We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A border gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A border gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A very comfortable hotel in a great location for exploring mid Wales. Clearly very popular as it was full on a midweek pre Easter two night stay. Terrific food on both nights. This hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    100
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
400
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I reviewed PenyDyffryn a while ago, but some places go off after a time, so I thought I'd just offer reassurance that no such deterioration has happened here!

We stayed this weekend just past for two nights, during which we had snow, rain and sunshine in typically Welsh succession. None of it dents the warm comfort of PyD. The staff are as delightful as ever, even where they are new to us, and the welcome and attention from the owners as courteous and charming as always.

They - and we - are fortunate that they still have the same chef. Steve's imagination in menu planning and his skill in the execution remain as outstanding as ever, and the wine list remains a reasonably-priced treat.

Not wanting Miles and Audrey to slip into complacency - because we know that they won't - but it has got to the point where we scarcely bother to debate where to go for our annual Spring break. A lovely place with lovely people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sixfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were staying in the area and booked a table here for dinner. We were greeted by Miles, the owner who was warm, friendly and welcoming. The staff were attentive and very friendly. The dinner was excellent and presented beautifully. The menu was varied and we felt gave excellent value. We would warmly recommend the Pen y Dyffryn and hope to visit again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medsmorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our second visit to the Pen-y-Dyffryn Country House Hotel. A former rectory dating from 1840, it nestles unobtrusively in the picturesque hamlet of Rhydycroesau, just a few miles west of Oswestry, in the northern Welsh Borders. This tranquil hotel simply oozes peace and relaxation in the expert hands of the longstanding owners, Miles and Audrey Hunter and their accomplished team. A warm greeting awaits the weary traveller, re-enforced by the two log fires in the main house. Previously we stayed in one of the ‘coach houses’ a short stone’s throw from the main building and overlooking the garden and countryside beyond. These are much favoured by dog owners who are made very welcome.
However, as the hotel was almost fully booked, on this occasion we were tempted by the ‘Champagne Room’ on the first floor. We can wholeheartedly recommend this spacious room with a very comfortable king size bed. The en-suite ultra-modern bathroom boasts a large corner shower and a double spa bath.
Down for a pre-dinner drinky-poo whilst we perused the menu and wine list, we enjoyed the cosy warmth of a roaring log fire from two of several comfy armchairs. I settled for a Pigeon Breast starter followed by a Guinea Fowl main course accompanied by a delightful Chilean Pinot Noir. My companion chose a Smoked Haddock Croquette followed by a Mixed Fish Medley and a very plummy dessert. The meal was of the highest standard and I felt obliged to linger by the kitchen door on my way to the snug bar to congratulate the chef on his competence. Service was impeccable and it was nice to see that Miles and Audrey Hunter are still very much ‘hands on’ and take the time to engage with their guests - a nice touch. Looking forward to next time already!!

Room Tip: The Champagne Room has it all - quiet, spacious and comfortable with a knock out double spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halfviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Another great stay at the Pen-y-Dyffryn. We stayed in one of the Coach House rooms which was very comfortable with great views across the valley into Wales. I can also recommend one of these rooms if, like us, you wish to take your dog on holiday with you. The hotel has had two rosettes for their food for many years and this is well deserved. The breakfasts are excellent with a good choice of cooked options. The dinners are superb with imaginative food locally sourced. The hotel is in beautiful walking country and there are several National Trust properties in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We recently had our second stay at the Pen-y-Dyffren, a great find.
A small very comfortable hotel with excellent food and the service you may wish from a 5 star but rarely get these days. After our first stay, while on the way the friends in north Wales, we said we would come back again just to visit the area and we weren’t disappointed. It’s a bit off the ‘beaten track’, and they know it! So, the attention to high levels of service is excellent and far better than many much more expensive hotels I have stayed in, who could learn a lot from the team here.
They have the fundamentals right; good well furnished rooms, excellent food including the scones and tea on arrival ( which others have mentioned), but it all adds up to a commitment to encouraging you to come back.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel. On week days a lot of guests may have gone to their rooms by 10, but that’s no problem - more staff to look after you as you stay up until late!
The unsung hero is in the kitchen - great food delivered well – good wine cellar with some interesting and reasonable bottles. If you are passing definitely give it ago, if not try it anyway – there are great walks from the hotel and some very good places to visit with an hour’s drive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our second stay at Pen-y-Dyffryn was a Winter mid-week break. The hotel was reasonably quiet and we were pleased to find that our room booking had been automatically upgraded - this along with the complimentary tea and freshly baked scones on arrival set us in an excellent mood for our stay. The rooms are extremely comfortable with nice touches of luxury that include a spa bath. However one really stays at Pen-y-Dyffryn for the wonderful food. Breakfast choice is wide and the food excellent. Dinner, included in our package, was superb: high quality, local ingredients prepared as delicious dishes. The weather wasn't great during our stay so our planned walks were somewhat curtailed but there was always a warm welcome and a warming log fire to sit beside on our return to the hotel. The staff at Pen-y-Dyffryn are unfailingly attentive and friendly - so all in all a great place to stay.
But a word of warning re dogs: the hotel prides itself on being 'dog-friendly' - a good thing in principle and great of course if you are a dog-owner. Just be wary that if you are uncomfortable with dogs that you could find yourself surrounded by other guests' dogs whilst sitting by the fire. Having said that the hotel does have clear rules for dogs that include not being in lounges after 6pm and the hotel owner appreciated and promised to act on our suggestion that one of the two lounges could be designated 'dog-free'.

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others but there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
17.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing