We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have just been to the Coach house for there Mothers Day Spa Package. Had a wonderfull time. Used the lovely pool and Jacuzzi. then had a back, neck and shoulder massage which was very relaxing, i was then allowed the time to change before i had a file and polish, no smudging. Staff very welcoming and friendly. This was all followed my a very tasty lunch at Wilsons. The package was excellent value. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjh12136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Wynnstay's Beauty Suite.

We are pleased you enjoyed the Mothers Day Spa Package and hope we met all your expectations. Your kind comments have been passed on to our staff who strive to make your experience one to remember and we do look forward to welcoming you at The Beauty Suite again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I recently stayed and dined here while walking a few long sections of Glyndwr's Way with a couple of walking buddies. The Wynnstay Arms Hotel is a large, south-facing, white painted, stone-built hotel right beside the A470 Trunk road between Machynlleth and Carno and almost on Glyndwr's Way. It can trace its origins back to the 1400's in some parts, 15-something in others but from the outside frontage looks mainly Victorian and is tall and substantial with a carpark out front, a further car park over the road and its rooms are large and over three storeys. It has a small lively bar and a large quieter lounge with massive fireplaces and attractive exposed stonework, warm woodburners and plenty of warm radiators throughout.
This roadside inn / hotel / b&b is almost ideally suited to walkers and cyclists as the 6 b&b rooms (maybe 15 beds) are basic (no en-suites!) and at £20-£25 per night it is perfect for a crash-pad between cycles or walks, serves generous full breakfasts and dinners and the owners and locals are very generous in offering advice, information and local points of interest. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms ok and the communal shower is very hot and strong. The hospitality is great - Pauline the landlady is old school but very experienced and a font of knowledge having run this place for 30 years. Dont expect fluffy Egyptian towels, designer bathrooms or all mod cons - but do expect good old fashioned hospitality, down to earth manner and great value for money! As stated - an in deal base for group walking holidays, cycling tours etc. The staff are helpful and friendly as are the locals.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for commenting but I think you may have the wrong hotel. This is the Wynnstay Hotel & Spa in Oswestry. We also have many walkers use our hotel and facilities as a base due to our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very nice experience overall. Clean tidy and very comfortable. Breakfast very impressive. Used the spa which is also very nice, small pool but all that's required. All the staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T3col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased you found your stay enjoyable. We strive to imrove all areas of our hotel and comments from our customers helps us manage and improve on a dayly basis. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked this hotel on a recommendation of a friend who lives in Oswestry and was celebrating a big birthday so could not accomodate us.
It is a centrally located with a car parkand has more facilities than we could use.
The room (100) was pleasant,with high ceilings and clean but had no safe or minibar.The bed was comfy and we heard no noise although there was a wedding party on.
The staff were freindly and efficient and breakfast was the usual fair at a decent price.
If we had stayed longer I would have loved to try the fitness room.Oswestry itself is a lovely little market town with alot of history and some lovely old buildings,well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 100 was fine,no view,there may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanG36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and for your kind comments. We take all customers feedback seriously and take on board positive and negative responses in the hope of improving our facilities. Your comments on no safe or minibar have been noted and shall be looked into.
We do hope that you may return sometime in the future and get to try out our gym and spa facilities on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This place is a great hotel, service, staff, food, rooms all great. Then the weekend comes and they have what can only be described as a 'rave'. Now, this isn't so loud that it keeps you from sleep. It keeps you from being able to hear the tv! It's past midnight and I can feel the buzz of baselines. I have earplugs firmly fitted and makes no difference. Avoid if you want to sleep/read/watch tv/think....

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geenuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by loud 'music'? I can assure you this would not be a regular occurance. If there was a function on that evening this may have been the cause. There are rooms in the hotel that would not be affected by this and can be requested when booking. We do hope this did not spoil your stay with us too much and can only apologise again for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely welcome at reception and greeted as old friends,as we had our wedding here 10 years ago. We had a lovely spacious room,almost a suite,even though we'd only booked a standard room. The bed was nice and comfy and the room had those little extras that make a difference,like complimentary water and fresh coffee, hot chocolate and good quality biscuits on the tea tray. Two bathrobes and slippers. The bathroom was massive with a stand alone bath,as well as a shower. There were some good quality toilets as well as soft large towels. We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant. As always a favourite hotel with us.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments about our reception staff shall be passed on. Our aim is to make our guests feel right at home and we hope we did just that. We hopefully shall look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just after Christmas and the wife has a birthday, just what can I get her for a present. I struggled getting her undies. chocs and jewellery for xmas , so what can I get her.
Then it came to me, let us have a night at the Wynnstay, have been there a few times before and never had a bad experience So that was it Wynnstay here we come.
Booked a suite and paid for evening meals on Jan 11th we made our way down, arriving at 2.15 PM booked in and we were offered help with bags to our room, but we politely declined as we had only 1 overnight bag and we had been a few times before.
2.45 PM we were in the swimming pool (free) then Jacuzzi (free) steam room (free) and sauna, and you might have guessed by now , yes (free).
5.30PM went into Wilsons bar ,had a glass of wine and up to room to get ready for dinner.

7.00PM went down to restaurant , busy but the 2 staff on had everything under control, big event on in the main room. Even though I had paid for the set menu I was Informed that I could upgrade to the main a la carte menu if there was nothing on set menu we, fancied.
No need to go onto a la carte menu as the set menu had plenty of choice, for both the wife and I. Staff were really polite , helpful and were really earning their wage.

Liz and I left the restaurant more than impressed with both quality and quantity of meal portions.
It was a special night for myself to impress Liz and I genuinely got value for my money, by the way the suite was amazing, but I am not telling which one as I want to be able to reserve that one for my next visit. In truth we have stayed in 303 and that is mind blowing in the past on more than one occasion;

Room Tip: All rooms are good quality and clean , Rear facing rooms are quieter and overlooking the bowling gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pics27, Sales & Marketing Supervisor at Wynnstay Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope that we helped you to impress your wife and make her birthday one to remember.

We value all customer feed back and it is a real boost to all staff when we receive such kind praise. We strive to make every customers expectations and visit special and we do so hope we succeeded in your case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
1.8 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
479 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,323 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay Hotel & Spa

Address: 43 Church Street, Oswestry SY11 2SZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: £79 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wynnstay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay Hotel Oswestry
Best Western Oswestry
Oswestry Best Western
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing