardless of the fact it was part of an all inclusive deal

Thank you for a fabulous stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dogwalker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
225 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Lovely hotel, perfect location, beautiful food and attentive staff but.. the reason I can only give very good instead of excellent, and it may be a personal thing, creaky floorboards.We stayed in room 111 and all down the hallway to our room, and in it, creaking floorboards, if someone went passed our room it was almost as if they where in the room with us and we were woken at some ungodly hour, Having said that we had a wonderful stay, the room was very clean with a patio area, pity it wasn't warm enough to sit out, bed was very comfortable and the package we booked, Autumn Special deal, made this stay all the better as breakfast and evening meal with bottle of wine included. The breakfast was freshly made to your liking with cereals and all the other trimmings and the evening meal, although not the full menu because of the deal we were on, was adequate with a good selection to choose from, beautifully cooked and presented.Compliments to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so good especially the Maitre D and the waitress at the restaurant who were so happy and cheerful every day.

Room Tip: Upper room shouldn't have the same problems with the creaky floorboards
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I apologise for the late responce but thank you for taking the time to review out hotel & facilities.

Your kind comments about our staff are greatly appreciated and shall be passed on to all concerned.

We are sorry to hear though that the creaky floorboards tarnished your stay. I have passed your comments onto our maintenance department and this is something that we shall look into. We value all customer feedback, good or bad, so we can hopefully improve our facilities for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our third stay here this year and every times it gets better, the staff are excellent, at lunch time I ordered a Campari & Soda, unfortunately they had run out, when we went in the bar in the evening there was the Campari waiting for us, definitely service with a big smile. The food is excellent in the bar and the restaurant. The breakfasts are amazing, cooked to order with very fresh produce which is no comparison to the buffet style offered in most hotels. Wilsons which is a modern bar attached to the hotel serves excellent cocktails with live music, is worth a visit. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lintel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Property: Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing