We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
450
106
25
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
450
106
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne roomsconescoach houselocal walkson arrivalweather forecastold rectoryspa bathwelsh borderupper courtdouble jacuzziowners and staffdog friendly hotelprivate patioexcellent foodbeautiful locationmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at this charming country hotel for two nights en-route home after visiting family in Cheshire and it was our first time in this area near the Welsh border. When the reservation was made, the hotel was almost fully booked, however we were offered, and accepted, the 'Champagne Room', taking advantage of the 20% offer on DB&B.

From the outset, all members of staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable with the added bonus of a whirlpool bath. The dinner was tasty and well-presented and the breakfast had the added bonus of a super platter of fresh fruit.

Although the weather did not lend itself to pre-dinner drinks on the patio, the views did indeed coax us out one evening.

There are plenty of suggestions for things to do and places to visit in the area - we only wish we had the time to do more.

If you want a relaxed, comfortable and unpretentious place to stay in a quiet corner of the UK try the Pen-y-Dyffryn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campanologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Although we live about 60 miles away we have never visited this part of Shropshire before. Earlier this year we stopped off for a coffee on our way to North Wales for the day and decided we would take one of our regular two night breaks in Oswestry. It was a good decision with plenty to see and do including three very interesting National Trust properties at Chirk Castle, Erddig and Powis Castle all within a short drive.

We chose the Pen-y-Drffryn mainly through tripadviser. It was an inspired choice. We had wanted a Coach House room with our own patio but they were all fully booked so went for the Garden Room on the first floor with views along the garden. As it was, the light rain in the morning and evening meant we would have had little opportunity to sit outside although for most of the time in the area we experienced pleasant summer sunshine.

When deciding where to stay I quickly look at some of the recent reviews on tripadviser before examining in detail the lowly rated ones. I generally find these fall into 3 categories, those which identify a genuine problem which may turn us off visiting, some where the reviewer has a bee in their bonnet with the issues identified not necessary significant and those where the review is a spoiler, sometimes written for a competitor and occasionally said to be by someone with years of experience in the trade.

I was not therefore too concerned when I read the review dated 8th August shortly before we set off, but there is always a niggle at the back of the mind. However dinner at £37 a head is good value particularly when part of a DBB package with 20% off during August. During our stay all the fruit at breakfast looked fresh and appertizing whilst the room was very comfortable given the age of the building and the prices charged.

I cannot rate it a "5" as I have done for a few extremely good but more expensive hotels where we have stayed but it is more than a "4" - I would give it a "4½" if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of August and from the minute we arrived we had no cause to be unhappy. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff - nothing was too much trouble, from bringing champagne to us up near the summerhouse (quite an uphill trek on a hot sunny day), to ensuring we didn't miss out on the canapés before dinner, and always with a smile. We stayed in the champagne room with beautiful views across the gardens and valley. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated and furnished, and the spa bath was a very nice touch. Dinner and breakfast were both very good and we left feeling completely rejuvenated. We shall return and will probably try one of the other rooms which all looked just as lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goneforgoodthistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I stayed five nights at the Pen-y-Dyffryn last week. This small country hotel, set in superb Shropshire countryside and minutes from the border with Wales, exudes hospitality at its best; good hosts, exemplary service, friendly smiling staff, and not least great food well presented.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, not five stars, but the hotel has no pretentions of being five stars. The big name hotel groups could learn from the owners of this little gem.

Room Tip: Talking to other guests I believe all the rooms are good. We stayed in the Rectors room with dual aspect views across the gardens and countryside. Very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragomanBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel has everything we needed for a cosy getaway, tucked away in rolling welsh countryside. Food was delicious especially the venison which both my husband and i thoroughly enjoyed! All the staff very nice too. Our room was pristine and the decor just right for a country hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiseedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews