We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy,friendly country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2011

we spent an evening here one weekend after deciding to have an overnight break away. Although the room was small ( which we were advised about beforehand as it was the only room available) we decided to accept it and were happy to find it very comfortable , . The hotel is very homely and welcoming and the food was very tasty . Nice china makes a world of difference to tea and we were not disappointed . A nice place off the beaten track where the host and staff are very friendly and welcoming .

Room Tip: just ask the host-they are very helpful
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gethinStAsaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

A warm welcome from check in to check out. The staff accomodated our every need. I was there with a party of 14 and the small restaurant team and chefs dealt with us as if we where only a table of 4 with food coming out freshly prepared and cooked in no time at all. The food and presentation deserves Michelin Star!

Will be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TR201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We visited Pen-y-dyffryn for the second time earlier this year and stayed again the Coach House. Our room was comfortable with pleasant decor and a pristine bathroom. Unfortunately the weather precluded the use of the patio area - this time it was rain, on our previous visit in 2010 it had been heavy snow. The hotel was extremely cosy, with roaring fires and afternoon tea served on arrival. We have enjoyed excellent food at Pen-y-dyffryn, including scallops, venison and fish. Breakfasts were also hearty and packed lunches were available on request.
The area has many walks of varying difficulty and the owners are happy to provide maps and advice. We are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woodebiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Great service in a lovely country hotel - not your usual "too cute" country hotel that tries too hard, just really well done surroundings and service. The evening meal was sublime, exceeding both our expectations (some previous average ratings on food) - Highly recommended. Good value too

Room Tip: Pay for one of the more expensive rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coopers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at Pen-y-Dyffryn for five days in late April/early May. Our room (the Garden Room) was large, clean, comfortable, bright, and blissfully quiet. The view out our window was gorgeous. The bathroom, with tub and shower, was clean and spacious.

The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. They were attentive, friendly, and always nice to be with.

A hearty breakfast (included) fueled us up for full days driving around Shropshire and Wales. The dinner menu was different every night, and the food was to die for.

In short, it was for us an idyllic place to stay while enjoying the beauties of the region.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkehnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We extended it by a night too - first staying in coach-house 1 and then The Terrace Room. Both rooms were clean, well furnished, had a full compliment of facilities and both could accomodate our dog. The view and location is stunning and we did morning walks whilst we were there that took in the full beauty of the english and welsh countryside. The staff were very friendly and professional and there was an air of professional elegance about the place - whilst still being relaxed and friendly. The food was superb and we felt the price fully reflected the standard of the accommodation, food and service and was of great value for money. We cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had coach house room 1. It was well presented and our patio area was glorious. The view was stunning and the sun trap meant we sat out until early evening in T shirts, even though it was mid April. Next time we go we will take our dog as the local walks were varied and interesting. All the staff we met were friendly and very helpful. There is so much to see locally, but you could easily spend a day quietly at the hotel soaking up the views.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SarahDavidBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
459 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
425 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,301 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
427 reviews
19.1 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: £113 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing