We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence at Good Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellence at Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our second stay at Pen-y-Dyffryn was a Winter mid-week break. The hotel was reasonably quiet and we were pleased to find that our room booking had been automatically upgraded - this along with the complimentary tea and freshly baked scones on arrival set us in an excellent mood for our stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable with nice touches of luxury that include a spa bath. However one really stays at Pen-y-Dyffryn for the wonderful food. Breakfast choice is wide and the food excellent. Dinner, included in our package, was superb: high quality, local ingredients prepared as delicious dishes. The weather wasn't great during our stay so our planned walks were somewhat curtailed but there was always a warm welcome and a warming log fire to sit beside on our return to the hotel. The staff at Pen-y-Dyffryn are unfailingly attentive and friendly - so all in all a great place to stay.
But a word of warning re dogs: the hotel prides itself on being 'dog-friendly' - a good thing in principle and great of course if you are a dog-owner. Just be wary that if you are uncomfortable with dogs that you could find yourself surrounded by other guests' dogs whilst sitting by the fire. Having said that the hotel does have clear rules for dogs that include not being in lounges after 6pm and the hotel owner appreciated and promised to act on our suggestion that one of the two lounges could be designated 'dog-free'.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others but there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    100
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
401
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were welcomed with freshly cooked scones and tea served in a delightfully furnished lounge with open fire before setting off on one of the delightful walks suggested by the hotel owners. Back from our walk, our room "The Rector's" was beautifully presented with all the usual features found in a quality hotel and magnificent views across open countryside. Personally I don't like memory foam mattresses, I always wake up too hot, but other rooms have conventional mattresses, so if it's important to you ask when booking. I wish I had!
Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and the chef was able to be a little flexible if a variation to the set menu was asked for. There was a good choice of wines starting at reasonable prices and offering good value. Wine connoisseurs could pay a lot more for one of the selection of fine wines on offer.
Staff were all friendly and helpful. A hotel I would certainly return to.

Room Tip: If you don't get on with memory foam mattresses ask for a room that doesn't have one. The ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales - UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My partner & I managed to find one of those rare, the kids are away, lets treat ourselves opportunities, we opted for a stay at Pen-Y-Dyffryn.
I think we booked the best room, dinner B&B. The hotel was great, the room was totally fantastic.

We were greeted with T and cakes when we arrived, always a good start. Somebody else had baked the cakes, cut & fetched the logs for the fire in the reception area, somebody else cooked our tea, washed up, did the hovering and mad the beds, what would we do with ourselves ?

Our room, the Champagne room was very large and comfortable. The feature we found that made us book, was a double Jacuzzi bath. The electronic bath filling controls had exactly the right amount of hot water in the bath, within 10 minutes. A third of a bottle of radox, with the jets turned on, we didn’t get out till tea time. As a kid you used to play in the bath till your skin wrinkled on your fingers, we had wrinkles on the wrinkles.

Dinner was great, a good choice, all freshly cooked.

We were woken up in the morning to the sun streaming through the windows, and birdsong. I love to sleep with the window open, with the rural position of this hotel, there was no human activity outside to wake us.

Next time the kids are away, I know where we will be heading.

Room Tip: Champagne Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_The_Builder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

A gorgeous, stone hotel in a glorious position with lovely views. The staff are friendly, efficient and very welcoming, with nothing being too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and well-appointed with modern bathrooms, sumptuous towels, quality bedlinen, comfortable beds and lovely decor. There are two lounges with log fires and comfy sofas plus games and books to keep you amused. The restaurant serves delicious, good quality, locally sourced food with the dinner menu changing daily and vegetarians catered for. There are many walks starting out from the hotel, lots of places of interest to visit nearby and the staff can suggest outings if you need help deciding. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough - it is a little gem and will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel is fine - there is an annexe which we didn't view, but access is outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) of Valentines weekend. On arrival we were told that there was no cold water due to the bad weather. This didn't bother us too much and we enjoyed tea and scones in front of the roaring log fire. However, then the electricity went off! Miles, the owner, tried to keep us informed but it really boiled down to were we happy to stay or did we want to leave. Some people did leave but, along with several other couples, we decided to stay and were very happy that we did. Miles cracked open he complimentary champagne and the evening meal (which had to be served by candle light) was superb. The power was restored later in the evening and the rest of the weekend was great. One problem was that the spa bath did not work but this didn't spoil the visit. When we came to pay the bill,there was also a generous reduction to compensate for the inconvenience of the first evening. We plan to revisit later in the year.

Room Tip: We had a front corner room which had good views and dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

It's taken me nearly a year to get around to writing this review - partly because we had a fantastic time and then I read some of the less favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and wondered if they were actually about the same place. So, this review is written purely on reflection of our stay last year - and I know that it's still the experience that can be had - two other couples have visited on our recommendation - and one of them has just gone back (so the positive reviews in the Telegraph haven't spoiled the place!).

We visited for our 10th wedding anniversary and had a lovely time. We were welcomed to find two living rooms with real fires burning, and enjoyed tea and scones on our arrival, with staff even taking the time to find Red Bush tea for me! Our room was the Champagne Room - and we were pleased to hear that the bathroom was being re-fitted at the time of booking, so when we arrived it was much nicer than the photos on the website. The bed was comfortable and the whole experience very relaxing - just what we needed.

The restaurant is of a high standard - not Michelin-starred but certainly worthy of its two AA rosettes and on both nights we enjoyed a high standard of food and drink with portion sizes that were "just right". The staff were happy to bring us breakfast in our room on the morning of our anniversary and, on the second day, we took breakfast in the restaurant, where there was a good selection (including the home-made marmalade).

In our early 40s, we were probably some of the younger clientele on the weekend we visited; however I got the impression that the majority of guests are couples - not a place for large groups of friends! One of the attractions is the access to countryside walks of all lengths direct from the hotel, with staff happy to recommend routes and even lend maps. The location is, literally, on the English-Welsh border (the hotel is a former rectory - and is in England - but the church is the other side of the stream, in Wales) and the local landscape is very attractive and if you want to take a drive a little further than the whole of mid-Wales is very accessible.

All in all, I thoroughly recommend Pen-y-Dyffryn - for us it was not an insignificant amount of money to spend but it was worth every penny (no pun intended). Of course, there are places where we could spend a lot more, but the team at Pen-y-Dyffryn seem to have struck the perfect balance between quality, comfort, welcome and affordability. I'd love to go back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Pen y Dyffryn is situated in the countryside not too far out of Oswestry. We stayed on a quiet Tuesday and were pleasantly surprised to receive a room upgrade with a view across the valley. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed and good wifi connection. The hotel is a lovely old building with history. We sat in the lounge with its open fire before dinner (there is also a well stocked bar) and there are outside areas which would be nice in the warmer months. The highlight of our stay though was the dinner, a three course meal of superb food which was as good if not better than higher priced and "rated" restaurants we've been to. Fresh, seasonal food, good quality and well presented. Pen y Dyffryn is one of the best small hotels we've stayed at, the rooms represent good value for money, staff are friendly and welcoming and the restaurant is a real bonus. Definitely one to go back to!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0undleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
17.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing