We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
453
107
25
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
453
107
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne roomsconescoach houselocal walkson arrivalweather forecastold rectoryspa bathwelsh borderupper courtdouble jacuzziowners and staffdog friendly hotelprivate patioexcellent foodbeautiful locationmain building
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely stay with my dogs recently. Great service, gorgeous small/personal country hotel. Amazing views, and an immaculate garden. The room was lovely and the food great. I also had a lovely treatment from a lady called Anne which was very relaxing.

Room Tip: With dogs then one of the 4 rooms at the top of the garden, originally the coach house maybe? (small flight of steep steps though)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolinesm326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I were looking to make a last minute booking to stay at a hotel that accepted dogs. Whilst using petsallowed.co.uk website, we stumbled across Pen-y-Dyffryn and what a lucky find it was. From the moment we walked in through the front door, complete with dog, we were made to feel very welcome, having been greeted by such a friendly and attractive receptionist who efficiently arranged for us to be shown to our room. A complementary tea and scones was then served to us in the hotel’s cosy Drawing Room.
A few random comments: Our room was supplied with all the items one would expect in a 3 star hotel, possibly more. The cleanliness was immaculate. The bed was very comfortable. Although there are a few rules over dogs (and there have to be) these are presented in an encouraging and positive way. Although only about 3 miles from Oswestry, the hotel feels to be deep in the countryside. (I suppose it is, really!) It is very quiet. Their website is well designed, user friendly and our booking was confirmed by email virtually instantaneously.
The owners have very high standards and this has obviously been successfully transmitted to their staff who, without exception, were friendly and courteous. The service at meal times was attentive without being obtrusive. The food at the 4-course dinner was excellent. One impressive touch was that the owner, who had not previously met us until he took our order for dinner, addressed by our names and also knew which room we were in. The entrance hall is resplendent with awards, and no wonder, being in our view, richly deserved.
The Dining Room was fully occupied at dinner, so it appeared that the hotel was full. I am not surprised as I guess many people return again and again as indeed we will.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A very comfortable hotel in a great location for exploring mid Wales. Clearly very popular as it was full on a midweek pre Easter two night stay. Terrific food on both nights. This hotel comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I reviewed PenyDyffryn a while ago, but some places go off after a time, so I thought I'd just offer reassurance that no such deterioration has happened here!

We stayed this weekend just past for two nights, during which we had snow, rain and sunshine in typically Welsh succession. None of it dents the warm comfort of PyD. The staff are as delightful as ever, even where they are new to us, and the welcome and attention from the owners as courteous and charming as always.

They - and we - are fortunate that they still have the same chef. Steve's imagination in menu planning and his skill in the execution remain as outstanding as ever, and the wine list remains a reasonably-priced treat.

Not wanting Miles and Audrey to slip into complacency - because we know that they won't - but it has got to the point where we scarcely bother to debate where to go for our annual Spring break. A lovely place with lovely people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sixfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were staying in the area and booked a table here for dinner. We were greeted by Miles, the owner who was warm, friendly and welcoming. The staff were attentive and very friendly. The dinner was excellent and presented beautifully. The menu was varied and we felt gave excellent value. We would warmly recommend the Pen y Dyffryn and hope to visit again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank medsmorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews